We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great house, great food. Lorna and Janet were very congenial hosts. Not really walking distance from town. No air condition. There is croquet and Bocce ball. Great veranda for sitting and chilling. Refrigerator available for guests to keep snacks and wine. Would recommend hosts begin serving appetizers in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memphisbelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We thank this guest for the nice compliments. Clarification on a couple of points may be helpful to prospective guests. Our B&B actually is in Town and a comfortable 8-10 minute walk to the UNESCO core. This location allows us to be on a quiet corner with a large garden and our guests love the easy stroll through our beautiful neighbourhood.

Alicion B&B is environmentally friendly and air conditioning is not a good fit. We also find that it is not necessary. For example, nighttime temperatures in this time frame were 15-18°C (59-64° F).
When we stay in B&Bs we have no expectation of being fed in the evening and we are fortunate that generally our guests do not expect appetizers. Occasionally, after very busy workdays, we still find a few minutes to offer our guests hors d’ oeuvres and glass of wine on our veranda. We enjoy this quality time.
When seeking accommodations, it is always prudent to review the facilities and services that are offered by the establishment before booking.

Thank you, Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 357 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

A beautiful period home on a quiet street. A pleasant 5 ish minute walk to 'central' Lunenberg. Beautiful, modern and clean amenities (including DVD player, etc.). Accommodating, informed hosts and a very nice breakfast included with the room rate. If you like staying in BnBs, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Elliot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Set back off the road on a large corner property, this B&B really is lovely. Lorne welcomed us in the afternoon and cooked us breakfast the next morning. We had the Kingfisher room on the main floor and it was very pleasant and quiet for sleeping. Bed was great!Too bad we only had one night here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lunenburg is one of our favorite places to visit, and over the years, we've stayed at more than a dozen different B&B's there. That is, until we discovered Alicion. We have just returned home from our 5th stay at Alicion, and will definitely return there for all our future trips to Lunenburg. The house and grounds are charming, the rooms comfortable, the food delicious, and best of all, the hosts, Lorne and Janet, are warm and welcoming, which makes visitors feel right at home. They are also conscientious about the environment, and so the food they serve is local and fresh. In fact, everything about the place is environmentally (and people) friendly. This makes them fairly unique among B&B's. No other B&B really compares to Alicion in our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthmg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's a first class B&B, and Lorne and Janet are a great source of local info, plugged in to their community! Lo-carb breakfast, a great walking location just on the edge of the UNESCO defined heritage area, and great hiking minutes away make for an active, or peaceful stay! It's a classic down-east heritage home with modern luxurious appointments. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Alicion B&B for two nights in late July and had a wonderful time in the Lunenburg area. Lorne was a very accomodating host, who obviously takes great pride in his home. Stayed in the Dragonfly room which was very nice, and included a Hydrotherapy tub which was fun to use. Breakfast was very good with my favorite being a veggie and cheese frittata. They also have fresh fruit, yogurt, and a selection of beverages every morning. The town,and surrounding towns, are very picturesque and make for nice low-key adventure.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a former travel writer, I have developed a keen sense regarding quality travel experiences and accommodations. My partner, Heinz and I had the good fortune to find the Alicion B&B during a recent trip to Nova Scotia. We used the local tourist guide and were lucky to get the last room in the house on a sunny July day. What a treat to arrive and find a beautifully preserved historic home that now was a B&B run by a lovely couple Lorne and Janet, who had former experience in the hospitality business. They made us feel extremely welcome but also knew exactly how to give us privacy in their lovely house. Our room was gorgeous, one of the nicest on our entire trip and the little touches like beautiful towels, lovely soaps and a gourmet breakfast was impressive and appreciated. There are times when one can recommend a property without any reservations and I can assure you this is one of those times. Since they only have four rooms you may need to book ahead or rely on last minute luck, but, you will not only love this lovely B&B but also Lunenburg which is a charming village with fantastic restaurants -- all within walking distance of the Alicion. We loved our stay --- and, the proof ---- We booked an extra night! You will have a great experience here!

Room Tip: All four are fabulous! Two with King beds and two with queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#2 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $77 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing