We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Burgers & Pizza”

Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe
Ranked #6 of 184 Restaurants in Maple Ridge
Price range: $6 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Port Haney neighbourhood in Maple Ridge, BC, The Billy Miner Alehouse & Café is open for Breakfast – Lunch – Dinner, seven days a week. Our focus is on fresh local ingredients with an emphasis on made-from-scratch Gourmet Burgers and Fresh Pizza from our Italian wood oven. We complement with 24 taps of the finest Craft Ales and Lagers found on earth and we rotate our taps monthly. If you are looking for a Latte or Espresso to dream the day away on the beautiful shores of the Fraser River, we are your “go to” destination. Proudly serving JJ Bean Coffee. Reach us by car, boat or train.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gourmet Burgers & Pizza”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great to see new management in this heritage icon. The building was originally a bank next to the railway track and station, today a West Coast Express station. The bar is set back into the original bank vault. There's a great story here, as Billy Miner, one of the old west's famous bank robbers hit this place when it was a bank.

Today, the new management, who also own the Mission Springs Pub in Mission, BC have revitalized the place with a fantastic upscale pub food menu. Some of my favourites are the gourmet burgers, the pulled pork and their delicious pizza.

If you haven't been back in a couple years, give this place another chance, as it's changed remarkably for the better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTORofREVIEWS, Public Relations Manager at Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
You're right! It is a heritage building and there did use to be an old safe in the back. Now-a-days though, we use it as the cooler for the beer! Thanks so much for the review and we're pretty proud of how it's come such a long way. Come visit anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    108
    36
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy pub with great food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After passing the sign many times while driving by on the Haney Bypass, we finally decided to stop in and we were pleasantly surprised both by the extensive craft beer selection and the interesting food menu. We were torn between pizza and one of the french fry concoctions. It seems they started with poutine and then let their imaginations fly. We chose smoked chicken, jalapenos and goat cheese in sweet chili sauce and it was delicious! One order was plenty for two so we'll have to go back to try the pizza as well as several of the other menu items that appealed. We also enjoyed the beers we tried, Lions Winter Ale and Trailblazer Pilsner. The pub is divided into two rooms which gives it a cosy feel and keeps the noise level down. The window tables provide a view of the Fraser River across the road and also the West Coast Express which stops at the station just across the way. Our server was very friendly and helpful as well as providing excellent service. We definitely plan to return soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Leftcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTORofREVIEWS, Public Relations Manager at Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
All of us here are so glad that you decided to pop in and give us a try! We're very proud of how far we've come through the years and you're right- we let our imaginations fly with the french fries! Believe it or not, we still have more creativity left and hope to introduce more concoctions this year! Thanks so much for a fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you back in The Billy Miner soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“That potato Salad!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

visiting from Australia, this place is one of the best alehouses I have ever been too! the place has charm and character. one of the main things I loved was the famous warm potato salad! I have been trying to figure out the recipe for so long but I have had no such luck! it is a must!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTORofREVIEWS, Public Relations Manager at Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Oooh! The famous warm potato salad recipe! I'm not sure if I can get it out of the hands of the chef, but I will definitely try and keep you posted! :-) May not be so easy though… I think it's their secret recipe !! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we welcome you back to The Billy Miner again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic food and great beer selection”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Been here a few times and plan on coming back many more. Best burgers around and one of the only pubs I've found with a good craft beer selection. Best place in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skylar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTORofREVIEWS, Public Relations Manager at Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much! We're so proud of our burgers and are glad that you think they're the best around! That was our goal from the beginning! It took some time to perfect them… but I think we got there :) Thanks again and we look forward to having you in the Billy Miner again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“Insanely delicious and exciting menu..just go..”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lovely little cafe style eatery..great staff..fabulous food..the absolute best cornbread with maple syrup butter anywhere... exciting menu that delivers exactly as promised..best pizza in BC..and I know my pizza!!
Decent portions!
Smoked chicken and pulled pork dishes to leave you drooling...

Its so good here..when I go, I order a full separate main course to take home and devour the next day...
Try the Kennefick fries, if you have not been to Ireland and want to know how we love our fries, being spud specialists and all... taste these... they are perfection... and the add ons... oh my... crispy jalapenos...garlic and cheese...
A huge array of locally brewed beers with intense and mouthwatering twists and flavors.. Oh this place is a venue to be treasured and Cudos to the Head Chef ..this place is win win!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank LuxuryAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTORofREVIEWS, Public Relations Manager at Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Wow! Fantastic review! It's amazing to hear such positive comments, as we all strive to make our customers happy! Come back any time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe also viewed

Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 

Been to Billy Miner Alehouse & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing