We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there”
Review of Homeport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homeport Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go there”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Very clean, spacious ( we enjoyed the family suite), well set up to stay awhile and enjoy the surrounding area. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frecargone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I booked for one night and then stayed for a second night. The room was spotlessly clean and the grounds were lovely. We met Gertrude, one of the owners and she made us very welcome. The location was perfect for us, on the edge of town, in a forest setting (there were deer and fawns on the lawn) and a liquor and grocery store within walking distance. Lunenburg is a beautiful little town and we are planning on returning to see the Bluenose and will definitely be staying in the Homeport Motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at the Homeport Motel.
It was clean, cozy, convenient and comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked and extremely useful if you want to cook in and save money. The owner and workers were very hospitable and accommodating. It is very close to a grocery store, gas stations, tim hortons and the harbour. Compared to surrounding motels/bnbs it was very affordable and definitely a bigger bang for your buck. We highly recommend this place for families and friends traveling in small groups.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftk316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

A delightful travel experience! The hosts Gertrud and Elisabeth are FABULOUS people. They are truly interested in their guest - so kind, caring and thoughtful. The rooms are immaculate and the amenities are plentiful. The motel is setback from the road in a park like setting where trees abound and wildlife visits while you relax in the Adirondack chairs outside your room. This peaceful and quiet setting is within easy walking distance to a grocery store and Tim Hortons. Its only a few minutes drive from the lovely Lunenburg waterfront. We traveled with our dog who was warmly greeted by our hosts. We stayed two nights, when we dropped off and picked up my teenage daughter from the Nova Scotia Sea School. It is interesting that my daughter was quite excited to tell Gertrud all about her week at Sea School when we picked her up - to me such instant rapport with the host says a lot. You really do feel at home at Homeport - it is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMWDBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We were so thrilled when we walked in the door to find a "home". It was perfect; full eat-in kitchen and four-piece bath. We had the two bedroom cottage. It would be perfect for a much longer stay - we were only there for one night.

We were travelling with 4 adults and 2 children, we fit very comfortably.

CON: No breakfast, but Tim Horton's is just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Toronto_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We've stayed here before, and now plan to stay here each time we visit Lunenburg. We book a family suite. The kids love the jacuzzi tub. I love the full kitchen with what I need to cook real meals. And a dishwasher! (There is a small grocery store very close by which sells some ready made meals, too, like rotisserie chickens etc.) While the living room is not luxurious, it is comfortable. This is an extremely clean, attractive place to stay, with lots of space for a family to spread out. The dining table, for example, was big enough to seat 6 comfortably, so there was lots of room for our family of 4 for games and activities during the day. The internet connection is also very good. There is a basketball and net near the office for practicing shots. It's very quiet, set back from the road. It's only an extremely short drive to downtown Lunenburg, and a modest drive to places like Mahone Bay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetCrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed there for 5 days, with friends in a seperate unit. All 4 of us were very impressed with this well priced,well kept property and used it as a home base
to explore Lunenburg and the surounding areas. We would definitly stay here
again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helmut015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Motel

Property: Homeport Motel
Address: 167 Victoria Road | Highway #3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeport Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Homeport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Hotel Lunenburg
Homeport Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing