We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great history lesson”

Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.28*
and up
Lunenburg and Mahone Bay Day Trip from Halifax
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are now closed for the season and will reopen in May of 2017.
Chester, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great history lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I hadn't been to the Fisheries musem since I was a kid and while I was looking after a young child for a week, I decided to take a stroll down memory lane and check it out once more, glad I did! She loved the touch tank, and all the other fish tanks. A really great spot for younger children as they can get up close and really look at the types of fish and see them swimming around. The staff was so very friendly, made you feel right at home, and we more than happy to answer any questions you had. Great review of history for me, and also a great introduction to history for the younger child with me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So glad you were able to revisit and had such an enjoyable day! The touch tank is a fan favorite among children big and small. Thanks for your kind words. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    212
    47
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“An insight into history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If visiting or staying in Lunenburgh then a visit to this museum is a must do. Whilst not a large museum it has much to offer and should not be missed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for calling us a must-do! We like to think everyone that comes to Lunenburg should give us a try, for we always seem to provide a "more than you imagined" experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A real bit of East Coast history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

It wasn't sophisticated, didn't try too hard. Full of lots of 'things' that clearly set out the maritime history of the region. As a family we found it fascinating. Outside there are vessels to explore including beautiful wooden sailing fishing vessels of the Bluenose era.
An enjoyable couple of hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nmunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us, and your kind words. Come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
336 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Museum Includes Tour of Fishing Boats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The museum was small but worth the time to learn about the area and the Maritime Provinces. It included tours of a couple of fishing boats in addition to information about the area's underwater life. Try to arrange for a demonstration of shucking a scollop. We had a retired scollop fisherman shuck a scollop as we watched. He was obviously very knowledgeable and we got to eat a raw scollop 30 seconds after it was shucked -- it was delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Sounds like you had a fun visit! I also prefer scallops raw, right outta the shell! Just one the many perks to vising the Fisheries Museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the admission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

A lot to see; Could spend an afternoon here. well worth the admission. Annoying to have to pay to park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit. We are always looking for new ways to address parking issues. Thanks for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing