We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Options Elsewhere”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked a week stay while we were having work done at our cottage. I was last here 25 years ago, although not staying, and thought it would be fun to stay at the one of the last of the old resorts.

Well, after one night of our week stay we left. The sunk cost didn't matter, there was just no way we were going to stay at a resort that truly looked and behaved like it has given up. Our first and only night was at Duke's watching the ski show, and then off up the road to the superb JW Marriott property. Next morning after a night in a small, filthy, and beyond dated room, not charming, early 80's hot mess we decamped for Windermere, the other old dame still in operation.

I would avoid this property until there is an interest in shutting it down for an extensive renovation. The current ownership is simply brokering on a name and reputation long long....long past.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 407 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have gone to Clevelands House for the past 5-6 years.
The rooms have become increasingly old, dirty and unacceptable (in fact they are about 20 years past their prime). The food has become progressively worse. The service this past summer was not acceptable and there has been a changeover in management from the Cornell family which has not gone well. The resort website to this day suggests the Cornell's are still running the resort which is extremely misleading to those who have gone in the past. It's unfortuante to say but it's almost as if the current management has no experience at all in running a family resort of this nature. They are decreasing service, not improving the guest rooms, making it hard in the coming year to plan meals with families and they still feel justified in increasing their rates. Essentially providing much less for more money. My simple suggestion is to stay away from Clevelands House. Rooms are dirty, food is bad, service is bad, management is even worse and it's not close to being worth the money. You'll be much happier somewhere else. Pains me to say all this because I used to think that Cleve's was a great family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Toronto86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for the last weekend of the season, so everything was shut down. We had a special deal with Jaunt and three of us (adults) shared a room. I have to agree with other reviewers that the whole place was rather shabby and in need of some painting and updating. However we could see that this would be a great place in the summer for families to come with their children. We enjoyed exploring the grounds, and there were obviously lots of activities arranged during the season, and plenty of opportunity to do things on site. I would definitely recommend this place for a family type holiday. It was also in a very pleasant location by the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our 4 and 2 year old girls for Thanksgiving 2012. We did have great difficulty booking our room: specifically we had booked a 2 bedroom with a king sized bed in one of the rooms, and they gave that away to someone else, which was incredibly disappointing (we learned that when we called a week or so before arriving). We settled on a room in the main hotel with a king sized bed and two doubles, however it was all one room. The bathroom was tiny, and overall the room needs to be renovated, but the room a good size, the view was lovely with a decent sized balcony. The second problem was that one of the selling features of CH was the offer of "hall sitting", where they have a sitter that locates herself in the hallway, allowing us to go out on the property without need to hire a sitter. This had been promised to us, but when we checked in, they said they weren't offering it! Fortunately they did fix that problem by covering the cost of babysitting by staff. They also paid for a bottle of wine at our first dinner, which was nice and also the right thing to do.
Food was quite good, but the waitress was not terribly attentive. The property overall is very nice. One real disappointment was that they had only one canoe for hire, and it sprang a leak so we could not go out. A place of that size should have multiple canoes, not one leaky one. Also on the positive side were the activities (frisbee golf, bocce ball), and they did fun things like a haunted house which was great for the kids (and us). We would come back, but hope that they address some of those concerns. I heard renos are in the cards over the winter - hopefully that will bode well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shovel_dodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at "Cleves" this past Thanksgiving Weekend with family and extended family (13 of us) for part or all of the weekend.

I had heard so much over the years about this upscale resort and was profoundly disappointed on arrival. The rooms we had were VERY OLD AND TIRED and not clean. Cob webs in the room and on the deck galore. The furniture is worthy of my dads basement from the 70's and I am not exaggerating.

The food we did receive was good. Service was slow due to not enough staff (not incompetence). Retrieving your own coffee at breakfast was a daily occurrence and while breakfast was to be served until 9:30am it was again a daily occurrence that items were run out of by 9:00am. The menu was also somewhat limited.

As an example of the overall cleanliness I will tell you about the bathroom in the arcade room. WOW! This bathroom had not seen a cleaning product in weeks! Literally fecal matter all over the toilet seat and I am not speaking about a speck, I mean a lot and it wasn't like just for one day. It was there the whole weekend! If you wanted to go the the bathroom during a meal you had better get your running shoes on. To go to the bathroom you had to go down the stairs, through the gym and use the bathroom in the gym!

The views and grounds are awesome and the entertainment was good especially the Friday night as there was a one man band who was quite talented.

While this was a weekend covered by a generous relative I heard what the cost was and it was insane for what was received. This place is living on a reputation that it obviously used to have but that will not last as the general consensus in speaking with other guests as well is that they will not be back. Horrible bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manny7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a good time in spite of the fact that we were pretty shocked at the accommodations. If we were paying regular rates, there would have been a problem. That being said, I would return as we ending up having a really good time. 2 adults, 1 daughter (25) and 1 son (16) all had fun. The games room, the family night movie, mini golf, the entertainment were excellent!

I would suggest to get the package as it was over $350- for 2 dinners for 4 people and 1 night we had a free bottle of wine with our package.

Staff in the restaurant did not attend to us properly. We did not have an assigned server so we sat there both nights for over 20 minutes and had to get the manager on both nights for dinner, who was very graceful and apologetic which was appreciated by us.

The night manager came personally to fix our cable which was not working and it took over 24 hours, but it was again appreciated by us. The night manager also told us that many renovations were in the works.

The singer in the bar was absolutely unbelievable. Very enjoyable.
There was always something to do for everyone (games room for the teenagers!)

I would go back with everything that happened. The summer must be a blast. We went for Thanksgiving and couldn't enjoy any water activities.

I hope they renovate and iron out the bugs in the dining room as it really was a lot of fun despite the problems.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This past summer we stayed at Cleveland House for the first time and loved it! If you are a family with kids under 12 years old, it's a great place to stay. What we really liked about the place is the kids program (our girls had a ton of fun in it), activities for parents (water skiing, tennis, golf) and food (dining hall food program is greatly improved). As well we found the staff to be great and customer focused.

Last year we drove to Smuggler's Notch for their well renowed resort for families but we have now learned that there is a better place just north of Toronto with a much shorter drive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
340 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 55 in Muskoka District
267 reviews
20 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Muskoka Lakes > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: $200 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing