We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$207
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sherwood Inn(Port Carling)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere House Resort & Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
$186
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky Crest Golf Resort(Muskoka District)
$171
$120
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Tappattoo Resort(Parry Sound)(Great Value!)
$132
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Bracebridge)
$120
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellington Inn(Bracebridge)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bracebridge Inn(Bracebridge)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveler rating
640
352
168
70
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
352
168
70
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe indoor outdoor poolitalian restauranthot tubmarch breakpaignton housedog sleddingone bedroom suitethe cottagesjw marriott the rosseauseparate showerlobby barfull kitchenbeautiful propertysofa bedsteam roomgas fireplaceoff season
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had an awesome weekend get-away at the hotel with my family. The hotel has an inviting atmosphere with lots of comfortable cozy seating areas to hang out, large windows to enjoy the gorgeous nature view. The complementary hot apple cider is a nice treat after coming in from the cold. The hotel offers plenty of complementary outdoor activities like snowshoeing, which was our first time and had a blast walking on the frozen lake. They also have skating, with skates, hockey nets and sticks available and next to the ice rink, there is a cozy outdoor firepit to roast marshmallows or hotdogs or simply sit there to warm up. Their restaurants serve delicious food. The suites are modern, clean and bright, and have comfortable beds. Coming back to see what it is like in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Long story short: left 2 days early, non-refundable, disappointed, contacted, they confirmed the problems on-site, shrugged them off, "we hope you'll join us again".

See "The Ugly" below and decide for yourself if I'm being a whiner.

The good:
(1) it's a pretty setting
(2) clean rooms (see "The Ugly" re: facilities)
(3) very nice common areas
(4) pretty good food, albeit expensive
(5) rooms are well laid out

The Bad:
(1) service is bad, not awful. Think Comfort Inn, with a gentle drawl for snobbish effect
(2) lousy activities/equipment
(3) no towels in the changerooms at the pool
(4) about half of the lockers didn't work

I'm not a high-maintenance traveller: trust me on this. But if you're going to pretend you're five star, have some towels in the changerooms.

The Ugly:
(1) cigars and alcohol containers left by the hot tub for more than 12 hours. Come on: clean the hot tub after people party in it. Eww.
(2) solar blanket left on the outdoor swimming pool with no indication indoors. Not a fun surprise.
(3) 4' high Connect Four game in kids' area. Fun right? Until it breaks in half on top of your kid: they had held it together with putty and twist ties, literally. (Mariott responds: "it's designed to come apart easily...condition of the toys and activities can diminish quickly" -- I doubt the kids brought the putty and twist ties)
(4) switch on air hockey table came off in my hand. Hello bare wire.

I could go on to talk about what the activities were like, or the dismissive hand gesture we were given when we asked where to return our snowshoes ("over there in the bin").

But those were all minor things compared to the filthy hot tub and dangerous kids' room.

Would I be complaining like this if this place didn't bill itself a 5 Star Resort? Absolutely not. I have stayed in cardboard-walled hotels in Southeast Asia (not kidding) and loved my stay. I can handle roughing it, but that is not what I signed up for from Mariott Muskoka.

They did not live up to its promises, and for that they get a solid 2 out of 5 on TripAdvisor from me.

Couple that with nothing to do for miles, and in case you hadn't already guessed it, I don't recommend wasting your vacation time here. Click your browser's back button and go somewhere else. Deerhurst, while not as nice, is a much better pick than this place.

Room Tip: Best tip I can offer: don't go.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stromboli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your review of your experience during your stay at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka. Our whole focus is on providing guests with a truly exceptional experience, and from your comments, it is clear that we did not deliver the memorable experience we strive to provide all our guests. Please be assured that the Children’s area concerns have been addressed, and we will continue to monitor the space to ensure that all the toys are in safe working order. We apologise that the pool cover was not removed while you were using the indoor/outdoor pool. While the cover will be removed upon request, it is certainly our error that this was not communicated to you. Again, we value your comments, and please be assured that they are shared with our leadership team here at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just spent Friday and Saturday night at this Marriot with a group of friends. We spent our days snowmobiling, and our evenings at the resort. First impression, awesome! We were greeted by a wonderfully nice and helpful gentleman who stored our luggage until our rooms were ready. Luckily a room was ready super early, so we had a place to put on our snowmobile suits. The trails were awesome - groomed to perfection from Friday to Sunday. At the resort, the spa, hot tubs, indoor / outdoor pool, the games room (a must see if you take children, Wii, air hockey, ping pong tables, etc), the bar, the 'cottage' restaurant, the service, the library, the outdoor skating rink, all great. Our room was lovely, super clean, spacious bathroom, and the kitchenette was handy to help us get going in the morning - just bring your food and store in the fridge. You will have available, a toaster, 2 burners and kettle (the pan to fry your eggs, the spatula, and all the dishes you would need are there)! The stay was made even better by the 'wagjag' deal we used which included a $100.00 credit to use at the resort for anything but alcohol (spa treatments, restaurant meals, the gift shop). We will definately be back! Love the Marriot on Rosseau ♥♡♥♡

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We travelled with our adult children and grandchildren for a one night stay but would love to have spent longer. The whole establishment is outstanding and the decor fits the beautiful natural surroundings. The snow makes it all the more special with the ability to swim outside in water which was comfortably warm while surrounded by beautiful winter scenery. The whirlpool was a treat to enjoy at daybreak. The breakfast buffet was varied and delicious with fresh raspberries and blueberries to accompany hot waffles and maple sausage amongst many other delights! We enjoyed snowshoeing using top quality equipment provided by the resort. The guys enjoyed skating well into the evening. The children's play room is well equipped and was fun for my two little grandsons. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms clean and well equipped with everything we needed. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for the best of everything in pristine, natural surroundings. It is truly a place to get away from it all and enjoy the natural beauty of a Canadian winter.

Room Tip: A room looking over the lake would be beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and teenage daughters stayed at the JW Marriott Rouseau for 2 nights over a weekend in January. The Good: 1) Great views of the lake 2) Large, clean comfortable rooms 3) suites have full kitchen amenities so you can prepare meals 4) In door / out door pool, great for an evening swim under the stars 5) snowshoes and skates are included in the resort fees so no extra charge to rent. The Bad: 1) With little choice in terms of area restaurants we were stuck at the resort for meals (avg cost per meal ~ $120 for family of four) 2) Although the staff were helpful, the resort seemed to be short-staffed since we waited for everything (ie, check-in, bag check, restaurant, activities desk etc ...). Overall, our experience was positive and we would likely return as a family in the summer to enjoy the lake. Next time we would likely bring groceries and prepare breakfast and lunch in the suite.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhmTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews