We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vodka this side of Kiev - and you can see it made.”

Ironworks Distillery
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ironworks Distillery opened its doors to the public in June 2010. Situated in the old town of Lunenburg and residing in the building that used to be the old marine blacksmith shop, we create small batches of artisan spirits using produce from the Maritimes. We make vodka and brandy using Annapolis Valley apples, Pear Eau-de-vie, Rum, Gin and several delicious fruit liqueurs. Tastings are free. Tours are available.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best vodka this side of Kiev - and you can see it made.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A tasting and a tour (standing in one place, really, watching learning how the still works) is the perfect winter afternoon activity in Lunenberg. One of two legal stills in Nova Scotia - tons of home brew ones, apparently. The Eau de Vie is very good, the vodka excellent and the best I have had since the Ukraine (better than Polish, French or Finlandia). The still is on one side of the tasting room, so it is not a 'tour' per se, as others have noted - but the aging ironworks (yes, it really was) is a great spot for some warmth on a snowy day and a few questions bring out the guide in the distiller..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    64
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lower Woods Harbour, NS
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find the Best Rum and Vodka Here”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had heard about The Ironworks from a friend and decided to check it out. Good hospitality with the chance to drink the spirits before buying. Staff very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Daykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

nice booze, but little disapointed in the "experiance" could be a whole lot better and I feel it will improve with time callin have a sample and enjoy

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IronworksDistillery, Owner at Ironworks Distillery, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks so much for the compliments about our products. We've taken to heart the concept of enhancing the 'experience' of a visit to the distillery and this summer season we have added some tours of the fermentation areas, barrel aging cellar and production room. We are not even close to being a large distillery but we feel that our micro-tour gives our guests an entertaining look at the process and an enhanced awareness of the work that goes into each beverage. So come on back soon to see how we're doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best raspberry liqueur under the sun”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I don't want to be selfish so I will share with you this secred, the Ironworks Raspberry Liqueur. You will just die when you taste it. I wish we bought a case but how can you get a case across the country.

This is a very neat place to visit. They have many choices from vodka to rums of various kinds and the liqueurs. So yummy. The distillery is a 4 minute walk from the waterfront.

Can't wait to go back and stock up this time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthVan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, ON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem hidden away in Lunenburg.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The staff/owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The place is spotless and the samples were generous. They even invited our dog in! The blueberry liqueur is amazing but all the other products are great as well. Would definitely recommend this stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironworks Distillery also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Ironworks Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing