We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could want!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homeport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homeport Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Richmond, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you could want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I made our first trip to Nova Scotia in July 2012. We visited many towns and stayed in several motels. When we got to the Homeport Motel, we were immediately met by Gertrude, the owner, who was not only very pleasant, but also gave us EXCELLENT advice on things to see and do. Her good will and good advice lasted throughout our entire stay… she was always available to help, and a true joy and pleasure to speak with! My wife and I truly believe that she cared that we had a good stay and very memorable experience. Our room was large, well cared-for, and spotless. The bed was probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in while on the road! Everything you need for a fun, good, worry-free stay, is at the Homeport Motel. We will be back the next time we come to Nova Scotia! SJC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJC57377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The motel is attractive and well run. Rooms are a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room was well equipped with cutlery, paper plates, coffee machine, coffee mugs, microwave. There are nice gas barbecues you can use and picnic tables on the grass. We couldn't get the air-conditioner to work in our room, but were comfortable sleeping with the windows open (mesh fly screens on the windows). A bonus was having a guest laundry (one washing machine & one dryer) at very reasonable prices - $2.50 and $2. Supermarket and liquor store right next door, Tim Hortons over the road. Easy to walk into Lunenburg, first along the road (with footpath) and then along a very pleasant path through a park. It takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincourt, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked this hotel from the referral of the info office in Lunenberg. We paid without able to see room and we were all very pleasantly surprised. Very clean, well supplied family unit, spacious unit with large bathroom and 2 bedrooms slept 6 persons. Beautiful grounds with picnic tables and bbq's to use. Owner Gertrude was very accommodating with quick check in and hospitality. Oh yes, before we forget, the bed and bed sheets were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Fast registration hours before the official check in time. Surprised to find such a clean, well supplied kitchenette. Coffee machine, coffee, dishes, hair dryer, lots of clean white towels, anything we thought we needed we found. Green lawns and beautiful mature trees on property. Quiet and bed was so comfortable with good quality sheets. Tim Horton's coffee shop and Hardware store across the street Grocery store and liquor store just next door. I plan to stay here again and bring my dogs next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0rkyParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We came for one night and stayed three.The best hotel we ever stayed at, friendly innkeepers, beautiful clean rooms, including coffee, toaster,fridge, micro wave oven,cutlery etc.lots of towels and soaps. Highly recommend to all.near grocery store etc.
Kaye and Dave Skanes

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed in over 35 different independent or chain motels in a recent cross North America trip. This was the best one. It is one of the best run motels I have ever stayed in. It was spotless, attractive, well equipped, nicely furnished, and the decor was perfectly adequate and better than normal for this price range. The attention to detail was the equal of a fine luxury hotel. I have racked my brains for a negative but other than perhaps complaining about the winter weather in the Maritimes, I cannot think of anything to criticize.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rivername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

spent the night in lunenburg as we celebrated a friend's birthday at the knot (a fab pub). have 2 french bulldogs and they received a warm welcome from the owner at the homeport. what a clean and well equipped room. able to keep the drinks cold with the fridge, the coffee hot with the coffee maker, toaster and microwave rounded out the kitchenette. nice big and very clean bathroom (no hairdryer) and a later check out was not a problem. you are very close to a gas station, coffee shop, liquor, grocery and drug stores. be sure to take the 15 minute walk into the historic and picturesque town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellahannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.8 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
10.0 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Motel

Property: Homeport Motel
Address: 167 Victoria Road | Highway #3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeport Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Homeport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Hotel Lunenburg
Homeport Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing