We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

My husband and I spent a Saturday night at the Marriott in Minett in June. The hotel is perfectly located on top of a hill overlooking Lake Rosseau. Luckily it was a beautiful day - perfectly blue skies dotted with white, puffy clouds! It was also the perfect day for the wedding that took place on the main balcony.

I think the hotel has only been open for 8 months, so the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Unfortunately, service is less than par. I concur with the other Trip Advisor comment - it seems they hired the local kids to run the hotel.

There were numerous problems at check-in. We booked a rate that included both the movie tickets and breakfast; however, upon check-in, none of the staff could decipher the promotion code. It took about 4 hours to get that resolved.

Housekeeping service also took about 2 hours to get a toothbrush! Service definitely needs improvement, but I expect these are growing pains for a new hotel.

Toiletries were surprisingly nice. The brand we had was Nirvae. Their catalogue also shows the "Bath and Body Works" toiletries. Hopefully, they will stock their rooms with the latter in the near future.

We highly recommend having dinner at the Italian restaurant. When they say "home-made Italian food," they weren't kidding. This is the best home-made Italian food I have had at any restaurant!

All-in-all, we had a lovely time at the Marriott, and are considering making this our get-away for the years to come. Hopefully, the service will have improved by then.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    310
    145
    60
    61
See reviews for
432
429
12
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed for five days here and found the property to be Perfect. EVERYONE, including the staff and chef at Teca, was friendly and just wonderful. The chef at Teca made a special all beef sauce for our family on two different occasions. Stephanie and others were so helpful in planning our daily escapades. My husband and I traveled with our two sons, ages 21 and 23, on their college break. We were hoping that they would enjoy the trip as much as we knew we would. They had a great time, fishing, mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and golfing. The weather was perfect (a great escape from the Florida heat) and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing, refreshing, getaway. We would definately recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ternip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

I just stayed at the Rosseau for three nights with my husband and we had an amazing time! The Rosseau was everything it represented in the website photos / description and more. The entire resort was absolutely stunning, the rooms were beautifully furnished / decorated, the views were spectacular, the food was excellent and the staff were super-friendly. We felt absolutely pampered and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an indulgent, relaxing vacation in the heart of beautiful Muskoka.

If I had to point out one small reservation or 'heads-up' to give others thinking of booking this resort is that I didn't realize how many young children would be there...Being for our anniversary, we were understandably looking for romance, relaxation, quiet, and for that reason ruled out other resorts that appeared to be more 'kid centric' or that were explicitly targeting families with children. Not that it ruined our experience at all, but just be prepared that the pool will inevitably be dominated by kids doing what they do - splashing around and making noise. But then again, if I were a parent, the fact that such a luxurious resort caters to kids would definitely be a big plus.

All in all, an amazing experience and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Web_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

My experience at the Rosseau recently was so different from the reviews posted here it makes me wonder if it was staff who posted bogus rave reviews on this web site.

My thoughts:

Property: beautiful. The place is in bankruptcy so they still have to complete landscaping (because there was no money to complete it sooner) + some buildings at the water's edge. I mention this because there is constant construction work/noise going on that starts early each morning.

Rooms: nice, no question. We had 2 x 2 bedroom suites.

Service and staff: under-trained, totally uninformed – terrible. Everything from the time I booked went wrong due to staff error and misinformation. It is a though they pulled some young kids off the street put them in uniforms and told them to go to work. Seriously it is that bad. Room service 1 hr late, billing errors, spa appt errors, room not made up until 4 PM in spite of 3 requests to do so … on and on.

Advice: stay away until next summer when surely they will have these problems worked out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank torontoharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed at The Rosseau over Fathers Day weekend.

First thing to say - the resort is beautiful. Rooms are big and welcoming, and you can tell this is a relatively new hotel.
Grounds are still being worked on, but fantastic pool area (2 of them - 1 is indoor/outdoor and the other is fully outdoor).
Beautiful views over the lake,
It was a rainy day when we arrived so we just chilled in the room.
They have cable/satellite - big flat panel tv's so if you want that kind of entertainment no problem. They also have a library with games and books to borrow - that's what I choose and made myself comfortable.
The room had a wonderful king size (oh so comfortable bed), full couch (was a pull-out) and chair. Full kitchen facilities including hot plate, fridge, dishwasher, dishes, glasses you name it. Separate tub and rainfall shower.

There were two weddings there - an absolutely great place for it.
Two nice restaurants - recommend the Italian for the evening - wonderful food.
They did have a number of things to do, including being attached to a nice looking golf course, had a spa (would have been nice to have a tennis court or two).
Appparently some sections are still under construction -- being that it was raining the day we went there, didn't notice that.

One thing that surprised us was that people reserved the terrace area overlooking the lake for breakfast. Never would have thought of that - so there's a tip for you if you want a great view while eating in the Cottage restaurant.

It is a ways from Bracebridge or Huntsville, so basically other than the bar and your own entertainment it was quiet (that suited us fine). They may have more activities over the summer.

We fully enjoyed it and would return again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorontonianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

We just got back from a great stay at the Rosseau. We had a wonderful time and have a lot of positive things to say about the resort. However, we did encounter some problems which I will mention in this review.

The Pros:
1) Absolutely beautiful resort! The courtyard at the main entrance is gorgeous. The rooms were spectacular from the furnishings, to the cleanliness, to the extras at turndown service each night. I felt so comfortable in our room and LOVED the beds. The main lobby is just lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed wandering the halls and admiring the various Muskoka themed pictures on the walls. The word "breathtaking" comes to mind. Lake Rosseau is quite beautiful, so we really enjoyed the view outside whenever the weather cooperated.

2) The staff. Wow! Everywhere we turned from the moment we entered the resort, until the moment we left, we were met with smiling friendly faces. Everyone seemed so eager and willing to make our stay a pleasurable one.

3) The gym/pool/jacuzzi. Wow! The gym is equipped with state of the art equipment including free weights, cardio equipment and everything else in between. They had staff on hand who were more than willing to help you with the machines, give you a fruity water drink or a cool scented towel. The indoor/outdoor pool was a great temperature with comfortable lounge chairs, and the outdoor jacuzzi just couldn't be beat (even when it was raining or chilly outside!).

4) Teca Restaurant. We enjoyed a terrific meal here. It is a pricey restaurant for sure, but it was our one "splurge" of the trip. Our waiter was very attentive, the food was fabulous and the ambience consisting of candlelight was lovely for a romantic dinner.

The Cons:
1) Weather. Obviously the resort isn't at fault for bad weather! However, it was obvious that there is not much to do here in the rain. After swimming and working out at the gym, we found that we ran out of things to do. Hubby wasn't interested in the spa thing. I can only read or watch TV for so long. I found myself wishing they had an indoor tennis or squash court. Unfortunately it rained off and on for our entire trip. We did try one of their hiking trails when it was just lightly misting outside, but got all muddy and wet so we regretted that decision! We also got a little lost which wasn't great when we were cold and wet. Serves us right for the bad decision!

2) Construction. I hadn't realized that so much of the hotel is still under construction. There's no real beach/lake front area to sit and relax right by the water just yet at the resort. We did find a little beach in front of the hotel, but the drilling was too loud to sit there and relax. There is a little dock by the activities building though. Also, there's no easy access to the beach area from the hotel since most of the unfinished portions of the hotel are closed off and you can't walk through it to get to the waterfront. For now, you have to walk the long way around on the road. It does appear that it will be quite lovely down by the water eventually however. I just wanted to warn people who are planning trips in the near future.

2) Convention. A large convention was taking place at the resort for our entire stay. My complaint isn't about the people themselves, as they seemed quite nice. We just found that as a result of the convention, many hotel ammenities were not available to us. At check-in, we were told that all the lakefront rooms had been given to the convention people. Next, we were unable to enjoy the lobby at night due to special parties for the convention people. We didn't try to go to the lounge on the second night, but we couldn't get close to the bar or find a free chair on the first night. We never were able to eat at the Cottages restaurant because it was constantly closed for the Convention people. We were able to order food from the Cottages menu one day for lunch however, but had to eat in the bar area. It was lovely (with great service as usual), but I regret not being able to actually eat in the restaurant itself. The restaurant employees were either setting up or cleaning up from convention events. Lastly, we were unable to rent a canoe on our last (and only possible) day because all the canoes were reserved for the convention people. It was the only day that the weather cooperated, so we were particularly disappointed over this fact.

Basically, we did have a lovely time. The beauty of the resort was not lost on us. We loved having a full kitchenette in our room so that we were able to make some of our meals there and save a little money. Internet access is not free in the rooms, but you can get free access in the business centre. In our experience, no hotel/resort is perfect, but we try to focus on the positives. Thankfully there are A LOT of positives at the Rosseau! Have a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelforfun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

You can feel the welcome as soon as you walk near the front door. plenty of friendly staff to greet and help you. Rooms comfortable and any need met ie set up of sofa bed at nite. Can't help but gravitate to the bar, such a warm welcoming staff best fruity drink ever, definately the nucleous of the building with nice seating, beautiful view. The bar staff get to know you and your needs, go if it is only for a coffee...They learnt all our names. Thank you Adam,Justin,David you are the best & Gary Guy and his card tricks , the rest of the team in the lobby bar true Marriott embassadors, bravo

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
21.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.5 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
24.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing