We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to Learn About Lunenburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lunenburg Walking Tours

Lunenburg Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is no better way to experience the spectacular sites and atmosphere of Lunenburg's historic streetscapes and working waterfront than on foot. Lunenburg Walking Tours was created to offer visitors to our UNESCO World Heritage Site town - one of only two such urban sites in North America - an educational and entertaining directed walk through history. Co-Owners Shelah Allen and Ashlee Feener, both descendants from original founding families, bring authenticity, accuracy, and levity, all woven into great stories, to your outing. Tours are at a gentle pace, vary in length depending on the tour, go rain or shine, and require a reservation by phone/text or email.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
336 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Way to Learn About Lunenburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our one hour tour of Lunenburg was given by a resident of Lunenburg all her life. She knew everything about the city and presented it very well. The tour started at the top of the town and we walked down toward the harbor, taking in the various attractions on the way. It is a great way to learn about a city in a short period of time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jjlalumi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunenburg Town Walking Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We experienced the Lunenburg Town Walking Tour this past weekend. We worked with Shelah to set everything thing up, and the evening of the tour we had the pleasure of meeting Ashlee as our tour guide. She met us at the hotel and from there she proceeded to take us to all of the historical attractions hidden throughout Lunenburg. From Fisherman Memorials to rebuilt churches, and cemeteries, this was a very interesting tour. I would recommend it for family or business functions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjlalumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shelah's Walking Tour a Must-do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

While I had visited Lunenburg before with a friend as tour guide, I wanted to find a tour with local flair for my son on his first trip to Nova Scotia. Thanks to a timely article in the Travel Section of the Toronto Star in June, I contacted Shelah and booked our tour. We had to drive down from Halifax to make our 11am tour but encountered construction & slow traffic so had to text Shelah that we were going to be about 15 minutes late and to flip us to the 1pm tour. She responded a couple of minutes later that she and the other tour participants (2 ladies) would wait for us!

Shelah's knowledge, friendly manner and flexibility made this a great tour. Too often walking tours sound like the same old rehearsed banter but Shelah made it interesting and encouraged questions/comments. There was much laughter during our tour from both her and us. She made sure that my son and I knew how to find our next stop (Ironworks Distillery - also worth a visit) and what restaurants to try for lunch. The only way she could have made it better would have been to joined us for lunch but she already had plans.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel4days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great way to learn the details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

about this lovely community. Shelah was a fabulous guide. She provided a lot of information in a lively manner! She made Lunenburg come alive! Well worth the time and money!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank goandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REABORO, ON
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Shellah is passionate and very knowledgable about her beautiful town. The stories of the people and the architecture are still in my head a month after our trip! ~Steve & Marnie, Ontario

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MARNIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunenburg Walking Tours also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Lunenburg Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing