We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riotel Matane
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mon Joli Motel(Sainte-Flavie)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Motel Sainte-Flavie(Sainte-Flavie)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine Annie Sur Mer(Metis-sur-Mer)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Le Gaspesiana(Sainte-Flavie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
175
164
57
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
164
57
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelindoor poollawrence riverstar hotelhot tubnice hotelrain showerkeurig coffee makernew buildingbeautiful sunsettop floorparking lotrenovated roomfirst stopmini fridgefront desk staffcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 438 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Matane is an industrial town and horrid, but you might find yourself there if you tour the Gaspe Peninsula. If you do, you must stay in this hotel. It is well away from the industrial sites and the Wal-Marts. The people are friendly. You can eat both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. If you don't stay here, you risk an Econo-Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice and is on par for the price point. The rooms are nice, modern and clean. The rest of the hotel is very, very quiet. After driving 6 hours we were starving! The restaurant in the hotel was closed but there was another one that was considered part of the hotel across the parking lot. We walked there at 5:00pm and were told they don't open until 5:30 so we went to the hotel "lounge" for a quick drink in between. We arrived back at the restaurant at 5:50 where the staff did not want to seat us because a bus "may be" coming at 7:00pm (there were only two tables currently seated). They called the manager and seated us. Our food was served in less than 10 minutes, considering I ordered a chicken breast at $25 and having 10 + years experience in the restaurant business I can't help but think I was getting perhaps pre-heated chicken??? While we were in the restaurant we couldn't help notice that everyone else was seated with no question until another English speaking couple arrived where they were turned away and left obviously disgusted. Coincidence?? I'd like to think not be we were paid and out if the door in under 30 minutes. If I'm spending $25 -$30 per entree I don't expect turn style treatment. The hotel itself is nice I would not give the "captains table" or it's staff the time of day ( maybe if you are fluent French you're experience may be better) save yourself the headache and go to Subway.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinxweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good day,

First of all, I would like to personally thank you for the time you took for the comments you wrote about your stay at the Riotel Matane. Be sure that your comments have been sent forward to the leadership team of the hotel and will be taken into consideration. Your opinion is important for our establishment and provides us with helpful hints about what we can do to improve the quality of our product and services. Your satisfaction is the goal we are always trying to reach, as we are looking forward to be your host once again on your next visit in our gorgeous city of Matane.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Driving out from Labrador City, NL, we took the Baie Comeau to Matane ferry. We had an long drive the following day so I wanted a good nights rest before heading out. We chose the Riotel because it is not too far from the Matane ferry terminal. It was a good choice. We were in the "Pavillion" building which is a motel style. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
The Pavillion does not have an elevator to get to the 2nd floor but the stairs were very wide so carrying luggage was not a problem.
We would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labradorheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently got back from a week long stay on the Gaspé coast. I stayed at this hotel on my way home as a stop-over but I would definitely consider going back for a weekend visit. The staff are outstanding. The minute I arrived in the door they were smiling and inviting. I was arriving around 9 p.m. and very hungry. They immediately phoned the restaurant which is located on the property but a 2 minute walk out the door and along the beach. There is another restaurant right in the hotel but it was not open. The restaurant was great but the best part for me was the room and location. A fire was going on the beach in front of the hotel with people enjoying wine around the fire. There was another going further down and of course all of this is right in front of the hotel.
After having stayed in a rather disappointing hotel on the other side of the Gaspé penninsula, the rooms were a pleasure. The bed and the bedding was fabulous and I had the best sleep of my whole trip. The room has everything and I mean everything. Fridge, microwave, high end bathroom and overall a high end room.
There is a really nice vibe going on in this place. Loved it. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side on the lower level. Your door opens right on to the beach. I stayed here a few years ago and the sunsets are outstanding.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0nnasinc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions du temps que vous avez pris afin de nous transmettre vos commentaires à propos de notre établissement, le Riotel Matane. Soyez assuré, vos commentaires vont êtres envoyés aux personnes concernées et seront considérées avec soin. Votre point de vue personnel de votre séjour est notre meilleur outil pour notre propre évolution. Je peux vous assurer que vos bons mots seront mentionnés à toute notre équipe. Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires constructifs à notre égard et nous espérons avoir la chance de vous héberger à nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite de la fantastique région Gaspésienne.

Sincèrement,

Stéphane Guy
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The rooms overlooking the St. Lawrence are great with nice private patios-- weather may not cooperate. Location is fine with the harbour a short stroll away to aid digestion. The restaurant doe snot live up to the rooms. Service was slow and amateur. Mussels served on a flat plate with no broth to keep them hot? So sleep here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancient43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Good day,
I will begin with my sincerest apologies for the situation that occurred during your stay at the restaurant of Riotel Matane. I would like to assure you that this is not a recurring situation in our establishment. Your critic was eye-opening on a light mishandle in our procedures that was changed in the moment we received your constructive comment. I thank you again for your helpful advice as it helped our team to improve itself. As always, we would love to welcome you back under our roof for your next visit to the charming Matane City and show you our improvements.
.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews