We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend night on the way to Gaspe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Bruine Oceane
Ranked #1 of 7 Matane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We spent just one night at the Auberge, but found it a delightful experience. The host was very friendly, and the room was lovely and quiet, and the breakfast was excellent. The town is a good place to spend the night if you are traveling between Quebec City and Perce. We had dinner at the Bistro St Georges, which was very busy on a Saturday night, but the food and service were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet/George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our spacious, well appointed and squeaky clean room (ours was L'éphémère), the charming premises, the terrific ambience, the warm and friendly hosts, the delicious breakfast, including one of the best cups of coffee I've ever had -- everything was absolutely wonderful. We give Auberge Bruine Oceane our highest possible rating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We selected this B&B based on 2 TripAdvisor reports, and enthusiastically recommend others stay here also. Marie-Line is an artist, her house is both comfortable and beautifully appointed, and she is a superb and enthusiastic cook. Incredible attention to detail; a warm woman with more than enough English for visitors who do not know French.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davebPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were a group of 6 adults on a 10 day motorcycle trip around the Gaspe and Les Iles de la Madeliene. The Auberge was our second night out and our best Inn of the trip. Marie-Lynn and Christian have done a wonderful job of restoring and refurbishing the old house. Each room is beautifully furnished and the bedding is top quality and freshly scented. The bath fixtures are top of the line, (all though a little difficult to figure out) and our stay was very comfortable. The breakfast was superb with fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh strawberries with a hint of ginger and maple syrup, eggs benedict with locally smoked salmon and even desert for breakfast, a light creme brule, all beautifully presented and decorated with tiny pansies and fresh herb sprigs. Definitely First Class. The Auberge is located across the street from the St Lawrance and also across the street from the Matane River. There are lots of places to take a morning walk and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oldhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My husband and I wanted to do the Gaspésie Péninsula for our vacation and we wanted to experience the B&B. We booked 2 night at Bruine Océane and it was more then we can even imagine. The room we had was called " Le Loft" and it was incredible. Marie-Line and Christian who own the B&B are marvelous. They know perfectly how to welcome their client and the breakfast.... incredible. They served a 4 services breakfast and we can easely see that it's made with passion and love for their clients. Even that they are really busy, they take the time to sit and talk with you. This B&B is classified 4 suns but I would easely classifed it with a 5 suns and won't hesitate a minute to suggest that place to people.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Finally, a new standard in Matane, my hometown and a city I like to visit as often as I can.

Most B&Bs in the area of Matane are out of the city center, but this one is right downtown and it is great. Newly renovated, it has nothing to envy to metropolitan or European B&Bs. There are only 4 rooms and they are all quite pretty (we had the "Coquelicot" room).

They serve a good breakfast and it is nice to walk out of the hotel and to be in a residential area but also only minutes away from what Matane has to offer. Granted, it is not that much, but it is quite enjoyable and it is nice to not have to get in the car.

There is "la promenade des capitaines", a paved walk path following the river; there is the St-Lawrence river, just minutes away; there are a few art galleries; there is the salmon interpretation center and also the "islands", a man-made group of islands in town where you can walk, cycle, skate, swim, play miniature golf, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadians-in-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SAUVADOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matane
0.4 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 4 in Matane
428 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 4 in Matane
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
51 reviews
21.9 mi away
Gite Grand-Pere Nicole
4.8 mi away
Le Love du Pionnier
Le Love du Pionnier
#3 of 7 in Matane
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Bruine Oceane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bruine Oceane

Address: 125, rue Druillettes, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matane
Price Range: $64 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Bruine Oceane 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Auberge Bruine Oceane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bruine Oceane Matane, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing