We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lorne didn't like the sound of our horn...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alicion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lorne didn't like the sound of our horn...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lorne will understand the meaning of the title :)

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful place on August 17 & 18, the rooms are spacious, very clean and the bathrooms are well appointed. Breakfast is good and healthy.

The previous review is quite accurate about them being obsessive about their property. Although Lorne run a very tight ship, he is a great host.

I would highly recommend this place if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the old town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    31
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
239
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lorne and Janet are excellent hosts. Their Inn is spotless, the food exquisite and it is wonderfully quiet yet cheerful. This has everything to do with the way the inn is run by Lorne and Janet. They are naturally warm, friendly and looking to please their guests. We received great ideas for day trips, and very reliable restaurant guidance. We cannot say enough about wonderful, graceful Alicion B & B, other than to say it is not only the best, but it felt like "home". Do yourselves a big favor and stay here during your time in the area if their is an opening.

Room Tip: Every one of the rooms was clean, spacious and comfortable. It comes down to what time of day you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a lovely grand old home. It is spotless and every detail has been attended to. It is not on the water, but in an old residential neighborhood.

The innkeepers were kind -- but a little obsessive about their property -- rules about dirty shoes locking things up, and getting into the kitchen were made very clear -- several times. As result, I am not sure we really felt welcome.

This all said, as inns go, this is top-notch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We would like to thank this guest for the complimenting us on the spotless nature of our home and for stating that we are a “top-notch” establishment.

We appreciate the opportunity to clarify a couple of points from our perspective. We have very few rules but ask guests to lock the front door coming and going, as when not locked, it doesn’t get closed properly. We have a very small sign in the entrance saying, “Please remove wet or soiled footwear”. We don’t mention footwear unless the guest asks and then we typically encourage them to keep shoes on for comfort and safety. We have to conclude that if guests remove shoes, it contributes to the “spotless” state of our home as we have been commended for.

We do our utmost to make Alicion a welcoming environment. Guests are welcome to play in our beautiful gardens (3/4 acre), sit on our wrap-around veranda, relax and visit in our living room or linger as long as they like over breakfast in our lovely dining room. Guests are also free to come and go at will in all common areas, use our computer in the front alcove and sit in our comfortable foyer. That leaves us our living quarters and kitchen, which is a work area. We appreciate it when people recognize our private space and respect it.

Thank you for your understanding,
Lorne and Janet, Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were welcomed by Lorne and Janet, the owners of this beautifully restored Lunenburg home. They were classy, friendly, helpful, and all around great hosts. Our room was on the main floor right by the hall, but was very quiet and charming. Although Lunenburg was a great place to explore and experience, we really enjoyed just chilling out and sharing wine on the large porch in the early evenings and desert which we brought one full-moon-lit night. We took Lorne's recommendations for the Gaff Point and Hirtles Beach hike, and it was a highlight of the trip for us. If you like great dining, get reses at Fleur de Sel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

From the very first, Lorne and Janet make you feel so welcome that you forget they aren't part of your family and that this is a B&B, not an old familiar family home.
We fell in love with Lunenburg and the easy stroll into the charming downtown from the Alicion is a pleasure. We would gladly have stayed a few more than the two days we were guests had they not been booked solid.
We certainly recommend the Alicion and plan on returning for much longer!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dragonfly Room which was well the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alicion for two nights in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lorne was so helpful in telling us about local places and gave us directions to a wonderful hike to Gaff Point near Hirtle's Beach. We never would have found it on our own and it made our stay in Lunenburg special for finding an out of the way place. The bookstore in Lunenburg is amazing, there is a great variety of restaurants and the town is authentic. The Alicion's rooms are spacious, the bathrooms wonderful, and the breakfast top notch. We loved the wrap around porch and had our lunch there one day; very peaceful.

Room Tip: The rooms with the spa bathtub are well worth it! Very relaxing indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolZelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Alicion for 2 nights in July. Lorne and Janet are so welcoming and friendly and have set up the old mansion beautifully, from comfortable beds to all the amenities in the bathroom. The food was terrific and the house was just far enough from downtown to be quiet but not so far that you couldn't walk to everything. My only regret is that we weren't there longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing