We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and welcoming”
Review of Boscawen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boscawen Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The "girls of Rotary" went for a weekend getaway at this lovely inn, and felt welcomed and comfortable from the minute we arrived. We were a group of 7 and enjoyed the lovely views from the rooms of the harbour. the breakfast was a buffet with poached eggs,,sausages fruit, yoghurt and cereal with various juices and coffee and tea. Lunenburg is a beautiful town and we were lucky with a sunny weekend. the service was excellent. We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 200 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jon and Judy (the Innkeepers) are very welcoming and friendly. The inn is stunning and the renovations completed so far are beautiful. Everything is within walking distance,on Sunday mornings you can hear the lovley church bells in the morning.You will not be disappointed with the beauty, view, or service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blu-noser33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Boscawen Inn in Lunenburg! This place has tons of old world charm! Beautifully decorated and recently restored, the Boscawen is located in a great location - walk to everything. Extremely comfortable and very clean. The Innkeepers Jon and Judy are incredibly warm and friendly - they are fantastic hosts who will make your stay special!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharL492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much! We hope you return soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Boscawen, the owners were warm and welcoming. I forgot my phone charger, and the owner's kindly lent me theirs. The building is beautifully maintained/renovated and the room we stayed in was delightful and the bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this place to anyone/everyone I know!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks so much! We enjoyed having you. All the best to you this summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Built in 1888, the Boscowen Inn has the elegance, graciousness, character and ambiance one would hope to find in Lunenburg, a World Heritage Site. And it has delightful new owners who bring with them wide experience in hospitality, along with enthusiasm and energy. We stayed for two nights in February when the cold winds outside were offset by the cozy fire and cups of tea. The Inn hadn't officially opened but we were made most welcome - we look forward to another visit in the very near future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We loved having you and we are looking forward to your return visit this summer! We won't need the tea and fireplace to keep us warm then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Boscawen Inn mid-week in March. We were there to check it out as a venue for a wedding later in the ear. We were warmly welcomed by the innkeepers who have owned the inn since November of last year. They are hard working and have great plans for the inn. Tje main parlour has been beautifully painted and front hall floor completely re-finished. The guest rooms are in the process of being re-painted. As it is, the inn is charming. We were fortunate to be able to join our hosts along with another two couples for a glass of wine in the main room surrounded by old firplaces, elaborate wooden furniture, chairs from lands distant as well as Victorian items of interest and paintings. I have never felt more welcome in any hotel or inn.
Our room was on the tjird floor on the turret room with a very comfortable king size bed and view to the harbour below. We have already booked our return visit and look forward to the wedding festivities in this wonderful location. Thank you to Jonathan and Judy for a most pleasant stay, as well as making us feel that "the kids" chose the perfect spot for their wedding.

Room Tip: Harbour view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyons_Brook_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We loved having you!! Hopefully we will see you again before the big day. Drop in anytime to say hi. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a wonderfully appointed bed and breakfast restored and cared for like no other. The room I was in was a bit small (room 301) but super clean, a great view and nicely furnished. The views from the dinning room were amazing. Great photo opportunties. The owners or operators were a bit standoffish, but not enough to annoy me. The breakfast was great. Walking distance to the whole town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tons of great restaurants and food within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 26 in Lunenburg
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscawen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscawen Inn

Address: 150 Cumberland Street | PO Box 489, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boscawen Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boscawen, as seen on Amazing Race, is the perfect spot to set up base and visit Nova Scotia. Jon and Judy are looking forward to meeting you and will strive to ensure your visit to Lunenburg will be the best it can be. The Boscawen is available for destination weddings, spa getaways or just a quiet weekend with a good book. We are already filling up for weddings in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Boscawen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscawen Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing