We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific German Restaurant”

Old Black Forest Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida and Lunenburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrific German Restaurant”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I find the review below from the people from Arkansas inexplicable. We went to this restaurant four times this summer and it has terrific food, great sides, salad and salad dressing and wonderful German brown gravy. The schnitzels are always thin and crispy and the multaschen with crispy onions is out of this world.

It is the best German food I have ever had in my life! In terms of value for money, it is the best restaurant on the South Shore. None better. None!

Helpful?
Thank chellyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome as always!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love this restaurant, it will never disappoint me expect for the fact that I never have room for their delicious looking desserts.
The rouladen which was the special was terriffic. Sadly they are now closed for the 2012 season as I hoped to get another visit in before my trip was over.
Like the other reviews say you can't find food this good in Germany. I have been there many times and at the Black Forest they get a quality of meat that is hard to find.

Yes a vegatarian might not be their first choice for a meal, but it would be the same in Germany too.

Never change

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissElainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida and Lunenburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best German Restaurant Ever!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

If you don't think you like German, eat at this place. We are Florida residents who own a home in Lunenburg. We go to this restaurant about six or seven times overthe course of four months. It never disappoints. We are not Germans but are converts because of this little place. The schnitzel and the multascen are the best anywhere in any country, including Germany. The salads and dressings are just right and the gravy is just as it should be. The owners are lovely hard working people. Please give this place a try for lunch or dinner. It's between Lunenburg and Mahone Bay in the middle of nowhere. You can do both towns before and after. Don't miss this one or you will be missing out.

Helpful?
2 Thank chellyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfork, Arkansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointing”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We don't have any German heritage that we know of, but we have eaten it in the past and were looking forward to eating here because of its rating on Trip Advisor and because the owners of our B & B love it also. Our food was mostly bland, poorly seasoned, and each dish tasted very similar to the other dishes the four of us ordered, even though we ordered different items. There was a mediocre brown gravy that seemed to be a mainstay for most of the dishes - my schnitzle was not thin and tender as I expected it to be. A couple of us had the spatzle and it was very bland and tasteless. None of the food was bad; it was just mediocre. One of our traveling friends attended a culinary institute and he was quite disappointed in each of our dishes. Perhaps we didn't have realistic expectations, but we've each eaten good German food in other areas and this just didn't measure up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydunn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went to Hamburg Germany and couldn't find a good place to sample German cooking, but managed to find it in Lunenburg. We drive by this little place all the time, and finally went in for supper. We had to get a reservation, and the little restaurant was packed. No wonder! This is excellent food. The server was actually German, and was excellent, suggesting options to get around my Milk allergy without once saying "I'll check with the kitchen"; she obviously knew the menu very well. The food is simple but delicious, from a lovely fresh salad to REAL Black Forest cake (Which I of course couldn't sample . .) The German specialties are all made on site from Spatzle to Sauerbraten, and you can get authentic German beer served in the proper German beer steins. I had the Beef Sauerbraten and it was tender and delicious with a rich delicious gravy. Even the Poached pear and cranberry on the side was amazing!

Don't miss this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Old Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing