We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with a helpful, bilingual staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riotel Matane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riotel Matane
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
602 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with a helpful, bilingual staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stopped at this hotel during a trip to the Gaspé Peninsula and found it to be very conveniently located off the main highway. The hotel is easy to locate and there is ample parking. The staff is welcoming, courteous, helpful, and fully bilingual. The restaurants in the hotel offer a good dinner at a reasonable price. We were there for the lobster season and it was a good value. The room we had, a Trendy Room on the second floor, was large, clean, and tastefully appointed. The bed was comfortable and the rain shower was a nice feature. In summary, the Riotel Matane is a comfortable hotel offering very good accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for submitting a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor website. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your experience at the Riôtel Matane for different reasons and we will make sure to keep providing the same level of service for future visit!
We are also pleased to note that you enjoyed our "All-you-can-eat lobster" package, available in our 3 hotels in Matane, Percé and Bonaventure.
This special offer starting at $89 per person is an annual event and will be back next year from May 18 to July 13, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    144
    47
    22
    14
See reviews for
94
158
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna, Italia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed here one night at the beginning of our tour of the Gaspesie.
The hotel is on the outside Matane along the St. Lawrence across the street 132.
We had booked a room in the pavilion sur mer, but we were staying at the hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean, spacious and very quiet. Free Wifi throughout the hotel.
Along the river bank at guests' disposal there are chairs around fires to relax in the evening. There is also a small pool, but we have not had a chance to try it.
The breakfast is excellent.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantley, Qc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The hotel itself looks pretty dated form the outside, but the rooms seem to have been refurbished lately and are as advertised on their website. The staff at the reception were very helpful and professional. We liked that there was a hot tub on the premises that could be accessed from our room, though we did not use it, it was open until 11hpm. We found the price a bit high in comparison to other hotels on our trip ($132 total), but this was the nicest hotel which we stayed at. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie_c_vfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear reviewer,
Your feedback is much appreciated and we will transmit your positive comments to all our employees. We hope to serve your lodging needs in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

The hotel is direct located at the 132 East.

The room was large, clean, tv, small bathroom with shower. On the ground floor with direct access from parking.
Free internet is available in all rooms
The breakfast should be booked with the room and will cost about 10 CAD. Here you can then choose from the breakfast menu for free. Otherwise it must be paid.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergfex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear reviewer,
Your feedback is much appreciated and we will transmit your positive comments to all our employees. We hope to serve your lodging needs in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Had a 3rd floor room - beautiful modern style with King-size bed - incredibly comfortable. Sleep with the window open and the sound of the St. Lawrence. Great deal. Some of the best customer service ever from the front check-in staff. Very nice!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear reviewer,
Your feedback is much appreciated and we will transmit your positive comments to all our employees and we hope to serve your lodging needs in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente Maritime
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were disappointed by this hotel. The room was recently refurbished in contemporary style and was pleasant with comfortable beds, which is obviously the first thing that you look for in a hotel , but despite the efforts in decoration, the whole place just seemed like a jumped up motel trying hard to pass itself off as a four star hotel.
While there are all the services of a 4 star hotel, the place is located just off the main road north, and the 1980s motel style architecture and surrounding area ( despite the beach right in front) were downright depressing. It's no wonder the Riotel website doesn't show any significant exterior photos.
My daughters did enjoy the pool and jaccuzzi, although the former could do with a major overhaul : it had a strange soviet era Baltic coast feel to it....
We found the staff to be a little cold, particularly those at the front desk on arrival.It was almost as though we were disturbing them.
Finally, breakfast was decent but expensive for what we got, and served in the starchy dining room, albeit with a view of the Saint Lawrence.
All in all, this hotel was probably the most disappointing of all those on our 2 week tour of Quebec and the US, where we tried everything from a basic Travelodge to a true 4 star in New York.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innerkip, on
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We were using this hotel just as a stopover for one night. We were booked in the auxilary building which is also supposed to be non-smoking. We arrived late off the ferry and the hotel was pretty well full. When we went to our room in the 2nd building, as soon as we opened the door we were blasted with old cigarette smell. I am highly allergic to cigarettes and when I informed the front desk they told us to come and see them. The staff were very helpful and relocated us to a beautiful room on the 2nd floor of the main hotel. The room has been newly renovated and was directly on the waterfront. The auxilary building certainly needs to be retrofited before it can be advertised as a 'non-smoking' establishment as the room was not just recently smoked in but had been smoked in forever. However, the willingness of the staff to help us out in this situation and the pleasant way they dealt with us would make us give the riotel another chance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank da50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear customer,
We thank you very much for your comment. Your feedback is really appreciated and essential to continue to improve the quality of our services. As you know, our hotel is entirely non-smoking including the Pavillon sur Mer. Unfortunately, some of our clients don’t always respect this rule. The satisfaction of our clients is really our first goal and I am glad you’ve been able to experiment our employees efficiency and the comfort of our Tendance room. Be sure we’ll share your satisfaction with them.
Once again, please accept our apologize for the inconvenience and we hope we’ll have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matane
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 3 in Matane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
9.1 mi away
Auberge de Jeunesse du Manoir des Sapins
Auberge de Jeunesse du Manoir de...
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Felicite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Portage Motel
Le Portage Motel
#6 of 7 in Matane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Matane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Matane

Property: Riotel Matane
Address: 250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Matane 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riotel Matane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Matane Hotel Matane
Riotel Hotel Matane
Matane Riotel Hotel
Riotel Matane Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing