We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful river front walk”

Kanaka Creek Riverfront Trail
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Maple Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maple Ridge
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful river front walk”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is close to home, easy to walk with a nice easy trail, some bridges, look outs and there is a loop trail to take.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On the doorstep!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A perfect walk for all ages and abilities, from young families and joggers, to those who need the help of a cane or a wheelchair to get around. There is a lot wildlife, although I haven't seen the bunnies recently (think they may have become someone's dinner). We've watched the Canada Geese there from the nesting to raising their young. It's a happy place! We walk our dog there regularly, as do so many other fido owners, and most stop and chat. There are benches placed along the riverbank for those who just want to sit back and enjoy the view. WARNING! Just don't go doown there during Mosquito season or you will be eaten alive!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“beautiful area”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a nice walking area, not too strenuous, with beautiful views and the chance to see lots of local wildlife. There is easy access to the parking lot off Lougheed Highway. I love sitting on a bench and watching the river - soon you see fish jumping and I've seen harbour seals too. It's especially nice on a sunny day. Bring your camera. A couple of cautions: I would not recommend walking there alone. It's just common sense, I think. It is busy on weekends but during the week can be very quiet. Also, be aware that the banks of the river are very muddy. If you let your dog get down to the water, he will love it but have some towels back in your car to clean him up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy walk with nice views”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Easy walk, you can do a loop through the treed area and also along the Fraser River, both have nice views with good photo opportunities. There are several benches along the river and also seating near the begining of the forest walk, before you cross the bridge in to the treed area. If you plan to sit anywhere you will probably need bug spray for the mosquitos. I would recommend this walk to anyone, the river portion is very level for people with difficulty walking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank El K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“water and nature”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a great place to walk your dog or just take a stroll yourself. The trails are well maintained. It is great to be able to see the water from most of it. Serenity and beauty abound.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanaka Creek Riverfront Trail also viewed

Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 

Been to Kanaka Creek Riverfront Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing