We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Filling!”

Old Black Forest Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious & Filling!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I do not have a lot of knowledge/experience when it comes to German food but, when recently visiting with friends in Lunenburg, they suggested Old Black Forest Restaurant for an evening meal. I had the pork schnitzel which came with a German-style salad. I could not finish the pork schnitzel as the portion was so generous plus the salad so filling. Definitely a place to return to in the future!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuncatcherTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    27
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Large portions, go hungry, leave stuffed!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had the saurbraten, so tender, huge sized portions. very well plated. Apple strudel was perfect! Only a about 10 tables so reservations would be a good idea in season!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal of the Year!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent food, service and price!! This little place serves up huge portions of homecooked German fare that is delicious!! So impressed by the extent of the menu. All good! We went with another couple and purposely all tried something different! No complaints at all! The salads, spatzle, schnitzels, saurbraten and desserts rocked as did the lovely server!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HStoddard61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food in Nova Scotia”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have visited The Black Forest Restaurant, a small informal restaurant, several times over the last few years when visiting friends in Nova Scotia.
Being German but having lived in the UK for nearly forty years, I sometimes have a hankering for authentic German food and this I have found here with an extensive starter, mains and dessert menu. The Spätzle, and especially the Käsespätzle is excellent and the salads are crisp and fresh with a tasty dressing. My friends always enjoy their Schnitzel and the Maultaschen as well as the Black Forest Gateau and the Apfelstrudel.
Unfortunately, however, there are only limited vegetarian dishes and I hope that, before too long, they will include vegetarian Maultaschen.
Definitely well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank basbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
279 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Basic German Homecooking”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

small quaint country style restaurant just outside of town. Seems to be German husband and wife team- she serves he cooks-good spatial, schnitzel a bit thicker than I like but decent food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Old Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing