We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded room upon arrival.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upgraded room upon arrival.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Booked a room thru Priceline for a one night stay at the beginning of June 2013. Arrived at check-in around noon the day of arrival and desk upgraded our room without asking. Check in time took less than 2 minutes and we were off to our room. It was a king suite with a fireplace and balcony and a great view. The positives were a great room, warm pool, great property and friendly staff. The negatives were a long walk from where you park your car to get to your room, additional internet charge of $15,95 plus tax per night (we used the free internet in main lounge), additional $20 resort charge for ??? and expensive to eat on site. I would definitely stay here again in the warmer weather to enjoy all the ammenities. Would book thru priceline if possibile as $400 + a night is too much.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, away from the elevators and request a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurmich96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    315
    150
    63
    63
See reviews for
449
441
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

These people are terrorists in the restaurant area. Luck warm chicken and scalloped potatoes served one hour late after numerous complaints and requests for service. They brought us the wrong drinks also very late and after having to go to the manager. Dine here at your peril. Outside the restaurants and bars the hotel is beautiful and well run. Location is fantastic. Just do NOT eat here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding in August 2012, and this place is beautiful. The location couldn't be nicer, the staff is attentive, and the food is excellent. It's not an inexpensive holiday, so try and book a work event here so the company can pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I loved our Sun-Thu mid-week pre-season romantic celebration for our 30th anniversary at the end of May. This JW Muskoka resort is gorgeous with a warm luxury cottage feel. The JW staff were highly personable, eager to please, responsive to our special requests, and all seemed happy to have us visit. The special treats like our Platinum room upgrade and champagne & chocolate strawberries for our anniversary were all greatly appreciated. The room had all the extras you'd expect at a JW with a very comfy king bed, fireplace, very nice compact kitchenette, small living area, large spotless bathroom and balcony with Muskoka chairs and fabulous views of the lake, sunrise, moonrise and special fireworks display. Make sure you bring extra wine and light snacks for breakfast & breaks on your balcony. We also tried all the restaurants and bars, and loved Teca (Italian) and Lakes (casual) for great food, drinks and service. Try the local Muskoka draft beer - delicious ! And best of all for this family oriented resort, our Sun-Thu pre-season timing was wonderfully quiet and romantic, with only a few happy kids, and in many cases, we enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs to ourselves. And probably most surprising we did NOT find this resort or any of the onsite restaurants to be overly expensive. While my wife and I travel extensively throughout the year, we will definitely be going back to the JW Muskoka resort again and again and again.

Room Tip: Loved room 1447 - top floor king & fireplace with fabulous balcony & lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. I loved everything except the price. I went during 'off season' and was really surprised by how much they charged. The hotel was very nice, but I wouldnt have paid the price if it werent for the wedding I attended there.
The rooms are spacious with fireplaces in them. Ask to overlook the lake if possible. If they try to charge you a bunch extra for a lake view I would suggest not taking it as you likely wont spend much time in your room anyhow with all the activities, and beautiful common areas, bars and restaurants.

The drive from Toronto is far so be prepared and allow yourself extra time getting out of the city if during rush hour. These days the traffic is pretty busy until Barrie due to commuters.

Room Tip: Get a room viewing the lake if they dont charge you an arm and a leg for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been going every family day weekend for the past 5 years. We go with a group of about 40 people. Mixed group of young children, young adults, middle aged, and seniors. Everyone always has a blast. The food is lovely, and the spa service is phenomenal. Had a masssage with the male rmt and I felt relaxed for days! The hotel is setup with family friendly activities every visit.

The room is perfect. With a kitchenette we have the option to have meals in our rooms which is nice when you have young children like us.
The pool is nice as well. You can swim outside to enjoy the outdoor pool and hot tub or stay in the inside pool. They're connected and open year round.
My only critique is that the restaurant service is slow. We are used to waiting for our meals by now. But ideally this should not happen. Additionally, it would be nice to have a kids club for a couple of hours a day so that we are able to use the spa for longer periods and as a couple.

Room Tip: Request main building (not paighton house) or you will be walking a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My company had a booth at a trade show at The Rosseau and I was invited to work and stay the weekend at the beginning of September. I am certainly glad I accepted. We had a 2 bedroom room on the upper floor and it was a corner unit.. amazing! The washroom and kitchen are nicer than most luxury condos I have visited before. The indoor/outdoor pool is great, and the hot tubs even better. The grounds offer amazing views, and if you know someone with a boat definitely go for a ride around the lake and check out all the mansions. There is also a nice trail through the nature and tons of friendly deer around. The restaurant and bar staff were awesome, fantastic brunch and the cocktails were premium. Definitely recommend this place for impressing business clients but I can also see it offering a lot for a family or couple that wants a luxury experience in Muskoka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
21.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
318 reviews
4.5 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#22 of 55 in Muskoka District
251 reviews
20.2 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
230 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing