We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting tennis destination!”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well, just returned from a Tennis Boot Camp at Clevelands House in Muskoka. The weather did not co-operate for the tennin unfortunately but I did get a chance to check out all the facilities. This is definitely a place for a Family holiday of any type. Great tennis facilities, beautiful beach, marina, dining room, swimming pools and hot tubs. It was very quiet as this is shoulder season, Canadian Thanksgiving is next big event then they close for the winter. i stayed in a cabin not far from the beach and it was very nice. Could sleep up to 5 using all the beds (queen and single in bedroom, queen hide-a-bed in the living room), all wood framed with two sinks which is a convenience if more than 2 people are staying there. Small refrigerator for keeping refreshments cool and excellent HD TV with lots of channels to chose from. Each cabin also has a large deck for entertaining guests. The lake is just beautiful, The Rock golf course is only 1/2 mile away and it is awesome. All meals are included in the fees and are served in the dining room. Food was excellent and very well presented, definitely not your run of the mill dining room. All staff were very friendly. In the height of summer I can imagine this place is very popular with the diversity of activities. It needs a little TLC (painting, etc) in some areas but not the season to be doing fresh painting and touchups, imagine that will happen in the Spring.

Room Tip: They have a vast variety of accommodation from rooms in a hotel, to seperate multi-room cottages to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eagle1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 404 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very tired looking property! There is absolutely no doubt that the view is spectacular but that is where it ends! The furniture is shabby in the registration office. The staff are moderatly friendly. No one knows what anyone else is doing. You would think if you check in to stay they would be serving meals..........we're not sure, let me check ..........really I drove 3 hours to eat somewhere else. They eventually did serve dinner but not lunch. Breakfast was beyond sad - twice we had to ask to have the buffet replenished and they restaurant had less than 20 people in it. The buffet food was not appetizing. The servers were slow and disengaged.

Overall it was NOT a great experience. I understand this is low season but it doesn't excuse the lack of care. The night before (Saturday) they had had a wedding and at 3:00pm on Sunday the ladies washroom upstairs in the lodge still was in total disrepair. Paper towels all over the floor, a toilet paper dispenser broken and the place just a mess. Every one you could find seem to have 'a job' just not one that made a difference. Our room was nothing to write home about. The bathroom had mold in the bathtub surround and there were old cobwebs on the window sill behind the bed.

This was definitely not worth the money. On checkout no one asked how our stay was......remember the whole place is staffed by 'kids'. It's very sad for what could be a lovely place.

Room Tip: We had a lake view which would have been better if they took the time to prune the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Buttonsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent the Labour Day weekend at Cleveland's House with our three boys, ages 7, 8 and 12. We had heard about this resort from a number of people and decided this was the year to give it a try. While we had a great time away as a family and enjoyed a lot of activities, I didn't feel the resort provided enough value for the cost. As many reviewers have already stated, the rooms really need to be updated and cleaning could be better. The washrooms at the pool and in the main Inn were all very poorly maintained. They smelled bad, toilet paper holders were broken, and paper overflowed the baskets and littered the floors. Service in the dining room was also not very consistent. We tended to get our meals fairly quickly at lunch, but dinner often took a long time with some of our meals coming out long before others. The food was good though and the servers were clearly all trying their best. We did really enjoy the resort amenities - we played golf, tennis, badminton, used both pools, the water park, and we water skiied and tubed as well as rented sea doos. The pool area was nice, although both pool areas had hot tubs that were closed. Overall, we enjoyed our time away as a family, but there were a number of shorfalls with the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sunseeker12011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The two rooms we had were dirty. The screens on the doors were ripped. The sheets did not fit the beds properly. There was a constant shortage of towels. The phone, the TV and the lamp did not work in one of the rooms. After a phone call to the front desk did not result in any repairs, we went to the main office and we're assured these would be fixed; they were exactly the same when we left. The service in the dining room was awful and there was a constant shortage of food, glasses and cutlery. There were two menus (one for lunch and one for dinner) which were not very creative. If you didn't like the few specials you had little choice. The children's menu was worse (only one menu for lunch and dinner) and had no healthy options. The serving staff were openly critical of management, which we thought was really unprofessional. We have been coming to the resort since 2002, but we will not return any time in the near future.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
8  Thank Balsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor. We are very sad to hear that you will not be back to visit us again soon. From all of us here at Clevelands House, thank you for spending so many family vacations with us, it certainly means a lot. I will address your comments with our Front Desk and maintenance team as we pride ourselves on making right any issues our guests may experience in their rooms. I am sorry we did not do so for your family. As you know from having spent so many years with us, we are currently redesigning all of our menus and dining options and will be opening next year with a new F&B option on our Main Beach as well as a further expanded menu and hours (open all day!) in our restaurant. I am positive you will be very happy should you choose to return again in the future. We would be very happy to see you. I happy to be reached directly at jesse@clevelandshouse.com and would do all I can to welcome you back again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently spent two nights at Cleveland's House as a couple with two teenage boys. Given the cost I was amazed at the state of the rooms. They are decades overdue for refurbishment and there is a sense that there isn't the money to keep the buildings an acceptable state of repair. Cleaning could be improved as well - dusty staircases cannot have escaped anyone who walked up and down them. It leave's a bad impression.
Food is okay to good - It is mass catering so expect what you might receive at a 200 person wedding reception and you'd be close to the mark. There are chipmunks in the dining room - I think this was viewed as part of the charm by the staff, and for the most part by diners; kids liked to see them.
Service was good, provided by willing if inexperienced staff.
The grounds are nice, and our boys were old enough to roam and they enjoyed themselves with the variety of activities.
I took part in a tennis clinic and a round robin - these were well run by pleasant and engaged tennis coaches.
Overall, if you take the attitude that happy kids make happy parents on vacation, then it's ok, but the shabby state of the buildings really detract from the experience and I wouldn't return given the expense until I hear of a major refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RayMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your "Cleves" experience with the Trip Advisor community. First and foremost, thank you for sharing your positive comments as they pertain to the resort property and our programming! As you may have heard while you were with us, we will be further improving our F&B options next year, adding a snack area on our Main Beach as well as a new menu, with more choice and variety in appetizers, entrees, desserts, and meal times (restaurant open all day!). With regards to our guest rooms, we admit that some rooms are more historic than others. However, many of our guests, no matter what room they have are happy to stay where they do given all of the other facilities and services we offer. That said, we are happy to share with everyone that our yearly room improvement program (which included new decks, new furniture, and 4 fully redecorated suites this year) will continue year after year and we are already working on our plans for 2013. We welcome to chance to have you back to visit us again soon. Jesse Hamilton, General Manager, jesse@clevelandshouse.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Travelled to Clevelands House for one night with our two five year olds and another family with a six year old on an internet deal. Checking in was smooth - our room wasn't ready but we were given wristbands to start using the resort. Had lunch at Duke's - good food but had to wait a while as it was packed. Got in our room about 4:00 - it was great compared to some of the other reviews I have read. During our stay we used the pool, playground/play structure, mini golf, ping pong, shuffleboard. We went to the beach and attempted the waterpark, but didn't get out that far. The campfire with the two singers was great - our kids were singing along and enjoyed it very much.

Had dinner at Duke's - had the Woody burger - very good but messy. We did see chipmunks in the dining room at breakfast, which was not a surprise after seeing other reviews, it was a little strange. Breakfast was fine - buffet with the things you would expect. We had lunch on our check out day at Abbey's bakery - awesome baked goods but fairly pricey. When we left our kids were saying they wished we were staying for two nights instead of one. We would go back again, as there is tons for kids to do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and great review! We are so happy you and your family made the most of the resort, our facilities, and everything Muskoka has to offer. That is Clevelands House Resort and it's best! A great big thank you from all of us at Clevelands House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have been visiting Cleveland's house for 3 years and I have to say it's the best week we spend with our family. Having an 18 year old and 3 year old the programs available are so diverse and fun that the kids are busy all week, leaving us parents the opportunity to relax and enjoy ourselves at the same time. The staff are always available, helpful and friendly. We have stayed in both the main hotel and cottages and they are always clean and the cottages fully equipped so you don't have to miss the comforts of home. We love how Cleveland's House keeps with the real tradition of Muskoka. The food and scenery were equally great. After spending a glorious week there we found 1 problem....we had to leave!!! Can't wait for our 4th year, see you next year Cleveland's House...keep up the awesome job!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Our thanks (from everyone here at Clevelands House) to you and your family for sharing your positive comments about our resort here on Trip Advisor. As a parent myself, I know how important it is to find time for family and we are so happy you found that time with us in Muskoka. Hope to see you again soon. Jesse Hamilton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
334 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 56 in Muskoka District
262 reviews
20.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: $109 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing