We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Riotel Matane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riotel Matane
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here with a family of 5 on the way up north for one night. Although it is located on a busy road, this hotel is excellent value for money. Staff is very friendly and the hotel is nice, with large, well equiped rooms.

Room Tip: take on a room with view on the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kachtem8870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will make sure to transmit your positive comments to our Riotel Matane staff.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    152
    51
    23
    15
See reviews for
104
175
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We only stayed here as a stopover between Montreal and Gaspé, it was convenient as it is right on the main highway. We had one of the motel-like rooms on the water rather than in the main building. The room was fine, pretty basic hotel room, although the view on the water was lovely. Our only complaint is that we could hear our upstairs neighbours walking around and flushing their toilet, which woke us up in the morning. But we would recommend the hotel restaurant where we had dinner, the food was quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Manager at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear reviewer,
In response to your last assessment for Riotel Matane, we would like to inform you that the following renovations have been completed to improve comfort and quality of our customers’ stay in the « Pavillon sur Mer ». We have improved sound-proofing by putting concrete in between floors, replaced all rugs, and changed lights near bedings. The rooms are now more spacious due to the replacement of furniture with multi-funtionnal equipment as well as a 39 inch plasma screen tv. Riôtel Matane wanted to improve both comfort and convenience and so has added to every room duvet covers and every room is now accessible by a front door with magnetic cards. As of May 2013, the balcony will be divided with partition walls for more privacy.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegreville Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way through a tour of the Gaspe peninsula. The rooms are interesting as they are trendy in style. We had booked an ocean side room as we though that would be a nice addition to our trip. We were a little disappointed as our room was on the lower level which meant we seen the lawn and weeds from our basement window. They have an outdoor pool which looked clean, the fence around the pool could use a little weeding as it appears messy with the weeds growing up along the base. They have a small playground near the pool which is nice. Just outside our room in the hallway was the location for the chamber maid carts which I found was an odd place to keep them. This place was the most expensive hotel that we stayed at during our trip around the Gaspe. I don't think it was worth the money. The room was okay and clean but there was nothing spectacular about the place. Could use some tender love and care to spruce up the appearance.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view don't take the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firechief-JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked a night on the way home from Perce and were excited about the "Oceanview Pavilion" but found it to be less than good. It was hot and the only ventilation in our room was either the patio screen door which was so bent, it would not keep the flying pests out or the smaller casement window at the other end of the room. The only issue was the screen kept falling out of the window frame and because there is no a/c in these rooms, we were hot. The toilet ran so at 2 in the morning, I got up and closed the supply valve for it. The pillows are huge and would be good for someone with a really small head (like the guy in Beetlejuice)
The deck outside all of these rooms is very worn and weatherbeaten. I actually got a sliver from walking on it. I didn't think plywood could ever be so old looking.
This was a big disappointment because we had just spent three nights at the Riotel in Perce and thought it would be similar in comfort. I booked here because of the amazing experience we had at Riotel Perce. Hopefully they spend some money on this place because the oceanfront location is wonderful.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the main building unless you like the "cabin" feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comforteagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Manager at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear reviewer,
In response to your last assessment for Riotel Matane, we would like to inform you that the following renovations have been completed to improve comfort and quality of our customers’ stay in the « Pavillon sur Mer ». We have improved sound-proofing by putting concrete in between floors, replaced all rugs, and changed lights near bedings. The rooms are now more spacious due to the replacement of furniture with multi-funtionnal equipment as well as a 39 inch plasma screen tv. Riôtel Matane wanted to improve both comfort and convenience and so has added to every room duvet covers and every room is now accessible by a front door with magnetic cards. As of May 2013, the balcony will be divided with partition walls for more privacy.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The good points of this hotel: Up to date: new furniture, bedding, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, adequate lights, etc. Clean. Seaway views. Surprisingly good restaurant.
We would rate Riotel above average, except for the fact that the rooms/bathrooms are rather small although obviously laid out very well. Our French is not good and the desk staff's english is not much better. Neverheless we have stayed several times and would definitely stay here again. The food alone is worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a "split" airconditioning unit, in stead of "under-the-window"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontarian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at the Riotel Matane in February booked an executive room facing the ocean. The hotel was sold out due to a speed skating competition but we did not feel it, check in and check out was quick 10mins. The room was very nice the bed and pillow super comfortable. The Kurig system for the coffee is great.Nice dock in station radio for your I-Pod. We did not have any problem with the hot water but peoples from our group had no hot water on the saturday evening before dinner so they couldn't take a shower. Only one restaurant on site very expensive and you need to like fish and seafood no room service, however you can order from restaurants in the area. On the saturday for dinner we took the pasta buffet not sure if they always offer it, limited choices no green salad only a cold macaronie salad with your pasta plate!! Great dessert no fruits. Walking distance to the city of Matane. Will definitly stay again if need to return in the area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to share your impression with Tripadvisor community. We are glad to see that you have appreciated your experience in our hotel of Matane for different reasons.
Regarding hot water problems faced by others in your group, we have done work in February to meet optimally the needs of hot water when all the rooms of our hotel are occupied.
Furthermore, regarding our catering offer at "Le Grand Bleu", it seems that there was a misunderstanding and we are sorry about that. We offer at any time, our 3-course table d'hôte, from $24. Enjoy a contemporary menu featuring meat, pasta, fish and seafood dishes, including famous Matane shrimp. Also, we offer room service for dinner and breakfast.
The weekend of your stay, we also offered a 5-course table d'hôte, more expensive than the traditional one in the context of Valentine's Day. As for the pasta buffet, again, it was offered as an exception in so far as our hotel was hosting a speed skating team.

We thank you for choosing the Riôtel Hospitality Group. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Very comfortable and very accomodating staff . Snowmobile package out of touch with what most snowmobilers want -we ordered pizza (which was the best) from a local restaurant this time .

Room Tip: dont pay extra for water view in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matane hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 3 in Matane
200 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
0.4 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel La Marina
Motel La Marina
#7 of 7 in Matane
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
Hotel-Motel La Vigie
#6 of 7 in Matane
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Matane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Matane

Property: Riotel Matane
Address: 250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riotel Matane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riotel Matane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Matane Hotel Matane
Riotel Hotel Matane
Matane Riotel Hotel
Riotel Matane Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing