We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simply Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during a visit to Canada. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was gorgeous. We did not have a lake view but this didn't detract from the room at all. The bedroom was spacious and had a massive kingsize bed. The kitchen had a full sized fridge, microwave, hob, dishes and lots of utensils. There is a dining table and we cooked in twice during our stay. The other nights we ate at Cottages. The service was friendly and our waitress was really helpful. The food took quite a long time to arrive and it was ok but nothing really special for the price you pay.
There is resort fee of $20 per room a day day plus taxes. This entitles you to use a range of facilities within the resort at no additional cost. These include bike hire, canoe, peddle boat and kayaks. There are also guided walks for adults only, family hikes, guided cycle and canoe rides. There is a giant inflatable trampoline and a massive slide in the water at the beach of the hotel, these too are covered under the resort fee. Great fun for all! The people who run the resort onsite activities could not be any more helpful. Dan and his crew work hard and are a credit to the hotel.
Parking at the hotel is easy, you drop bags off at reception them drive the two minutes to the massive onsite free car park, simple and easy.
The pool has a good gym and two large outdoor swimming pools and one indoor swimming pool. All very clean and never too busy, there were plenty of sunbeds at the pools.
There is a nice golf course next to the hotel, we didn't play but walked round a couple of the holes by the hotel, stunning scenery.
I would say that the atmosphere changed from peace and calm to being a bit roudy on Friday evening. We had people check into the room next to us and at 9pm they decided to have a major party in their room, one phone call to reception stopped this but there is a young party crowd that seem to come for the weekend and they are loud at the beach and in the hotel. Sunday evening all calm was restored.
This is a simply stunning resort that has excellent facilities and wonderful staff. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort and will hopefully be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    313
    148
    61
    63
See reviews for
438
439
12
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here on business for three days in late June and it was my second trip back (also stayed in August 2011). The property is not modern but is stunning with breathtaking views of the water as it is situated up on a hill. Rooms are modern, well appointed with all the comforts of home (fridge, kitchenette, living area, two TVs, wifi, balcony) and there is so much to do at this property. You can run, workout, swim (25m indoor/outdoor pool), golf, plenty of water sports plus a pool closer to the water. And in winter, the entire property (buildings) can be walked indoors due to connections. Food is amazing as is the service. The only caveat is that as JW Marriott, this is a premium property.

Room Tip: Book a one bedroom suite if you can afford it, ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

OK

What the hell is going on?

This used to be an outstanding place..... I have stayed at several JW marriot's....and stays at this location a few times....

I just finished 2 dinners at this hotel.... The first dinner I walked out 1/2 way through the meal (cottages) The second I almost puked....(teca)

No a/c in our room at 749.00 / night ..... Joke

If you want a decent meal and place to stay google taboo ..... Or go to Westin Blue mountain .... Or save your money....

Rooms and hallways look 20 yeas dated....

I live in Canada do not stay here !!!!! Trust me....

I am a five star hotel traveler.

Garbage.

BW

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garbagefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeveralManager, General Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you Brad for your comments. We are truly sorry that your experience at our resort was not exceptional, and that it did not reflect the service excellence that our team strives for. Following your dining experience, our Food and Beverage Operations Manager was made aware of your concerns, and contacted your room directly on Saturday morning. You were again provided his contact information, should you wish to reach out and discuss your concerns directly with him upon your check-out. As of yet, our management team has not heard from you. We will certainly be contacting you directly to ensure that your concerns are addressed, and that we take steps to address them immediately. Also, to your comment regarding a lack of air conditioning, we apologise for the discomfort that this may have caused you. The region that the resort is located was under a tornado watch, and the power to the hotel was being serviced by our generator. Which, as you can attest, for the most part all the lights were on and we were still able to service our guests, unlike other properties in the area, as well as local homes. I understand, as I write this, some local homes are only just starting get their power back. The entire team here is aware of the challenges that arose over the weekend. Your critique is important to the continued service excellence of our resort, and we thank you in advance for taking the time to speak with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Truly amazing and picturesque location only adds the charm to what the Rosseau team has to offer. Excellent and attentive staff, fantastic choice of activities and great Spacious and well appointed rooms. The only negatives come with the food. Restaurants are very few and offer rather fast food choice of delights, breakfast buffet is rather poor for price of over $30 per adult.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Michal:
Thank you for the positive comments and also for your constructive feedback. Our team will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience during your stay. A point of clarification for other readers: the breakfast buffet is $24.95 plus HST, and for those who prefer a lighter breakfast, an a la carte menu is offered. Country Market resort café has takeaway items including freshly-baked pastries and Illy coffee, cappuccino and espresso. Every guest room in the resort has a kitchenette, too. We are excited to be launching new menus at Cottages today; stay tuned on our Facebook page or Twitter for updates. We also post information on activities around the resort and Muskoka. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I have been going every year to celebrate our anniversary in the summer. The views from the hotel are absolutely stunning as are the rooms and the decor. However, as a couple we would like to dine in the evening without screaming kids surrounding us. Why doesn't the hotel encourage a "family dining time" for those with young children from 5 p.m. - 7 p.m. ? Perhaps offer special dinner rates during this time slot so the rest of us can enjoy our dining experience.
I also think there should be a separate pool for adults only for the same reason. This year I noticed a huge inflatable slide was placed in the prime beach area and I could not swim in the lake without fear of being hit by a boat, seadoo or some kid crashing into me from the slide. Why don't they place this monstrosity in the adjacent non-desirable beach where no-one swims? Don't adults count as valued patrons at this hotel? We sure do pay a hefty fee as guests! It would be a real shame if this hotel goes the Disney route to attract kids.

We would like to go again this year but we are totally turned off.

We may celebrate our anniversary elsewhere if this continues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for making JW Marriott The Rosseau part of your anniversary tradition, and thank you for your compliments about the view and the décor. It is truly a delicate balance, ensuring that guests of every age feel welcome and valued at the resort. Summertime is a very popular time for families and at this time of year we take particular care to provide a great experience for both adults and families with children. The adjacent separate beach you mention is specifically set aside as a "quiet area". Its location away from the docks, canoes and kayaks makes it ideal for guests who are looking for a peaceful beach environment. Spa Rosseau offers an adults-only outdoor pool and whirlpool, exclusively for spa guests in summer. Guests who are not having a treatment can purchase a day pass for $50. We encourage guests with children to dine early and many families choose earlier dining times simply because everyone is hungry after an active day in Muskoka. We also provide many activity options for families and adults alike, to help keep everyone well-entertained during their stay. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Quite a memorable stay in Muskoka. Nice value for money. The kitchenette is well equipped with pans and dishes.We could cook all meals. The kids play area is amazing for toddlers. We took the loon watch boat tour which was very nice. Suite rooms are fantastic.There were 4 adults and 1 toddler in our room
Pool is very nice as well. It is located on the famous lake Rousseau.This place is a must stay.I will return next summer.Wish they had provided free buffet breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel itself is on a beautiful property and it is a very well proportioned building. The room was clean and modern and the staff were friendly. There was a bit of a wait checking in and the staff seemed quite busy most of the time but they were all welcoming nonetheless. We used the pool and the hot tub and didn't feel crowded despite there being many people staying in the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location as it is a true getaway to experience the Muskokas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
21.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
314 reviews
20.2 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
23.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing