We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, huge portions!”

Old Black Forest Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, huge portions!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were told to go there hungry and we did! The food was authentic, delicious and the portions were extremely generous! We wanted to try the Black Forrest cake for dessert, so we had it "to go", it was amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswithdewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

A Friend of ours from Hungary enjoys the familiar items on the menu and say they are prepared just the way they should be. Service is good and waitress friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is located a few minutes outside of Lunenburg. They serve German Food and Canadian Food. I had a delicious omelet. My husband had a German dish. Very clean. Prices good. Staff friendly.
Would recommend to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic german Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This restaurant has authentic German food. This is obvious from the amount of German visitors eating there.
The food is excellent. I have had both German dishes and Canadian.
The fish and chips are one of the best on the South Shore.
I always try and go at least once when they are open.
The only downside is that they close before Xmas. I would like to go for my birthday which is just before Xmas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious & Filling!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I do not have a lot of knowledge/experience when it comes to German food but, when recently visiting with friends in Lunenburg, they suggested Old Black Forest Restaurant for an evening meal. I had the pork schnitzel which came with a German-style salad. I could not finish the pork schnitzel as the portion was so generous plus the salad so filling. Definitely a place to return to in the future!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuncatcherTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Old Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing