We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable!”

Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.10*
and up
Lunenburg and Mahone Bay Day Trip from Halifax
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic provides the ultimate waterfront experience, in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. While at the Museum, you experience life in a fishing community and discover, up close, life at sea. Explore our living fish exhibit and wharf-side vessels. Make your way to the Ice House Theatre, where films are shown throughout the day. Browse at your leisure or take a guided tour. Come rain or shine, relax and enjoy! The entire family will enjoy their entertaining visit with us!
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent hours going through this museum. Landlubbers that we are we knew very little about the history of the fishing industry in the maritimes and we learned so much. The exhibits are excellent and I loved the miniature representations of the ships and dories. There is so much history in Nova Scotia and this museum greatly contributed to our knowledge. Very worthwhile to visit for half a day or more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hjtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our museum. We strive to celebrate and share the heritage of the Atlantic Canada fishery with enthusiasts and landlubbers, alike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    225
    48
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A great place to visit while in Lunenburg. We spent a rainy morning within the museum and stayed longer than we had anticipated. The exhibits highlight the importance of Lunenburg as a major fishing port and provide an interesting historical record of the fishing industry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lordofthemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The staff make the experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I don’t usually write reviews of attractions, but we had such a nice day at the Fisheries Museum that I want to make an exception. We were only planning to spend a few hours but ended up staying there the whole day. We never even made it to the upper level. The big highlight of this museum is the friendly and very knowledgeable staff, many of whom are retired captains. My best advice is to take the time to engage the captains in conversation about the vessels on display and about the fishing industry. They really have a lot of information to share. We really enjoyed the lobster talk—we were the only two there, and the lobsterman took extra time to answer our questions. Also, a special thanks to Captain George Pike, who taught us about schooners and closed up the touch tank late so we could stay and hear about his time on scallop boats. This is a great place to get some insight into both the history and current practices of the fishing industry in Nova Scotia.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit! Capt. George Pike is such a asset here at the museum. We are very lucky to have him on board to share his first-hand experiences with our visitors. Come back again to see the upstairs ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great walk through history”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The museum gives you a terrific walk through the history of Atlantic Canada and life with the sea. Give yourself at least 2 hours to have time to visit the various exhibits.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eric22754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit! You're right! We always recommend 2-3 hours to see everything, but you could spend the entire day to get the full, hands-on experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was very impressive from beginning to end. I learned a lot from the exhibits and came away in awe. It is a spectacular piece of Nova Scotia history and unsung heros exposed.

Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad we were able to wow you during your visit! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing