We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A changing resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clevelands House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A changing resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The good: Staff is very friendly. The kid's program is fantastic. The view is gorgeous.

The bad: changes in the dining room are really not appropriate for week-long stays or large families. A surprise previously-undisclosed "resort fee" on checkout.

Cleve's has changed a lot in the past year. The biggest, and most problematic, was in the dining room, which has changed from a traditional resort-style "everybody eats at about the same time because all the food is ready then" to more of a "come in, we'll take your order, and then cook it for you."

This is a problem for two reasons:
(1) the menu is small and was the same every day and varied little between lunch and dinner. As a result, you end up eating the same things several times during the week. (In previous years, there were 5 different choices at every meal.)
(2) for larger families, especially with smaller children, the wait for food was unreasonably long -- on several occasions, it was more than 2 hours between sitting down and finishing.

Cleve's has changed ownership several times in the past few years and is apparently trying to change its image by attracting younger people just in for the day or for the weekend. However, I'm afraid that they're doing so at the expense of their traditional week-long base. The restaurant issue was one way this showed up. It also showed up in the decreased programming for week-long guests, moving away from shows to live music, the conversion of the hotel lobby to a bar, and a lot more, well, cleavage in the staff at Duke's.

I hope they get the new balance right, because I want to return. However, based on our experience this year, there's a strong chance that won't happen.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage on the lake. And bring some 100w light bulbs with you -- for some reason, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cefumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    102
    74
    62
    56
See reviews for
222
66
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Cleveland's House for the first time last weekend and was incredibly disappointed. I had frequented the resort many times for meals and such, but never paid much attention to the details. Our check-in was far from smooth and the reception area was absolutely filthy. Our room was also quite dirty, complete with bugs and mould in the shower. The washrooms by the pool were disgusting and the waterfront fencing was falling apart. We will never return and it is a shame that the new owners are letting an old gem slide downhill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingcapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minett hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family has been coming to Cleve's for 5 summers. The stand alone cottages have ample room for a family of 4. The food has really improved this year. Our housekeeper Brandilea has been wonderful and always makes sure we have plenty of fresh towels. The kids camp is well run and my 7 year old & 9 year old enjoy the activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Returned last Sunday from a weekend getaway (my third visit this year and still have a couple of more to go). You couldn't ask for a nicer, picturesque setting overlooking beautiful Lake Rosseau. As soon as I drove in I noticed the manicured lawns and gardens - everything is in bloom right now.

My favourite spot in the morning is to sit down by the lake in one of the Muskoka Chairs, watch the kids waterski, read the paper and have my coffee. I always enjoy the pool and sitting out in the nice loungers. Didn't get a chance to go the beautiful beach as all the chairs were taken (popular spot) - next time. This time stayed in a one bedroom cottage overlooking the beach - rustic but that's just fine with me!

Thanks to servers Lauren and Christine, my dining room (CJ Minetts) experience was good - food is really good and keeps improving everytime I am up. I would also like to give a big thanks to AJ my "personal" bell hop who is always more than happy to go out of his way for anyone. Staff are wonderful, including the "office group"!.

Can't wait to head back north next week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The resort offered a lot of well organised activities, which was great for all of us the kids enjoyed the fishing derby,the parks, the pool, the wide sandy beach and the water ski show on Monday was awesome.

For adults too the activities schedule was extensive - the morning tennis lessons with their head coach Gary and asst. coach Mandy were really helpful, the afternoon tennis round robins were a lot of fun as was the golf scramble. Most activities were free for guests except the classes like, yoga, tennis, etc. Also in the evening the entertainment schedule is pretty impressive with live music even midweek and we even attended a stand up comedy show one evening, thanks to the hall - baby sitting service they provided free of charge, a great idea.

The food was good both at the breakfast which was included and at their flagship restaurant CJ Minnetts, the entrees however were a bit expensive for the quality with steaks at $39.00/ plate, their sweet potato fries are a must have.

The only let down was the poor quality of the housekeeping and property maintenance departments, we had a few cobwebs in the room around the AC, better vacuuming needed to have been done and the linen really needs to be updated, one of our sheets had a 3 inch tear in the middle.

Overall a great experience. We will be visiting this resort again, hoping the rooms and linen are updated, across the lake Windermere resort sets a good benchmark for that.

Room Tip: We had a room with two double beds in the Manor House, the room was quite small, but we were only in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Learnerforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our 4th time at Cleveland’s House and we continue to be big fans. They are going through a major transition having moved from an all-inclusive package to one where you have options on meals. In addition they have radically re designed the main dining room.

The renovations to the dining room are terrific and very much add a Muskoka feel, the menu has flair while continuing to be focused on families. Service is okay, a work in progress to be sure but this is their first year and no doubt they are ironing out issues and will.

I know a lot of folks have complained about the changes, most a resistance to change but what has become clear in talking to the manager is that to thrive and grow they have had to move with the times.

The rooms are still in need of upgrades and that appears to be next on the list - To use they are fine as they are clean and we don’t really care since you don’t go to a place like Cleve’s to hang out in the room, rather you go to enjoy the resort and the programs they offer.

From the water sports to the kid’s camp to the water park they continue to excel
The water park is a huge hit with kids as is Duke’s, their pub/bar/ roof top patio over-looking the lake.

Family programs such as the water ski show and fishing derby are huge hits.

Cleveland’s House is not a cheap date, but there is real value. If you are looking for a great spot to spend with your kids and family then Cleveland’s House is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srhasting1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have been popping in by boat for several years. Took friends there yesterday and was totally embarrassed by the state of this once lovely spot in the Muskoka's. Dock bumpers hanging in the water leaving there nails exposed, support beams and fence pickets badly rotted, Dukes restaurant bathrooms so disgusting it put us off our food. Then tried bathrooms in main building which were only slightly better. Stay far away from this establishment unless you are just going for the day to use the awesome water park they have for kids.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.0 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
19.9 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
20.3 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Property: Clevelands House
Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clevelands House 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole golf course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. They offer many different dining options from the newly renovated C.J. Minett's Kitchen and Tavern to Rock's on the Dock, serving gourmet burgers and shakes! Send the kids to their one-acre Day Camp for hours of learning and fun, the largest of its kind. For the grown-ups, the Adventure Program puts on over 120 events weekly! From bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing