We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem hidden away in Lunenburg.”

Ironworks Distillery
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ironworks Distillery opened its doors to the public in June 2010. Situated in the old town of Lunenburg and residing in the building that used to be the old marine blacksmith shop, we create small batches of artisan spirits using produce from the Maritimes. We make vodka and brandy using Annapolis Valley apples, Pear Eaude vie and several delicious fruit liqueurs. Tastings are free.
Owen Sound, ON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem hidden away in Lunenburg.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The staff/owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The place is spotless and the samples were generous. They even invited our dog in! The blueberry liqueur is amazing but all the other products are great as well. Would definitely recommend this stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Smooth...very smooth”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you like rum you'll love this Nova Scotia distillery. The amber rum is as smooth as silk. Sample some rum, vodka, or several types of liqueur. Very friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smooth liquor”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Really nice distillery. Extremely friendly staff, was very helpful and willing to let us try samples. The shop was beautiful and well preserved.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KrisAnneKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a nice addition to Old Town. Nice restoration to leave the floor of the old ironworks shop in place. Interesting tastings for sure. Worth stopping by while you are in Lunenburg.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Key_West_visit_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must on your to do list!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went for a tour and were lucky enough to have Linda (owner) as our tour guide! We learned so much and had a really great time. She answered so many of our questions! What a wonderful atmosphere. The staff were super friendly and we truly enjoyed ourselves! The sample tasting was an added bonus!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironworks Distillery also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Ironworks Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing