We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruce & Maureen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bruce & Maureen”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Alicion Bed & Breakfast during our visit to Nova Scotia in June 2014. Lorne & Janet are friendly hosts, with plenty of interesting conversation; the breakfasts were excellent, freshly & individually cooked each day; our room (Kingfisher) was spotlessly clean, large & very comfortable with every facility you could possibly need; the house & grounds were beautiful with lots of interesting antiques, and just a few minutes walk into the old town for restaurants & attractions. This was 5 star accommodation at its best. I would not consider staying anywhere else on any future visit to Lunenburg

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
242
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at Alicion B&B during our Atlantic Canada trip. Lorne and Janet are so nice and their home is beautiful. They were very accommodating with us and our 2 year old. Lorne cooks up a delicious and nutritious breakfast!
We would recommend Alicion B&B to anyone.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Alicion B & B Lunenburg – This was our first B & B when visiting Nova Scoita and we were greeted by a lovely lady called Jantet who gave us a tour of her beautiful home. The house is full of solid oak doors and stained glass windows and the whole house is furnished in keeping with the style. Our bedroom was clean spacious and must mention the sheets, they were made from bamboo rayon and very comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom was stocked with echo friendly products for us to use also a hydro therapy tub. The breakfast was yoghurt and fruit followed by Eggs Benedict which was delicious. We were there for one night only and ate at the Salt Shaker Cafe which was excellent. A short drive to Blue Rocks is worth the effort if you want some amazing photos.

Room Tip: Periwinkle Room has the hydro therapy tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our first trip to Nova Scotia flying in from Switzerland via Montral. We stayed two nights at the Alicion in the Periwinkle room. The breakfasts were great, Lorne a gracious host.
If we ever travel through Nova Scotia again we definitely will be staying here. We can recommend it warmly. After leaving Lunenburg we travelled through Cape Breton Island and Newfoundland and we can say it was one of the best B&Bs we stayed at.

Rahel and Rolf

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahel489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our first time traveling to Nova Scotia via the ferry over from Portland to Yarmouth. Only had a week so figured let's do a short loop - leave Cape Breton for another trip - so first stop was this lovely inn in Lunenburg. We figured one night at the inn - then move along to Halifax, etc. Well the first night was so pleasant, we decided to make it two. Lorne & Janet run a top shelf operation in a truly authentic Victorian residence. Our room was huge and had private bath - very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was perfect with lots of fresh fruit, juice, eggs and truly good coffee. Location is perfect for walking into town. Check out the Salt Shaker Deli if you want some excellent seafood - then hit the Knot Pub on your way back for a pint. Highly recommend the Alicion.

Room Tip: There's only three rooms (I think) - you really can't go wrong with any of them - they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmherstNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent two nights at the Alicion B&B in Lunenburg while on a cycling trip on Nova Scotia's South shore. This place was fantastic. Janet and Lorne were great hosts. Lorne makes a great breakfast for a calorie starved cyclist. You would pay hundreds of dollars for a hotel that was as nice as this. I will most definitely be staying here again If I get a chance to return to Lunenburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for one night and spent a lot of time in the room, just relaxing. The jacuzzi tub in the Periwinkle room definitely made for a romantic evening after a great meal and strolling around town. The bed was incredibly soft, unlike any bed I have ever slept on. I almost questioned whether it was some sort of water bed as it rippled when you laid down. We slept like babies! Breakfast in the morning was delicious, well-presented and sustained us well into a hike later that afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaysRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing