We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not a 5 on a world scale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The fourth hotel on my walking tour of Nova Scotia was Lunenburg Arms in Lunenburg. Now this is more like it!

Lunenburg Arms offers 4 types of guest rooms - standard, deluxe, executive and lofts. Their very informative web site gives a very good description of each with both text and photos so I won't repeat all of that here.

I was in a deluxe room (#404), a corner room with a view of the harbor. It had wood floors in the sleeping area and tile floors and wainscoting in the bathroom. The furnishings and finishes were all modern and high quality, except for the oversized bath tub and shower surround which were plastic and totally out of place with the rest of the furnishings and also needed recaulked. The washcloths seemed thin to me but the bath towels were OK and all smelled fresh and not overly laundered.

My room did not contain a closet but rather a wood armoire that contained a very small closet section as well as a 3-drawer chest and an area for the TV. The bed was very comfortable fro me and the wall-mounted AC worked well. The room had wifi and there is also a lap top in the lobby for guest use, but the room wifi was faster. The room also had a mini fridge.

I was alone and the room was fine for me but would have been crowed with 2 people in it. My only real grip with the room was due to it being a corner room. As a result, the also heavy wooden doors of the adjacent rooms 403 and 405 were within just several inches of my own and were very loud whenever anyone went in and out of them, which was frequent as one of the rooms had children in it.

Also, the elevator was just outside my room and people would talk loudly there while waiting for or exiting the elevator. I was able to mitigate this somewhat buy stuffing one of the heavy bath towels under the door.

With these few exceptions I otherwise liked my room and slept well here. It is also well located and close to the shops and restaurants along the waterfront. I give this hotel a solid 3.5, which I rounded up to a 4 (very good) rating on the TA scale.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, stay away from the elevator areas and corner rooms with heavy adjacent doors slam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early August 2012. This hotel is very easy to find in tiny old town Lunenburg, and free parking right accross the street. You can certainly walk to anywhere downtown from here.Our check in was very swift (I wish I could say the same for the couple checking in ahead of us, they seemed to take about 8 minutes for some reason, but they could have been the type who ask lots of questions). Our room (harbour side) was huge, and very clean, also had a jacuzzi tub and of coruse the view was great. The jacuzzi is located outside of the bathroom, which also included a shower. We throughly enjoyed the contental breakfast the next morning, everything was fresh and well stocked and the coffee was amazing. Check out was equally smooth. Why not 5 stars? To get 5 stars from me you really have to blow me away in some way, shape, or form, which I cant say happned here. Also we didnt really spend that much time in the hotel. Also maybe just a touch on the pricey side. I would definately stay at the Arms again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbour side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank above_the_rim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in a room with a single king bed and a waterfront view. The room was really nice, the bed was the most comfortable that we have had on our trip. The included continental breakfast was also the best we have had. Would recommend it for sure. And great location!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okotok-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent 2 days in Lunenberg and had a wonderful time. Our room at the inn was large and very comfortable. The location is great and you can walk to all of the restaurants and shops. There is a very nice golf course near by and a lovely harbor . They were having boat races which were fun to watch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkg0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stay at the Lunenburg Arms once a year for our annual visit to the South Shore. We always enjoy our stay and have no complaints. Staff are friendly, accommodations are nice and rooms are a decent size. The hotel is in the centre of town, just a few streets up from the water and a minutes walk from our favourite restaurants, Trattoria della nona and Fleur de sel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night at the Lunenburg Arms Hotel. The room was clean and large, as was the bathroom. The view was fabulous. (We were on the fourth floor facing the water.) The restaurant was closed since it was Monday. The breakfast on Tuesday was limited. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend the Lunenburg Arms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel, perfectly located in the center of Lunenburg, appears to have been a rehab of an existing building. The historic preservation is important, but working a hotel within the confines of a building probably not built to be a hotel was somewhat limiting. Our room was awkwardly shaped, the bathroom was very small, and there did not appear to be a common area apart from the small lobby in which guests would relax and read a book. Another complaint is that the hotel lacks central AC and the individual room units were very loud. That said, the room met our needs and was very clean. The staff was helpful and, as noted, the location cannot be beat. Overall, we would stay there again if traveling to Lunenberg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.8 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lunenburg Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Address: 94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: $118 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lunenburg Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lunenburg Arms provides an experience rich in history and culture. It’s the perfect get away, retreat or corporate meeting place, located in the heart of Lunenburg, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Twenty-four graciously appointed guestrooms many of which overlook Lunenburg Harbour and the famous schooner Bluenose II (when in port) are available to our guests. Enjoy our plush allergy-friendly duvets, soft guest robes, complimentary wireless Internet, expanded cable television, room-controlled air-conditioning and beautiful Aveda soaps and shampoos. And hardwood floors allow us to be pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Lunenburg Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Arms Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing