We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to look forward to all year!”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our oldest daughter (almost 5) asked all year to go to 'Clevelands House'. We were lucky enough to spend two nights this past week at Cleve's. Upon arriving we were promptly checked in. We stayed in the Fairway House, the small building next to the tennis court, shuffleboard court and swimming pools. You can imagine we were nervous that it may not be very quiet area. We were mistaken. It was an amazing location. We have three kids, so it was perfect to get to the pool, beach, or up to the playground. Only having one other family staying in the building was nice. Our kids quickly made friends. We were pleasantly surprised to see a new couch, beds, and blankets in our room. (New compared to last year) Although we noticed a few areas of the resort that could use a refresher, and some extra cleaning, it was only what my husband and I noticed. Our kids saw nothing but fun at every turn. We also noticed at 'Dukes' the restaurant that some of the staff were dressed a little less than professional, but again all our kids saw was ice cream. The resort has been around for over 100 years. It is bound to go through some changes. Those changes are apparent in the last three years. Each year we return we can see it, changing step by step for the better. New rooms, new programs, new facilities, new staff each year. As long as we all have some fun and rest, mixed with some good food, we are happy. We are Cleves lifers and hope to enjoy the changes each year. I know our kids will beg again next year to spend hours of fun in the ball pit.

Room Tip: When booking your room be sure to mention the dynamics of your family. Traveling with/without kids...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyKathyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Clevelands House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 401 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

The good: Staff is very friendly. The kid's program is fantastic. The view is gorgeous.

The bad: changes in the dining room are really not appropriate for week-long stays or large families. A surprise previously-undisclosed "resort fee" on checkout.

Cleve's has changed a lot in the past year. The biggest, and most problematic, was in the dining room, which has changed from a traditional resort-style "everybody eats at about the same time because all the food is ready then" to more of a "come in, we'll take your order, and then cook it for you."

This is a problem for two reasons:
(1) the menu is small and was the same every day and varied little between lunch and dinner. As a result, you end up eating the same things several times during the week. (In previous years, there were 5 different choices at every meal.)
(2) for larger families, especially with smaller children, the wait for food was unreasonably long -- on several occasions, it was more than 2 hours between sitting down and finishing.

Cleve's has changed ownership several times in the past few years and is apparently trying to change its image by attracting younger people just in for the day or for the weekend. However, I'm afraid that they're doing so at the expense of their traditional week-long base. The restaurant issue was one way this showed up. It also showed up in the decreased programming for week-long guests, moving away from shows to live music, the conversion of the hotel lobby to a bar, and a lot more, well, cleavage in the staff at Duke's.

I hope they get the new balance right, because I want to return. However, based on our experience this year, there's a strong chance that won't happen.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage on the lake. And bring some 100w light bulbs with you -- for some reason, the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cefumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Cleveland's House for the first time last weekend and was incredibly disappointed. I had frequented the resort many times for meals and such, but never paid much attention to the details. Our check-in was far from smooth and the reception area was absolutely filthy. Our room was also quite dirty, complete with bugs and mould in the shower. The washrooms by the pool were disgusting and the waterfront fencing was falling apart. We will never return and it is a shame that the new owners are letting an old gem slide downhill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellingcapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family has been coming to Cleve's for 5 summers. The stand alone cottages have ample room for a family of 4. The food has really improved this year. Our housekeeper Brandilea has been wonderful and always makes sure we have plenty of fresh towels. The kids camp is well run and my 7 year old & 9 year old enjoy the activities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Returned last Sunday from a weekend getaway (my third visit this year and still have a couple of more to go). You couldn't ask for a nicer, picturesque setting overlooking beautiful Lake Rosseau. As soon as I drove in I noticed the manicured lawns and gardens - everything is in bloom right now.

My favourite spot in the morning is to sit down by the lake in one of the Muskoka Chairs, watch the kids waterski, read the paper and have my coffee. I always enjoy the pool and sitting out in the nice loungers. Didn't get a chance to go the beautiful beach as all the chairs were taken (popular spot) - next time. This time stayed in a one bedroom cottage overlooking the beach - rustic but that's just fine with me!

Thanks to servers Lauren and Christine, my dining room (CJ Minetts) experience was good - food is really good and keeps improving everytime I am up. I would also like to give a big thanks to AJ my "personal" bell hop who is always more than happy to go out of his way for anyone. Staff are wonderful, including the "office group"!.

Can't wait to head back north next week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The resort offered a lot of well organised activities, which was great for all of us the kids enjoyed the fishing derby,the parks, the pool, the wide sandy beach and the water ski show on Monday was awesome.

For adults too the activities schedule was extensive - the morning tennis lessons with their head coach Gary and asst. coach Mandy were really helpful, the afternoon tennis round robins were a lot of fun as was the golf scramble. Most activities were free for guests except the classes like, yoga, tennis, etc. Also in the evening the entertainment schedule is pretty impressive with live music even midweek and we even attended a stand up comedy show one evening, thanks to the hall - baby sitting service they provided free of charge, a great idea.

The food was good both at the breakfast which was included and at their flagship restaurant CJ Minnetts, the entrees however were a bit expensive for the quality with steaks at $39.00/ plate, their sweet potato fries are a must have.

The only let down was the poor quality of the housekeeping and property maintenance departments, we had a few cobwebs in the room around the AC, better vacuuming needed to have been done and the linen really needs to be updated, one of our sheets had a 3 inch tear in the middle.

Overall a great experience. We will be visiting this resort again, hoping the rooms and linen are updated, across the lake Windermere resort sets a good benchmark for that.

Room Tip: We had a room with two double beds in the Manor House, the room was quite small, but we were only in...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Learnerforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our 4th time at Cleveland’s House and we continue to be big fans. They are going through a major transition having moved from an all-inclusive package to one where you have options on meals. In addition they have radically re designed the main dining room.

The renovations to the dining room are terrific and very much add a Muskoka feel, the menu has flair while continuing to be focused on families. Service is okay, a work in progress to be sure but this is their first year and no doubt they are ironing out issues and will.

I know a lot of folks have complained about the changes, most a resistance to change but what has become clear in talking to the manager is that to thrive and grow they have had to move with the times.

The rooms are still in need of upgrades and that appears to be next on the list - To use they are fine as they are clean and we don’t really care since you don’t go to a place like Cleve’s to hang out in the room, rather you go to enjoy the resort and the programs they offer.

From the water sports to the kid’s camp to the water park they continue to excel
The water park is a huge hit with kids as is Duke’s, their pub/bar/ roof top patio over-looking the lake.

Family programs such as the water ski show and fishing derby are huge hits.

Cleveland’s House is not a cheap date, but there is real value. If you are looking for a great spot to spend with your kids and family then Cleveland’s House is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srhasting1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.0 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
7.8 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
259 reviews
20.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: $109 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing