We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of Boscawen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boscawen Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Boscawen Inn this past July as well as stayed there for two nights. The owners, John and Judy, were beyond accommodating, many of our guests were celiac, and the Boscawen made sure that gluten free options were available at any time, additionally one of my great Aunts has mobility concerns and John and Judy helped make sure that she was well taken care of. Everyone loved this wonderful Inn, and we will be back, as will many of our wedding guests.

The catering company on site was also amazing, and overall our experience was everything we had hoped for and more. We can't wait to see what John and Judy have in store for this beautiful Inn in the future, the changes they have made in the last year (we try to visit Lunenburg annually) have been full of love and attention to detail!

Thank you Boscawen Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We had such an amazing time! What a wonderful long weekend getting to know your friends and family. I loved that everyone could stay here and not have to drive anywhere. The wedding seemed to go easy and flawless but I think it was because everyone was so easygoing. I especially loved your first dance on the deck. Just beautiful. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Very central, scenic location. Charming historical inn with the friendliest owners! Enjoyed sipping wine with friends on the hotel deck overlooking the harbor. Good breakfast & an overall elegant feel to the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of July. We had Room 208 which has a King bed and faces the park. Overall it was a decent stay, but I do have a few issues.

Pros:
- Great location: Literally steps from the waterfront. There's a park at one side of the property so it's perfect if you have kids that need to run around.
- Great common rooms: The common rooms on the main floor were really nice. We sat down there in the evening and they had soothing music playing in the background. The furniture and decor was very nice.
- Has A/C: This is one of few properties in Lunenburg that has A/C. Our room had a small window unit which worked.
- Owners seemed pleasant and were helpful when we asked questions.

Cons:
- The rooms could really use some refurbishing and TLC. The carpet in the room felt a bit dirty. That said, the linens were clean. Although the building is old, the room doesn't have to look old.
- TV was an old CRT TV. Not a big deal since we didn't spend much time in the room other than for sleeping, but it's something the owners should look into upgrading.
- It's an old building, so there really aren't a lot of electrical outlets if you need to charge your cell phones and computer equipment. I had to unplug a few things like the A/C and alarm clock to be able to find a free plug to charge our phones.
- The shampoo and bath lotion were home-made in cute little bottles sealed with red wax. It was cute, but in reality, quite difficult to use. I found having to uncork the bottle and remove the wax a bit of a chore and in the end had red wax all over my hands. Some others might like this, but the lavender was a bit too strong for my taste.

The breakfast was down in the basement area and it's catered from outside. It was adequate but nothing to write home about. I guess I was expecting fresh B&B quality, but more like motel free breakfast.

In all, my stay was adequate, but I would probably try another hotel if I ever came back to the town. The building itself is beautiful, but the rooms definitely need to be refurbished.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintchoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It really helps those on the road to decide if an inn is for them or not. Odds are if you are coming to the Boscawen for the air conditioning, tv, wanting hotel soaps or a hotel breakfasts, you will be disappointed. We do have A/C in some of the rooms but not all of them and our tv's are old but they work if you need them to. We have the best deck in Lunenburg to sit under an umbrella and enjoy a cold drink and take in the view. We also are so blessed to have our caterers Sweet & Sauce prepare for you a nice hot breakfast each morning either in our spacious dining room or on the deck. Another treat is the handmade soaps made of organic Canadian ingredients from the kitchens of local mothers. We decided together to put the red wax on the top - we thought it looked good and ensured that no one else used the soap before you. As we are new owners I really do hope that you'll give us another try though. We've only just begun adding to this wonderful mansion. We are upgrading and renovating daily. Thanks again for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This Inn is an impressive heritage house set on a hill above Lunenburg Harbour. The entrance is grand with century old furnishings giving it a real feeling of the grand mansions of the past. Our room was so charming. The bedcovering and décor were so lovely. Beautiful soaps and bath wash with a lavender scent. The breakfast was good with both hot and cold selections. The hosts were really warm and helpful. The value was great and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful inn. We only stayed here one night, but wished we had booked for longer. The owners, Jon and Judy were really welcoming and the antique furniture throughout is extraordinary, with much of it shipped from South Africa with the owners. We had a lovely four post bed, and it was really comfortable, lovely lavender shampoo and body wash also supplied. A great deck to sit and enjoy a delicious coffee supplied in the drawing room. The location is excellent for walking downtown beautiful Lunenburg. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, with huge attention to detail. Overall, the best stay we have had in Nova Scotia. Well done Jon and Judy and good luck with your new venture.

Room Tip: Choice of harbour view or park view, choice is yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had stayed at the Boscawen 9 years ago, and remembered it fondly enough to come back when we were once again in NS. This time we splurged and stayed in 201, the honeymoon suite because we loved the corner turret corner with windows on 3 sides and the spacious room and bath. Obviously, this room has had a lot of recent attention to detail. And the cleaning staff does wonders in keeping the dust from settling anywhere, a feat with the intricacies of old radiators and antique furniture. We own an old home so we really appreciate how hard this can be.

We stayed three nights and left in a very peaceful state. There was no noise, day or night, no interruptions, good anticipations about questions guests might have on a half page "our recommendations" flyer. We tried much of what they recommended and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you so much! Having great guests makes it easy and also so much fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Boscawen Inn sits on one of the highest hillsides in Lunenburg. Dramatic presentation from the outside. Somewhat of a museum feeling on the inside. Lovely colored and painted glass windows, esp in main entrance. Room for three was a king and two single beds with view out to the harbour. Bathroom was adequate. Breakfast in a lower room, buffet. Poached eggs, bacon, sausage, cinnamon and raisin bread as well as other breads, fresh fruit, juices, lots of coffee and water for tea. People sat at individual tables and nobody spoke to anyone they did not know the morning we were there. No sign of the owners at breakfast; efficient staff occasionally silently checking the buffet. The people in the next room kept their television on all night, and I mentioned this to the man in the office, who was concerned. Lots of street and some Inn parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour. Try to make use of the large deck facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith in toron... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#8 of 26 in Lunenburg
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscawen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscawen Inn

Address: 150 Cumberland Street | PO Box 489, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boscawen Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boscawen, as seen on Amazing Race, is the perfect spot to set up base and visit Nova Scotia. Jon and Judy are looking forward to meeting you and will strive to ensure your visit to Lunenburg will be the best it can be. The Boscawen is available for destination weddings, spa getaways or just a quiet weekend with a good book. We are already filling up for weddings in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Boscawen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscawen Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing