We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you require for an enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homeport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homeport Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Gander, Canada
1 review
“Everything you require for an enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a very clean and well equipped air conditioned one bedroom kitchenette with two queen sized beds and a pull out couch. It was very roomy. To the delight of our grandchildren the washroom had a quite roomy whirlpool also. The staff were quite welcoming and your every need was seen too without having to ask. Definitely feel confident recommending this establishment to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morrisonville, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

A spacious room with all the expected amenities, a comfortable bed, a full-sized bathroom (I find many independents have tiny bathrooms), very well kept and clean. I was in the middle building, originally placed in room 305, and if I hadn't moved to 306 this review would be different. Room 305 had an unpleasant non-cleaning-materials funky smell, and the wi-fi signal was intermittant. The proprietor let me look at 306, which didn't have the smell, was brighter, and had a good signal. I guess this shows how reviews for the same place at the same time can be so different, and why one should always read all of the recent reviews and pay attention to the bell curve!

Room Tip: If you're given 305, check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdirondackBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in a regular motel room ((there are ones with kitchens) & couldn't have been more pleased. The innkeepers were friendly & helpful and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The room was spacious and had amenities not typical of a motel room: refrigerator, microwave, toaster, dish towels, and some basic utensils as well as a small kitchen table with chairs. The location is very convenient for visiting Lunenburg & Peggy's Cove area. We would definitely recommend the Homeport Motel to visitors to Lunenburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverEnuf34450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

After travelling all throughout the Maritimes over the last two weeks, one thing I really like about the Homeport Motel? They call themselves a Motel. Which is exactly what they are. Many places call themselves a B&B and are not, in any way such. This is a very clean, efficient, nice kitchen and reasonable amenities. Great bathroom, with soaker tub and all that you need to relax a bit. If you're looking for a chic-chic downtown Victorian to stay in, don't come here. But if you're looking for a reasonable, comfortable bed, and place to stretch out a bit, this is an excellent alternative for the road-weary traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

After reading all the superlative laced reviews for the Homeport Motel, our expectation levels were pretty high. While it is quite true that the place is spotlessly clean, we saw no evidence of quality linens and furnishings. Our sparsely furnished unit, tucked in the center of the second row, featured dreary old printed sheets that looked like they came from the back shelf of granny's linen closet. Thin and cheesy. Okay for a one night stop on a road trip. Happy to be on our way the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms on the front row. That must be what people are raving about. In fact, two guys were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This very clean and comfortable motel is run by a couple of friendly ladies who are always on hand to assist with your needs. You are walking distance to a chain grocery store and Tim Hortons. The motel provides bar-b-q's for guests to use. Laundry facilities are also on site.
Take a stroll to see the ship yards where the Bluenose II is under construction.
Beautiful area, great affordable place to stay.
Check out an area called Blue Rocks before you leave here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Homeport Motel for one night during our visit to Lunenburg and Mahone Bay. The motel is located on a beautiful, wooded, well-landscaped property about a 2-minute drive from downtown Lunenburg. There's also a Tim Hortons, gas station, and liquor store within a minute's walk. Our room was quite large and very clean, with a comfortable bed and nice linens. Clean, good-sized bathroom with plenty of towels. It's an older property, but everything looks very clean and well cared for. The owner is very sweet, and gave us great advice on places to eat and park in downtown Lunenburg. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.8 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
10.0 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Motel

Property: Homeport Motel
Address: 167 Victoria Road | Highway #3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeport Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Homeport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Hotel Lunenburg
Homeport Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing