We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant & enjoyable weekend”
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clevelands House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Reviewed August 6, 2012

After our disappointing experience in 2011, we were overwhelmed at the improvements they have made in the past 12 months. Our room was spotlessly clean, the meals were amazing, their staff were very professional. Their grounds are immaculate. A great water ski show one evening--free entertainment. Abbey's bakery is a great additon this year as well. The new outdoor lounge area on the deck is wonderful . The free wine event in this area was a great idea. Everyone enjoyed this event
We want to return next summer for a full week & bring our daughter & her family along with us.
That should be a great Muskoka vacation for all six of us together for a week of fun in the sun.
Cleves is now once again Muskoka's number one family resort. Way to go guys.

Room Tip: Our cottage was in a quiet area that was very close to the lake. Ideal for us seniors as it was away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Hello Dennis. It was great to see your review and wonderful to hear we have made a difference in your opinion of the resort. Having you and your family return to visit us again is simply icing on the cake. We appreciate your kind words and your support. See you soon. Our sincerest thank you! Jesse Hamilton. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 406 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just got back from a one-week stay at Clevelands House with our whole family, all 10 of us (6 adults, 4 kids). We had a fabulous stay but the place looks run-down and needs work. Our room was in the North Lodge facing the lake, another family was in the same building and the
third one was in Fairway House. Some of the accommodation would need to be updated esp.
the bathrooms. Our bathroom was sometimes noisy, the plumbing in the other suite was fixed by my son-in-law but the third cottage was just recently refurbished. The grounds were sometimes left untidy and some of the garbage were not picked up (dirty dishes, empty beer bottles,dirty towels etc.) The carpet in the hallway of the North Lodge was buckling in a way that you can easily trip and hurt yourself. The menu was always the same, however, there would be chef's specials everyday. We can't complain about the food as it was generally
tasty. There were some occasions when we had to wait for our meals and especially if there's small children, it's really not acceptable . Our server tried hard to give us good service but there were times when we got frustrated. This place is otherwise a gem serving everyone's needs from the children's camp to adult tennis. We would like to consider going back next year but if these issues are not resolved we may have to look somewhere else. The tennis courts that are used for the lessons and round robins are cracked and could be dangerous. A couple of times I had to call Housekeeping for our room to be cleaned and this was around 3pm. This was just our second year but some people we met have been coming year after year, however, they always expect that things might improve but also have been disappointed. Also. as a suggestion the pool area could use some umbrellas. Another complaint about the dining room is that sometimes they would run out of something, like ice cream, egg whites etc. as an example.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disgruntled62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our resort. I know you have mentioned a few areas for improvement, which we certainly appreciate but I first would like to thank you for your comment, "the place is otherwise a gem, serving everyone's needs". It is great to hear that although you have some feedback for us that you and your family had a great stay with us overall. All of your comments, those pertaining to our service in the Dining Room and those with regards to the age of some of our facilities are most helpful in helping us to determine where we need to focus. We have already begun by hiring a new Chef and designing new menus and hope to have a full overhaul to our Dining Room in 2013. We plan to continue investment in the resort every year and we hope you will come back again to see what improvements we have made. Please do not hesitate to contact me at jesse@clevelandshouse.com. Thank you. Jesse Hamilton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just got back from Clevelands House Resort and we had fun! Lots of it! We were only there for the day but as far as day trips go, it was amazing. Being that we were not staying there, we purchased a day pass to the resort and also paid extra to have our kids join in the day camp. I can tell you one thing for sure, the day camp must be the #1 reason people stay there. Our kids never wanted to leave. We stayed for the Monday night waterski stunt show and our kids had a blast. We had dinner on their patio and it was amazing. We also grabbed a burger at the burger joint for lunch, I think it was called Duke’s, and the food there was just as good. The resort in beautiful. It is historic that is for sure but if we didn’t live close by, I would book a room there for sure! It was a mini-mini vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you and your family enjoyed your day with us at the resort. We would be happy to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Clevelands House is a perfect family vacation. The kids program is worth every penny you will spend on your holiday. Not only does it give parents a break, the kids LOVED it and wanted to be there all the time. I had to convince them to come and hang out with us. The dinning room food was good. Next time I would give the kids dinner and then hire a babysitter so my husband and I could go to the dinning room on our own. The beach was clean and well groomed with enough shade for us.

Room Tip: As a family we stayed in a 'suite'. Rooms that have an extremely large bedroom with a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mommyKathyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Once again, our vacation was fantastic! There is something for everyone at Cleves which is what makes it such a fantastic vacation destination. Cal and Val keep everyone hopping while you're there, and the rest of the staff (including Beth at the new patio bar) were very friendly and inviting. The kids camp and counselors are fantastic. Love reconnecting with other families every year. By far, my kids' favorite vacation spot. We love the new menu too! Looking forward to our sixth year in 2013!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you Clare! Your fifth year, how awesome! And, this is your second review of Clevelands House on Trip Advisor. You must really like us :) Thank you so much for your kind words! See you again soon. Jesse Hamilton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are just back from this Resort and my kids had a great time. My husband and I were there to relax mostly and we did. We had a great server for the first two days, her name is Amelia but after that the service was not so great. They changed the server and our table and seems there was always some kind of confusion with who was suposed to be servicing the table; many times after that the table was not ready. The food was great for me, excellent dinner ( trout and lamb) and breakfast. The North lodge rooms we stayed in can do with some renovations. These rooms are at the perfect spot but I would not consider staying in them again unless they are renovated. My 6yrs old son was constantly freaking out at the spiders in the room. The patios can do with some brushing of the spider webs. All in all it was good and we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: North Lodge rooms are close to all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive comments posted for all to see! We really do appreciate it. We are so happy you and your family had a great time in Muskoka. We hope to see you again soon. Jesse Hamilton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are long time fans of Cleveland's House. The children's program is well run and the staff are very enthusiastic and they make sure your children have a great time. They have also made some changes in the last few years and we think they are all for the better. Dukes Grill/Bar has great food and they added some favourites this year that were missing last year. Also, the quality of the new food in the dining room was amazing!! The service was good, all of the food for the table came out together at the same time and hot. We also really liked the breakfast buffet. The staff are always willing to help and make things right. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We were a group of 6 adults and we had a 3 bedroom/3 bathroom cottage on the golf course. Lots of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rigatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed the new food and our new menu! We can't wait to have you back with us again! Jesse Hamilton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
17.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
133 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range: $217 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelands House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole Easy Golf 2.0 course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. For the grown-ups, there's bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered. WELCOME TO A NEW ERA It’s a new era here at Clevelands House and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you. We’ve been busy over the winter season with a multi-million dollar investment into this historic resort on the shores of Lake Rosseau. These renovations are aimed at restoring our iconic summer resort's main building to it’s original splendour. Big changes have taken place in the main building's interior and new guest rooms invoking the original charm of Clevelands House are now available and are some of the most desirable here at Cleves. With the renovations of the main building, comes The Lakehouse, a new dining experience here at Clevelands House. Founder and celebrity Chef Randy Feltis says “The Lakehouse will follow a few simple rules: fresh fare, heartily cooked, with zero processing.” On the water, PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint will be a welcome addition to the Boathouse at Cleves. Within walking distance is Abbey's Bakehouse location to help satisfy all your sweet cravings. Home of the famous Cleves Kids program, there something for kids of all ages to enjoy. With experienced councillors and lots of water time, our kids camp are sure to be the highlight of any kids summer. Whether you are looking to relax outside, play a round of golf or take in our famous waterski show we have something for you to do this summer. Memories are made at a place like this. Experience the incredible this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing