We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top hospitality and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our family was so delighted with our stay at the Atlantic View Cottages. The view and setting is amazing! Only a small scenic walk to the centre of Lunenburg with breathtaking views onto the ocean and harbours from our door step. The cabins were cozy, neat and clean, meticulously kept, and very comfortably furnished in a charming swiss manner. There is a certain swiss attention and simple refinement that makes you respect the place, its owners, and keeps you coming home. We cannot wait to return!
And not to forget the kids. They loved the space, running and playing around the property and at the beach. They will remember our stay at Atlantic View forever.

Thanks Heidi and Alex for a great stay. Your pleasantness and cheerful hearts with welcome made our stay all the more memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rstorkToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puffycop, Owner at Atlantic View Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for such a great review. We love the word "amazing"!!!! I am glad you had a very good experience with your overall stay. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 124 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the end cottage at this property. The cottage was simple but spacious and clean. It offered a small front porch, eating area, bathroom and kitchen. It was mainly all one room. We found the location very convenient as it was close to downtown Lunenburg. The staff gave us helpful recommendations for dining in the area. Our stay here was short but we would choose this location again for Lunenburg. I didn't see the inside of the motel units, but I don't think those would be as nice as the small cottages.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages instead of the motel units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetiebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puffycop, Owner at Atlantic View Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you Sweetiebeak for your kind response. I am glad that you had a satisfactory stay. I hope you will visit us again soon. Cheers Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We found the place clean, the cabins are musty and damp. Of the 3 cabins our group rented, the one bedroom was the best.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This l is a bit out of town, so you will need a car to stay here and enjoy Lunenburg.
We stayed in a motel room. It was spartan but met our basic needs. If you are on a budget, this is a good option.
Our room had a good bed and an acceptable shower. The floor is some sort of laminate instead of carpet.
The best point was the two picture windows. One looked out over the ocean (over the street) and the second over a lily-pad-covered pond. The windows also provide good air flow, which is necessary since there is no air conditioning.
Adirondack chairs are provided on the lawn in front.
On the spartan side, there are no tissues, very limited toiletries, no reading lights for reading in bed, no ice (that we could find), no closet (just hangers on a bar).
Overall, it's a good budget choice.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We spent two nights at the Atlantic View Motel and Cottages and were so pleased by this cute little motel. We left a larger resort outside of Chester the previous day and were not too pleased with the sealed windows and AC-only room. This lovely little spot was so well-kept with these lovely flowers outside the door of each motel room. The cottages were all booked but looked lovely. We had a fridge in our room and the housekeeper was so helpful that she even directed us to a local lobster fisherman who sold us our lobster meal and even cooked it right there at his little shop!
The walks along the beachfront were great, herons and osprey nest all added to this lovely little spot. 5 minutes by car and you are in Lunenburg!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d0nnasinc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We loved Lunenburg. We used our cottage as a home base for day trips. We had everything we needed, and certainly our nice hosts would have helped us with anything else. Our view of the water was great, and everything was clean and tidy!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Nice place not alot to do on site but not far from the town of Lunenburg... be sure to bring your bug spray because when the sun goes down you will be eaten alive by the millions of Mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bermudaful1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
0.3 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Motel & Cottages

Address: 230 Masons Beach Rd, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: $84 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful seaside destination in a woodland setting; just one minute from historic Lunenburg.You'll hear the waves lapping at the shoreline from your choice of accommodation - a cozy cottage, housekeeping unit, or comfortable motel room. In the morning have coffee on the beach or in our pond-site sitting area while the sea gulls and red-winged blackbird greet the day.Families will love the Atlantic View's ample green space and beach where children can run, play in the waves and swim. This is a perfect location for vacationing sea kayakers and cyclists, and golfers will have a spectacular and challenging nine-hole course just over the hill from us. Historic Old Town Lunenburg, designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO for its exceptional architecture, natural beauty and working waterfront, is only 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantic View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing