We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Lava Dining & Lounge - CLOSED

Lava Dining & Lounge
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

As always, this restaurant made the dining experience so nice - important at any time and especially on one's 35th anniversary.

Our daughter and her husband were with us and although we each had different dinners, from the salads through the entrees and desserts, we once again had great food and wonderful service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Maple Ridge !”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fabulous food at reasonable prices. Maple Ridge should consider itself fortunate to have such a fine restaurant on their doorstep. The food is every bit as good - if not better - than most of the 'high end' restaurants in Vancouver - but for much less.
The proprietor, Rob is informative and friendly and the service excellent. The ambiance is wonderful - very atmospheric with soft music.

I have had the rib-eye steak more than once and it is the best I have ever had !My wife and I have also have enjoyed the chicken, lamb and fish dishes at various times.
We heartily recommend this restaurant and wish more folks would patronize this wonderful place while they can.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner, (great dinner)”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I decided to take my wife out for dinner on our 2nd anniversary to Lava Dining Lounge, and we were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly from the time we walked in and through out the night. I ordered 2 glasses of champagne to start our night, and a bottle of wine to follow. We started our dinner with 2 of their Romaine (their take on a ceaser salad) It was AWWSOME! never have we had a grilled lemon with a salad and it makes it.... we also shared the French onion soup and WOW, large portion, great taste, (one of the best I have ever had) We then enjoyed a bit of time between our appies and our main courses. We then received our main dishes, thier Butler Steak, and WOW,, the way it was cooked...PERFECT! melt in your mouth, and the blue cheese butter on it was amazing, added that extra taste.. Neither myself or my wife needed or wanted to add salt or pepper to anything.. everything was PERFECT.
Again, the staff was great, the food top notch ( this is what you would expect at a fine dinning resteraunt) but the cooks at Lava have pulled it off and it is great to have something like this close by so you don't have to go too far for a GREAT meal.
We will be back and we recommend this place to everyone, if you are looking for a nice night out or just want good food at a good price.
Again great job, Lava Lounge.
We had a perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was great little surprise to experience! My boyfriend and I came here as we heard great reviews! We had the romaine appetizer to start which was fantastic with great sauce. I had the chicken which was the freshest chicken yum! My boyfriend had the butler steak which was cooked to perfection oh and the blue cheese combination on top was so good! We will for sure be visiting again! It is highly worth the money as the food is so fresh, atmosphere is cool and you can see how the owner takes pride in the food being served - it means a lot! More people have to visit this place in Maple Ridge, you won't be disappointed!!

I think the location is not the best but then again once people know it's great they will come!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cierrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very happy with the experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We originally came to the lava room about 4 years ago and we were not impressed. It has since changed hands and the new owner could not have done a better job. We went out for our anniversary, and we had a lovely dinner. We are fortunate to have this tester aunt in Maple Ridge. The food is fresh and tasted amazing. Very healthy and just enough to satisfy. It is not a place to eat if you're in a rush, but if you are looking to spoil yourself with a nice dinner and don't want to feel rushed this is the place for you. We are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Lava Room for making our anniversary one to remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Dining & Lounge also viewed

Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing