We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Ontario...move over Delta/Deerhurst/Taboo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best in Ontario...move over Delta/Deerhurst/Taboo.”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

By far the best property in Ontario. I stayed five nights with my wife and two kids (a three and four year old). Stayed in a one bedroom looking out towards the marina side. Too bad trees block the view of the lake. Hard to get the lake view rooms. But still it was a beautiful room! Top quality construction on this entire property...all the rooms and common areas. Very beautiful common areas. Great pool area. Food and drinks are served at the pool. Most of the food is homemade! Not from frozen like most Ontario restaurants. Home made fries in Ontario can be rare these days. Kids loved the chicken strips with the fresh cut fries. Kids meals $10. Rather pricey food and drinks at this property. The food is overall well worth it though. Our first night the burgers came out completely burned so I sent the food back. Called the food and beverage manager the next day who corrected the problem with a refund of our meals. The rest of our meals were excellent. It sure wouldn't take much after a bad first meal to just go into Port Carling each day instead of eating on site. But we gave it another try and were happy we did!
Had the Lobster mac and cheese and a chicken ceasar one night for room service and were very happy with the quality. Great breakfast buffet! Beautiful restaurant! Didn't try the Italian restaurant. We will next year as the kids are starting to try new foods. Found the hotel staff amazing! I am sure earlier reviews noted poor training....well I have to mention most of this seems to have been corrected since every server and staff on the property were fantastic! From the snack shop/Starbucks staff to the bell hops and also the front desk. All throughout the week all the staff were very friendly and so helpful. The spa looks beautiful but the prices were way out of line so we didn't bother. Fantastic gym for working out with four top of the line treadmills, two eliptical and two stair climbers. Free weights are a huge plus! Too bad this area has no steam room or sauna ...only if you use the spa will you have access to a steam room. To me this is a big oversight considering they put so much attention to other details.
Free parking just down the hill. I am surprised they didn't charge $20 a day for the parking since they charge plenty for everything else here. Canoes $30 an hour and motor boat for the day $600. Most activities set you back here. KIds room only open on the weekend? Common! Thursday it was raining and they let us use their "kids" room...what a joke...had a couple of toys in a conference room. This is why I like the Weston hotels that have special kids/tots rooms to go into and play. NO games room either. Very surprising once again! Tots/kids play room and a games room (billiards ping pong etc) is the mainstay for many Muskoka resorts. What is there to do in this place on a rainy day for kids....and lately it rains many days in the summer in Ontario. The WESTON Trillium house in Blue Mountian is excellent for families when I consider some of the things missing at the Rosseau. I rate The ROSSEAU tops for the "high end" hotel experience....though it felt distant from the lake and the high prices for food and small drinks come with the experience. Overall, resorts in Ontario are priced way out of wack compared to the U.S. Try a stay at this resort if you are STUCK vacationing in Ontario. As more resorts and hotels open in Ontario it will make them more competitive and offer more services for free and bring their prices down. The Rosseau Marriott is the best Ontario has to offer these days! It totally blows away the overpriced and somewhat outdated Deltas, Taboo and Deerhurst resorts. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    313
    148
    61
    63
See reviews for
438
439
12
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The the shore by the lake is a construction zone.....hard hats and work boots only. When we checked in they told us we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom because we were staying for 4 days....How nice.....after we saw the room didn't have a view of the lake like we requested, they told us they gave our room away. The next day we got our room overlooking the lake and the construction site. We woke up every morning to hammers, saw's back up alarms from heavy equipment....unbelieveable.
This should be called the excuse hotel, all they had were excuses. 2 1/2 hours for dinner, because the waiter had to get our order's do again...forgot to order our dessert, every morning we had to correct or dinner bill from the night before, because they kept charging us for coffee even though its part of the dinner package.

To many more to mention.....this resort ruined our honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
higganum, ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I've noticed that the only less-than-stellar reviews come from folks who stayed more than a few days. I understand.
First, the positive:
1. Location: gorgeous. Beautiful lake, beautiful area.
2. Great staff: Every person oon the staff has been hugely friendly, helpful etc.
3. Beautiful rooms: Lovely King studio view of the entrance rather than the lake. That's ok.
4. Food has been really good and we are hard markers on this. From the pastry available in the market to Tecca's fabulous meals. Wonderful..

Cons:
1. No al fresco dining or cocktails. Although "The Deck" is advertised on line and is even in the in-room directory as if it exists - it doesn't. No cocktails available on pool deck. Only on the 3-steps-below whatever deck. There isn't much seating on this level and most of the seating is taken up by towels someone left hours ago. Surely this is costing the resort money... and lots of it. No meals overlooking the lake. Frankly, the lake might as well not be there while you eat. BIG drawback.
2. Red Leaves activities seem not to be connected to the hotel; Again, not what was expected. When a planned/reserved activity was cancelled, we were notified when we arrived. No apology, no explanation. Simply " we're not doing that this week." Unfortunately, this was THE thing I wanted to do on this vacation. Simply not happy.

I would give this place another year to get their act together.
Another note this is the second Marriott property we've visited this year whose outdoor restaurant was not open. Completely changed both trips - not for the better!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank eileen2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Overall our experience was great and exceeded our expectations. Location of the hotel is a little remote but the view of the is amazing. Rooms were very large, had a kitchenette with microwave, stove, and sink which was nice. Bathroom was very large and very nice as well. All of the staff were very friendly (as were the other guests). In terms of the restaurants - we were planning to go to the Italian place but when we got there they said there was a 1.5 hour wait (at 7pm on a Thursday night, so I guess the place must be good). We just ordered off the small plates menu in the bar area - food was very good and prices were reasonable. Breakfast was ok, and was a little overpriced. The waterfront area is still under construction but there is a trail where you can walk down to the water - theres a marina there where you can rent boats, kayaks, etc. You can tell that the hotel is new -everything in the hotel is really nice - gym, spa, outside patio, rooms, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben4884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My husband and I spent a Saturday night at the Marriott in Minett in June. The hotel is perfectly located on top of a hill overlooking Lake Rosseau. Luckily it was a beautiful day - perfectly blue skies dotted with white, puffy clouds! It was also the perfect day for the wedding that took place on the main balcony.

I think the hotel has only been open for 8 months, so the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Unfortunately, service is less than par. I concur with the other Trip Advisor comment - it seems they hired the local kids to run the hotel.

There were numerous problems at check-in. We booked a rate that included both the movie tickets and breakfast; however, upon check-in, none of the staff could decipher the promotion code. It took about 4 hours to get that resolved.

Housekeeping service also took about 2 hours to get a toothbrush! Service definitely needs improvement, but I expect these are growing pains for a new hotel.

Toiletries were surprisingly nice. The brand we had was Nirvae. Their catalogue also shows the "Bath and Body Works" toiletries. Hopefully, they will stock their rooms with the latter in the near future.

We highly recommend having dinner at the Italian restaurant. When they say "home-made Italian food," they weren't kidding. This is the best home-made Italian food I have had at any restaurant!

All-in-all, we had a lovely time at the Marriott, and are considering making this our get-away for the years to come. Hopefully, the service will have improved by then.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed for five days here and found the property to be Perfect. EVERYONE, including the staff and chef at Teca, was friendly and just wonderful. The chef at Teca made a special all beef sauce for our family on two different occasions. Stephanie and others were so helpful in planning our daily escapades. My husband and I traveled with our two sons, ages 21 and 23, on their college break. We were hoping that they would enjoy the trip as much as we knew we would. They had a great time, fishing, mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and golfing. The weather was perfect (a great escape from the Florida heat) and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing, refreshing, getaway. We would definately recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ternip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I just stayed at the Rosseau for three nights with my husband and we had an amazing time! The Rosseau was everything it represented in the website photos / description and more. The entire resort was absolutely stunning, the rooms were beautifully furnished / decorated, the views were spectacular, the food was excellent and the staff were super-friendly. We felt absolutely pampered and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an indulgent, relaxing vacation in the heart of beautiful Muskoka.

If I had to point out one small reservation or 'heads-up' to give others thinking of booking this resort is that I didn't realize how many young children would be there...Being for our anniversary, we were understandably looking for romance, relaxation, quiet, and for that reason ruled out other resorts that appeared to be more 'kid centric' or that were explicitly targeting families with children. Not that it ruined our experience at all, but just be prepared that the pool will inevitably be dominated by kids doing what they do - splashing around and making noise. But then again, if I were a parent, the fact that such a luxurious resort caters to kids would definitely be a big plus.

All in all, an amazing experience and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Web_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
21.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
217 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
23.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing