We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nice and on par for price - restaurant is not recommended”
Review of Riotel Matane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riotel Matane
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice and on par for price - restaurant is not recommended”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice and is on par for the price point. The rooms are nice, modern and clean. The rest of the hotel is very, very quiet. After driving 6 hours we were starving! The restaurant in the hotel was closed but there was another one that was considered part of the hotel across the parking lot. We walked there at 5:00pm and were told they don't open until 5:30 so we went to the hotel "lounge" for a quick drink in between. We arrived back at the restaurant at 5:50 where the staff did not want to seat us because a bus "may be" coming at 7:00pm (there were only two tables currently seated). They called the manager and seated us. Our food was served in less than 10 minutes, considering I ordered a chicken breast at $25 and having 10 + years experience in the restaurant business I can't help but think I was getting perhaps pre-heated chicken??? While we were in the restaurant we couldn't help notice that everyone else was seated with no question until another English speaking couple arrived where they were turned away and left obviously disgusted. Coincidence?? I'd like to think not be we were paid and out if the door in under 30 minutes. If I'm spending $25 -$30 per entree I don't expect turn style treatment. The hotel itself is nice I would not give the "captains table" or it's staff the time of day ( maybe if you are fluent French you're experience may be better) save yourself the headache and go to Subway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinxweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day,

First of all, I would like to personally thank you for the time you took for the comments you wrote about your stay at the Riotel Matane. Be sure that your comments have been sent forward to the leadership team of the hotel and will be taken into consideration. Your opinion is important for our establishment and provides us with helpful hints about what we can do to improve the quality of our product and services. Your satisfaction is the goal we are always trying to reach, as we are looking forward to be your host once again on your next visit in our gorgeous city of Matane.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    145
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
94
160
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Labrador City, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Driving out from Labrador City, NL, we took the Baie Comeau to Matane ferry. We had an long drive the following day so I wanted a good nights rest before heading out. We chose the Riotel because it is not too far from the Matane ferry terminal. It was a good choice. We were in the "Pavillion" building which is a motel style. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
The Pavillion does not have an elevator to get to the 2nd floor but the stairs were very wide so carrying luggage was not a problem.
We would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labradorheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently got back from a week long stay on the Gaspé coast. I stayed at this hotel on my way home as a stop-over but I would definitely consider going back for a weekend visit. The staff are outstanding. The minute I arrived in the door they were smiling and inviting. I was arriving around 9 p.m. and very hungry. They immediately phoned the restaurant which is located on the property but a 2 minute walk out the door and along the beach. There is another restaurant right in the hotel but it was not open. The restaurant was great but the best part for me was the room and location. A fire was going on the beach in front of the hotel with people enjoying wine around the fire. There was another going further down and of course all of this is right in front of the hotel.
After having stayed in a rather disappointing hotel on the other side of the Gaspé penninsula, the rooms were a pleasure. The bed and the bedding was fabulous and I had the best sleep of my whole trip. The room has everything and I mean everything. Fridge, microwave, high end bathroom and overall a high end room.
There is a really nice vibe going on in this place. Loved it. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side on the lower level. Your door opens right on to the beach. I stayed here a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0nnasinc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions du temps que vous avez pris afin de nous transmettre vos commentaires à propos de notre établissement, le Riotel Matane. Soyez assuré, vos commentaires vont êtres envoyés aux personnes concernées et seront considérées avec soin. Votre point de vue personnel de votre séjour est notre meilleur outil pour notre propre évolution. Je peux vous assurer que vos bons mots seront mentionnés à toute notre équipe. Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires constructifs à notre égard et nous espérons avoir la chance de vous héberger à nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite de la fantastique région Gaspésienne.

Sincèrement,

Stéphane Guy
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The rooms overlooking the St. Lawrence are great with nice private patios-- weather may not cooperate. Location is fine with the harbour a short stroll away to aid digestion. The restaurant doe snot live up to the rooms. Service was slow and amateur. Mussels served on a flat plate with no broth to keep them hot? So sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancient43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good day,
I will begin with my sincerest apologies for the situation that occurred during your stay at the restaurant of Riotel Matane. I would like to assure you that this is not a recurring situation in our establishment. Your critic was eye-opening on a light mishandle in our procedures that was changed in the moment we received your constructive comment. I thank you again for your helpful advice as it helped our team to improve itself. As always, we would love to welcome you back under our roof for your next visit to the charming Matane City and show you our improvements.
.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

For a remote small town, this hotel is truly outstanding. The rooms are very modern and well appointed. Very modern bathroom was a true pleasure. Staff was always friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant are exceptional and completely surprising. Sitting by the fireplace looking out at the bay was a nice touch on a frigid winter day. Food quality was excellent. There may be a large difference between the "motel" section and main "lodge". I was very weary about that and upgraded without question. Only issue I had was with the thermostat, which seemed completely unresponsive to any input. Rather frustrating. Overall, a high quality hotel hidden in Sayabec with modern touches!

Room Tip: Stay in main lodge on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good day,

First of all, I would like to personally thank you for the time you took for the comments you wrote about your stay at the Delta Québec. Be sure that your comments have been sent forward to the leadership team of the hotel and will be taken into consideration. Your opinion is important for our establishment and provides us with helpful hints about what we can do to improve the quality of our product and services. Your satisfaction is the goal we are always trying to reach, as we are looking forward to be your host once again on your next visit in our gorgeous city of Matane.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked into the RIOTel Matane because it's a short distance to the ferry crossing over the St. Lawrence to Baie Comeau. After a long days drive, it sure was nice to check into this place. It is also located on the shore of the St. Lawrence and although it was cold and windy out it has a great view. The rooms were clean and decorated with a modern flare. No tub, just a walk-in shower which was nice, although I wish there was a door as it was difficult to shower and try to keep water off the floor. Free Wifii which actually worked. Mini-fridge, fullscreen flat TV on the wall, lots of lighting, night-lights for reading. We stayed on the first floor and a door to the parking lot which was handy as we had a lot of luggage. Shopping and restaurants nearby. We ate at the Bistro in the hotel. Service was quick, meals excellent but a tad on the pricy end. We were also storm-stayed due to weather and had no problem booking another room for the night. Would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor, with a door to the parking lot. You can back your vehicle right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Merci,

C’est toujours un plaisir de lire un commentaire aussi constructif que celui que vous avez rédigé au sujet de notre établissement, le Riotel Matane. J’ai personnellement fait suivre votre commentaire à l’équipe de l’hôtel, qui lui portera la considération qu’il mérite. Votre opinion est la clé de notre évolution, alors qu’il nous fournit des indices clairs et spécifiques sur ce que l’on doit continuer de travailler. Nous persévérons dans la satisfaction de nos clients et nous sommes désireux de vous héberger à nouveau lors de votre prochain séjour dans la merveilleuse ville de Matane... !
Sincèrement,

Stéphane Guy
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Modern and comfortable rooms. The bathroom is quite small but the shower is very nice. The only bad thing I can say is that we have to walk through the bar with our bathrobe to go to the outdoor spa in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0onBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Manager at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are essential for us to continue improving our services and so your comments will be transmitted to the concerned staff. We are entirely conscious that going through the bar in order to get to the hot tub is problematic.We are currently planning to fix the issue within reasonable deadlines so our installations can meet your and other customer’s expectations.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matane hotels
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 3 in Matane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
#6 of 7 in Matane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Love du Pionnier
Le Love du Pionnier
#3 of 7 in Matane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Matane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Matane

Property: Riotel Matane
Address: 250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Matane 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riotel Matane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Matane Hotel Matane
Riotel Hotel Matane
Matane Riotel Hotel
Riotel Matane Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing