We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy”
Review of Hotel Belle Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belle Plage
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Manitou Springs CO
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here on the way back to Quebec City. We got room 24 which was on the ground floor in the old section. The good news is the location, right on the beach. There was a little patio outside the room so you could sit outside and enjoy the view. The bad news is the people in the room upstairs and had young girls who ran around the room for most of the night. They finally went outside to the beach and we had some quiet for a while. When they returned they continued to let their kids run around the room, they didn't go to bed until 10:30. I don't understand how people can be that inconsiderate. You could also hear the TV from the room next door. Don't stay downstairs in the old section if you have problems with noise.

Room Tip: Don't stay downstairs in the old section. It is cheap but very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    82
    46
    11
    13
See reviews for
41
93
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable rooms with patios or balconies which overlook the beach. It has one of the best dining rooms in the townw with excellent seafood. Reasonable prices. It is our 3rd time there and would certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JudyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I am quite happy staying in a dorm room and appreciate it. However, the price and expectancy level is accordingly.
Let's first start with the good, which really was very good and much appeciated. The hotel is a stone's throw from the ferry, very convenient if you arrive on the late ferry. Plenty of parking. Very hearty welcome, in big foyer with log cabin atmosphere. Big big room, very comfortable, including fridge and microwave and such. Even a chair in front to enjoy the morning sun.
But then this little detail called breakfast kind of tainted this beautiful experience. Firstly, I still cannot comprehend the concept of staying in a hotel and not having breakfast included. But okay, it was clear from my reservation. But then when you see a price list in your room, you expect to actually pay that price in the breakfast room - not so, it was nearly double the price, apparently, the price list in the room was slightly outdated (by several years?). Secondly, when I pay for a fancy breakfast, I prefer the waiting staff to match that expectation. But the guy could just not grasp the notion of 'milk', not in English, nor in his native French. It took several attempts to convey the concept and then several reminders before he could actually be instigated to bring it over. And great that you get free refills of coffee, but why not of tea?
On the plus side, cheese coming with the toast was not on the skimpy side at all. I used a quarter of a slice to cover two slices of toast - that's how big and thick it was...
Maybe I should contribute the nasty after taste of this breakfast to a badly handled morning crankiness?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margoworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our salmon fishing party used the Belle-Plage last week enroute to and back from our salmon camp. It is a most reliable, welcoming and comfortable hotel. Right on the beach, it is not one of these loud noisy touristy hotels - rather it is a quiet place for a few days stop on a tour of the amazing Gaspé. Belle-Plage has fine cuisine that specializes in just-caught seafood - naturally - but all is prepared with flair - and they smoke their own salmon at their smoke house on hotel grounds.Don't miss the Matane baby shrimp prepared with garlic! Very good wine list and smiling service from student wait staff and a seasoned Maitre D'. Price wise they offer a modified American plan which is amazingly reasonable for this their high-season. Seated in their dining room one can easily imagine being on a ship at sea - and the sunsets! Bravo Belle-Plage. P.S. a must is a visit to the salmon ladder at the dam in Matane - five minutes from hotel.

Room Tip: request a beach-side room on the ground floor to the left or right of the hotel entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This property is located right on the beachfront and has small balconies overlooking the beach.
The room was a different design to what we have been used to in Motels--it is a large room containing two comfortable beds and pillows with a small sitting area that contained two comfortable arm chairs, a table and two chairs, a small desk with a chair. It was nice to pull the two armchairs around to face the view and have a nice glass of wine.
The bathroom area is tiny and if you are a big person you would have trouble (as I did)
There is no coffee/tea making facilities which at the price charged should be included. There is no microwave or other method of heating food.
There is a restaurant attached to the motel which provides evening meals and breakfast. It is an up market restaurant with nice decor, lovely menu and wine list with the service that goes with it however you will pay for the privilege (not for the budget conscious)- I will say however that our meal was delicious and well presented. The young waiter was in his learning phase but was delightful and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room with your own balcony - some rooms have shared balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We can say that it is an average motel facing the sea. we can say that is a charming place in this beautifull región that is the gaspesie. Our room was facing the sea and had a balcony in a sort of deck, that is shared by all the others rooms. It s very peacefull, romos are basic but very clean, no coffe maker, flat tv. There is no good lightening in the room, they could have put some in the seeling, but it s ok. It is a bit expensive for value, but i really liked the beachside place, the ambiance of this place. I would recomemd even it was a bit pricey. We did not try the restaurant, thought it seamed chic and had a good menu. Breakfast not included.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairedelune078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

If they added an exhaust fan in the bathroom and more electrical outlets in the rooms it would be better but it is clean with an above average restaurant. Average is a good description. It is more of a Motel than a Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burkevillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matane hotels
1.9 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 3 in Matane
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
1.5 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel La Marina
Motel La Marina
#5 of 7 in Matane
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
#7 of 7 in Matane
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Plage

Property: Hotel Belle Plage
Address: 1310 Matane-sur-Mer, Matane, Quebec G4W 3M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belle Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belle Plage Matane, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing