We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!!”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I traveled to Cleveland's house in the middle of July with my son and nephew and we were very impressed with the entire facility. The Resort is very improved from the past years with the new renovations and has many fun activities to do! The tennis courts were in great shape and I had a great time playing in staff vs guests sports(basketball and volleyball). I was very impressed with the children's playworld, Meredith and Tristan went out of their way to make sure my nephew had a great time. The beach and pools were in great shape and were great places to read and relax. Although the new renovations were good, the food at CJ Minnets needs work. I was very disappointed in the pickerel and salmon. I highly recommend taking your family for vacation at Cleveland's House!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 406 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently stayed @ Cleveland's house for a week. The place is very run down. we had a LOT of little problems. The bright spot in this was Andrew and Cole ( bell hops) had a handle and corrected a lot of them. The kids camp was truly awesome. Matt and Jen were admired by the kids.The dining room turned into a full fledged restraunt. No more meal plan...Booo! However Liz and Christy (the twins) were the BEST servers ever! The prices are to high but the food is way better than the past few years. The room was kept clean and tidy thanks to Brandylee (north lodge). If it weren't for the staff trying to do everything in their power to make our stay a good one. I would have demanded a refund. The new concept is how many times can they stick their hands in my pocket. Used to be able to sign for drinks,Dukes, water sports and dinner. Now you best drive off resort for reasonable food and entertainment. What a shame such a beautiful place. Sorry to not return again. Is the hot tub fixed yet? We were told tomorrow every day and after seven days it still was not fixed.

Room Tip: The Marriott is new and almost the same prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our family came for a week away in early July and we were blown away by the new renovations! The dining room had been completely transformed and now had a more rustic and cottage like feel. The lighting however was poor and the front part of the dining room was too cold. Our server was a girl named Brook from Kingston who was absolutely spot on. She was able to provide specials for us, ensured we were enjoying our dinners and came back to check on us frequently. As well, she did an excellent job interacting with our children and was very personable with my husband and I. The program as well provided us with lots of activities to do and the kids were kept busy at all times! We are already anticipating our return in 2014!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevens1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hello and thank you for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community! We appreciate your kind words regarding our new restaurant and as well we appreciate your helpful suggestions about the décor changes and ways to improve it. We have already changed the lighting in our lounge based on your feedback and the same feedback from others. See you again soon! Jesse Hamilton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Yes the rooms are tired and the overall resort needs A LOT of TLC! A little maintenance and some caring grounds keepers and handy people could do a lot with the run down aspects. Call it rustic if you want, but I hope they follow thru with their promised renovations. The kids on the other hand seem to have a fantastic time. The childrens playworld program is amazing. My son's leader, Mallory went out of her way to make sure he had a great time. The talent show is so memorable and he is already asking to bring his friends next year. The pools in playworld are are awful - try to use the other 'public' ones. The beach with all the water toys were perfect and he loved climbing and sliding on those. The meals were ok - again, kids are not too picky. Its like summer camp & we go because he likes it - not because we are having a couples retreat. See you with the improved renovations next year!

Room Tip: The cottages around the beach area are nice, although the main lodge is closer to playworld & of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor Susan, we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you were so kind to our kids program and our attention to the little ones that stay with us. It is the most important part of what we do. Thank you. Clevelands House is a very historic resort and in some ways we are quite rustic. However, this year was the first year of a new renovation plan for the resort and we are happy to report that 2014 and 2015 hold some great renovation plans for our guests. Please stay tuned! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited Cleveland's house for the first time this past weekend and I was pleasantly surprised. There were several activities for my family to do together (tennis, shuffleboard, ping pong, golf) just to name a few. My family thoroughly enjoyed the on site restaurant, CJ Minetts. The recent renovations have created the perfect setting for a real Muskoka experience. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the food was delicious. Our server Rachelle was very organized while waiting on our family and knowledgeable of the events taking place that day which was very helpful as this was our first time at the resort. I highly recommend taking your family vacation at Cleveland's House!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stay two nights of clevelands house and our server kara-lynn was amazing. we had her the first day and decided to request her for the second night because she was so attentive and just fun to be around. The house itself need a bit updating. But the resort is beautiful with the Bakehouse just of property for breakfast and plenty of stuff to do to keep us entertained it was overall a nice vacation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I never write reviews but felt compelled this time due to our first time experience at "Cleve's".First impressions are everything and our room immediately disappointed.Very dated and tired looking old furniture.At $300/night I expect more.I see fellow reviewers rate the service with high regard.Our experience was that of forgetful staff at Dukes who often seemed disinterested even when they were not busy.I found it to be a smug, bordering on arrogant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hello Jon, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor. Comments like yours are very important to us. Clevelands House is a very historic resort and with that comes an incredibly charming, but not always perfect resort from the outside. We are terribly sorry we did not make your stay as memorable as we always hope to and I would welcome the to opportunity to speak with you more about your feedback and invite you back to try us for a night again. I have also spoken with our F&B team at DUKE'S and have passed on your comments regarding the service you experienced. My email is jesse@clevelandshouse.com, thank you. Jesse Hamilton. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#26 of 56 in Muskoka District
267 reviews
20.1 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Muskoka Lakes > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: $110 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing