We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Riotel Matane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riotel Matane
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found the Riotel Matane to be a top hotel catering to a mostly business clientel. The staff was friendly, the room was spotlessly maintained, and the food was great. We felt that because of the large number of business clients that the staff was more business oriented and less tourist oriented. We understand the reason for this but felt we couldn't give them an excellent rating because of it. The Riotel's in Bonaventure and Perce' perhaps spoiled us in this regard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Good day,

We would like to thank you for your personal view of your stay at the Riotel Matane. In fact, this comment will definitely help our improvement toward the future. Furthermore, we have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time. It was a pleasure to be your host in the marvelous Matane City, and we would love to welcome you again in your next trip to the Gaspésie Region.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 435 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Riotel Matane. The room was ok but the view so so from the first floor. There was a children's playground in front of our window. We had room 102. The bed and pillows were very comfy. During the night, we heard noise in the other bedrooms and hallway. There is a big lack of insulation so you hear everything. This room is very close to the front desk. My husband heard them talking and someone dropped something on the floor and it sounded like it was in our room. Needless to say that we didn't sleep much. When we talked to the persons at the front desk in the morning, they were saying that it was almost impossible that we heard noise (like we were lying!?!?). They also said that they had never heard any complaints about noise from this room. They gave us some fake apologies. That room was pretty expensive for not having a good night.

The bathroom is very small. Our shower hose had a hole in it so we could not use the hand shower. It's a good thing that this shower had a rain shower too but the water was splashing everywhere. They only had half a plexiglass covering the shower stall. Because of this the floor outside the shower will become very wet and the water would be splashing on the door of the bathroom.
Also there was no water after 11 am to 2 pm because of some work that day. So even though our check out was at 12, we left earlier than that!

Plus no breakfast included. You have to pay for your breakfast and it's pretty expensive just to have an order of toast!

We won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mews62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions du temps que vous avez pris afin de nous transmettre vos commentaires à propos de notre établissement, le Riotel Matane. Soyez assuré, vos commentaires vont êtres envoyés aux personnes concernées et seront considérées avec soin. Votre point de vue personnel de votre séjour est notre meilleur outil pour notre propre évolution. Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires constructifs à notre égard et nous espérons avoir la chance de vous héberger à nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite de la fantastique région Gaspésienne.

Sincèrement,

Stéphane Guy
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was hoping so much for a good stay at this hotel.

The room is alright. I opted for a recently renovated room. If you are familiar with the Aloft brand, this Riotel tries to be like that, but they fail. The fixtures in the room seem cheap. But.... that's okay. The room was alright and the value okay. The big failure point was the service in the bar/restaurant.

There isn't a restaurant in this hotel, but there is a bar. If you order food, the bartender runs across the parking lot to a place next door to get your food. Seems okay, but the service is awful.

Here was my evening:

I ordered a gin and tonic and a menu. I was alone in the bar. It took 6 minutes to get my drink. Hmmmm....

My menu came with my drink. I ordered a salad and then pasta.

The waiter left me a bill on the table. Odd.... I was only starting the evening.

The pasta arrived 15 minutes later. It was covered in plastic wrap! I had to unwrap the plate and discard the plastic.

5 minutes after my pasta arrived, the bartender came with the salad. I said it was odd to get the main course first, followed by the salad. I was already half way through my salad. He seemed very annoyed and left with the salad. It too was wrapped in plastic. He said he would return it. He also replaced my bill with a new one without the salad charge. He never apologized.

Dinner was over. The food was average. I'm not sure who to blame for that - the Riotel or the place next door. Are they owned by the same company? Not sure....

I stayed and had a couple of beers after dinner. At no time did the waiter initiate service. I always had to ask for something. He never came over to my table to ask how things were, or if I wanted another drink. The onus was on me to do things.

He ate his dinner at the bar while I waited for service. That's right.... he sat in a bar stool and ate while I waited for service. He also seemed to have a friend who helped him dry a batch of cutlery from the dishwasher.

I'm so very angry at the service. I had to do the work. I've never been to a restaurant where I had to peel plastic wrap off my food. If the Riotel can't serve food, then just admit it. Don't even try. The staff in the bar needs training in customer service skills.

Ughh.......

Let me summarize: Room was okay, but a little on the cheap side. Hotel lit fires by the water for guests which seemed very nice. Wouldn't it be nice if they provided service to people in front of the fires? Cohesion between the hotel and the restaurant next door was very poor. Customer service skills at the bar were dismal. Value for the dollar was average.

I'm still very angry....

Room Tip: I opted for the renovated room. I'm not sure what the others are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bingbangboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you,

I will begin with my sincerest apologies for the situation that occurred during your stay at the Riotel Matane. I would like to assure you that this is not a recurring situation in our establishment. Your critic was eye-opening on a light mishandle in our procedures that was changed in the moment we received your constructive comment. I thank you again for your helpful advice as it helped our team to improve itself. As always, we would love to welcome you back under our roof for your next visit to the charming Matane City and show you our improvements.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on July 28.
This is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. the rooms are spacious and mostly clean. It was wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the waves on the shore. The only two complaints I had were that there was a little bit of mold in the bathroom (only partly renovated) and the coffee machine wasn't working properly.
There is access to a spa, a sauna and a small pool, but we didn't go as it was too cold outside (10-15 degrees Celsius). There is also a cute spot to make fire by the beach. Nice place overall

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QcCity_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Good day,

We would like to thank you for your personal view of your stay at the Riotel Matane. In fact, this comment will definitely help our improvement toward the future. Furthermore, we have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time. It was a pleasure to be your host in the marvelous Matane City, and we would love to welcome you again in your next trip to the Gaspésie Region.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Matane is an industrial town and horrid, but you might find yourself there if you tour the Gaspe Peninsula. If you do, you must stay in this hotel. It is well away from the industrial sites and the Wal-Marts. The people are friendly. You can eat both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. If you don't stay here, you risk an Econo-Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice and is on par for the price point. The rooms are nice, modern and clean. The rest of the hotel is very, very quiet. After driving 6 hours we were starving! The restaurant in the hotel was closed but there was another one that was considered part of the hotel across the parking lot. We walked there at 5:00pm and were told they don't open until 5:30 so we went to the hotel "lounge" for a quick drink in between. We arrived back at the restaurant at 5:50 where the staff did not want to seat us because a bus "may be" coming at 7:00pm (there were only two tables currently seated). They called the manager and seated us. Our food was served in less than 10 minutes, considering I ordered a chicken breast at $25 and having 10 + years experience in the restaurant business I can't help but think I was getting perhaps pre-heated chicken??? While we were in the restaurant we couldn't help notice that everyone else was seated with no question until another English speaking couple arrived where they were turned away and left obviously disgusted. Coincidence?? I'd like to think not be we were paid and out if the door in under 30 minutes. If I'm spending $25 -$30 per entree I don't expect turn style treatment. The hotel itself is nice I would not give the "captains table" or it's staff the time of day ( maybe if you are fluent French you're experience may be better) save yourself the headache and go to Subway.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinxweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good day,

First of all, I would like to personally thank you for the time you took for the comments you wrote about your stay at the Riotel Matane. Be sure that your comments have been sent forward to the leadership team of the hotel and will be taken into consideration. Your opinion is important for our establishment and provides us with helpful hints about what we can do to improve the quality of our product and services. Your satisfaction is the goal we are always trying to reach, as we are looking forward to be your host once again on your next visit in our gorgeous city of Matane.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Driving out from Labrador City, NL, we took the Baie Comeau to Matane ferry. We had an long drive the following day so I wanted a good nights rest before heading out. We chose the Riotel because it is not too far from the Matane ferry terminal. It was a good choice. We were in the "Pavillion" building which is a motel style. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
The Pavillion does not have an elevator to get to the 2nd floor but the stairs were very wide so carrying luggage was not a problem.
We would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labradorheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matane hotels
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
0 mi away
Pavillon sur Mer par Riotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 4 in Matane
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
0.4 mi away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Matane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Matane

Address: 250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Price Range: $92 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riotel Matane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Riotel Matane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Matane Hotel Matane
Riotel Hotel Matane
Matane Riotel Hotel
Riotel Matane Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing