We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I were on vacation touring the east coast and stayed at the Alicion B & B for two nights. We have stayed in many B & B's but this one tops them all. It is extremely clean and beautifully decorated. Janet and Lorne are wonderful hosts. Very kind and caring. We stayed in the "Kingfisher" room and were extremely pleased with the room. It was very large, comfortable bed and the sheets felt like silk. I even had to ask what kind of sheets because they felt wonderful (bamboo sheets).
The sitting room was very inviting and a great place to go. It made you feel like you were at home.
The location is perfect - just a little away from the hubbub but close enough to walk. Lunenburg was one of the cutest places we visited on our trip.
Breakfast in the morning was super delicious: Waffles with fresh fruit and ham one morning and a delicious asparagus omelet the next.
We would HIGHLY recommended anybody staying here. Lorne and Janet are doing a fantastic job and we would like to thank them for giving us great memories of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyD234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a great time at the B&B. The room was spotless and nicely decorated, breakfast was delicious, and we felt really welcome. It's also in a great location. Five minute walk from downtown, but on a quiet street. The other B&Bs in town appeared to be on much busier streets, so we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fern M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The place is lovely the rooms spacious and the bathroom well appointed, lots of towels.
My only regret with our stay was the very unimaginative breakfast, a choice of juice ,a single waffle, small bowls of blueberries/strawberries to share, syrup and coffee.
Now we could have had another waffle if you asked for it but we declined as they tasted rather stale.
My recommendation would be to have a large evening meal so that you are not too hungry for breakfast and therefore not disappointed with the Savior Fare. The breakfast should be better when paying up to $159.00 a room.
Next day Coopers Inn Shelbourne WOW what a breakfast! Janet and Lorne should travel more and see what the others are serving for $100.00.

Room Tip: The Tamarak Room was lovely and the twin beds can be converted to a king if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

We appreciate the feedback you have given us. It is very unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your breakfast experience. We wish you had expressed this at the time; we would have appreciated the opportunity to rectify this problem immediately by offering you something else.

Our breakfasts are often praised for being substantial and healthy and all ingredients are prepared fresh and with care just moments before being served.
Breakfasts are always accompanied with yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea and a protein, such as ham/bacon if guests so desire. We offer something different every day and there are certainly no restrictions on helpings. Nevertheless, we will take your feedback into account and make any necessary adjustments.

We strive to do our very best in guest satisfaction as this is reflected in our receipt of Trip Advisor’s “Service of Excellence” award for 3 consecutive years. We urge people to peruse the many positive reviews we have received.

We hope you enjoyed your travels through Nova Scotia.

Regards,
Lorne and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoye our stay at this perfect bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjarritify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I were there last November and were graciously hosted by Lorne and Janet. We were only planning to stay 1 night but since we had such a memorable and trustworthy experience, and that our room was still available, we chose to stay a 2nd night. No regrets whatsoever!!! The accommodations were impecable and Lorne's an impecable cook and host! I especially loved hearing him tell about the history of the home and Lunenberg in general. .

We spent some time with Lorne over breakfast and he was very capable in identifying places a short drive away that we might like to visit and was he ever right! The places he pointed out were definately the highlight of our trip, expecially Myrtle Beach!

We will definately be back there again one day! I can't say enough good things to anyone who will listen! Thanks to Lorne & Janet!!
- The Fisher's

Room Tip: Dragonfly room was fabulous for the two of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although we live in the Annapolis Valley and are close enough to enjoy historic Lunenburg on a day trip, we decided to celebrate my birthday by staying at the Alicion B&B. We chose it primarily after reading about Lorne and Janet's commitment to "going green" with an eco-friendly B&B. We were not disappointed and are now looking for another special occasion so we can stay there again. Perhaps we'll just celebrate a Friday or a Wednesday! That's how much we enjoyed our experience. The Periwinkle Room had everything we could have hoped for ... a comfy king-size bed and a bathroom big enough to dance in. I was delighted to see Canada's own Green Beaver products available for use in the bathroom. Breakfast was worthy of superlatives. The coffee tasted like it should when it's really really good. The location of the Alicion is ideal, within walking distance of the Knot Pub, the waterfront and other amenities in town. From reading other reviews, it really goes without saying that Lorne and Janet were delightful hosts -- warm, welcoming and interested in their guests. We have no hesitation in recommending the Alicion B&B to our friends and family.

The Austins

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

lorne and janet were wonderful hosts. we stayed in the tamarack room, which was just delightful. lorne was such a wonderful cook and host. the town of lunenburg is a world unesco site and just a wonderful town to stroll and sight see. we would defintely go back again.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong with any of the rooms.the were all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 26 in Lunenburg
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $79 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing