We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Going downhill...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at this property many times over the years since the Wyndham first opened it up almost 10 years ago but this was the first time we have stayed there since they Wyndham is no longer involved in its operation. Unfortunately, it shows.

While this is a place that I have always recommended to friends going to Tremblant, I would not do so any longer. Our unit was certainly showing signs of age (156-2). In the unit, some of the ballisters were loose on the staircase railing, a clear safety issue and we had two chairs that were actually broken when we arrived. Neither the BBQ or the fireplace were available for use and the kitchen was missing some basic supplies that made making dinner a challenge.

As mentioned, for the sake of your back, do not count on sleeping on the sofabeds if you are an adult. Our kids slept on one and they seem to be ok if you weigh less than 40lbs!

Although we won't return to this resort until we hear of some changes, it could still fill a niche for some people. The units are large and we did have a beautiful view from ours. There seem to be deals to be had for this property and the free shuttle to the hill works well, although it would certainly be nice if it was marked in some way that it was returning to the Cap Tremblant from the hill. Even a small sign on the door of the bus would suffice. The outdoor hot tub is also always appreciated in the winter, it certainly was popular when we were there - I would try and avoid it between 4:30 - 7 when everyone gets home from skiing and heads down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for this constructive review. Since your departure, the vast majority of condos has been refurbished. You can come back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    169
    62
    42
    31
See reviews for
160
138
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in February 2012. We got there to check in only to see a lineup of about 100 people… The “Lobby” area had no room to park and no room to stand. We waited about an hour to get to the check in desk and finally got our keys. (2 hours after the “Check-In” time). Several people had to keep going through the line over and over… No rooms were ready and they did nothing to prepare for the long weekend.

When we finally got to our room we were greeted with about 6 garbage bags on the porch… When we walked up the stairs there was a very large piece of broken glass that appeared to be from the top of a coffee table… It was pretty dangerous because I almost walked right into it. When we went to the kitchen the dishwasher was open and there was dish soap everywhere and water had leaked onto the floor. Tried calling front desk a few times and no answer, finally they sent someone to come and fix things… Took 2 hours for the staff to show up. On the same note, we had almost no towels since they used ours to wipe the water. When I called the next day (took about 5 times for them to answer) they said “we will be right there”…. They never showed up. Tried calling again, no one answered… So we washed the ones we had and re-used them. Also we were not allowed to use the fireplace which was a big negative. (They did tell us in advance, but it still would have been nice to use it)

Now for the positive, the view from our room was very nice and the room was very spacious. It had a very “cozy” feel to it. The shuttle was nice and depending when you took it you had enough room to sit comfortably. Our last night there we hit the hot tub because it had been closed the previous nights.. It was very nice but it was PACKED with people.

Overall the place was nice and well-kept but the service was awful. I will not go again.

Room Tip: Dont go during "Busy" times, they dont prepare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NothernOntario32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Sorry for this far from perfect stay. That day was the worst day we ever had in terms of turnaround. All 150 units were checked out in the morning and had to be ready for 4PM. Everyone did their best to get the units ready on time and we succeeded 90%. It also means we failed 10% and I would like to apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont Tremblant hotels

ottawa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We rented a one bedroom condo. Everything was first rate. Nothing was missing. The place was clean and spacious with a beautiful view of the mountains. The place was very quiet and the management had scattered the few renters throughout the property so that we really felt by ourselvers. A very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: The further in you are the quieter it will be. From blocks 300 up is far from the entrance and you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for this nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in chalet 240-unit 10. The room had 2 bedrooms that sleep 4 and one sofa bed for 2. The sofa bed was like something out of a movie. It had so many lumps and kinks in it that we took the mattress off and laid it across the floor, which was much more comfortable! Do not count on the sofa bed for any kind of sleep. It was a disaster. Everything else was good. The unit was nice, clean, and comfortable. It was a bit noisy at night, we were woken up saturday night because of the noise the unit above us was making. It would have also been nice if each chalet had it's own hot tub, because you have to walk over to a shared one. The location of the chalets is great; 5 min from the mountain and 10 min from the downtown area where you can get alcohol and groceries. Overall, our experience was good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a unit that has an equal amount of beds to the number of people you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for this review. Effectively a sofa bed does not compare with a bed. It is usually suitable for young kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

my stay at cap tremblant was wonderful ,well equipped .comfortable beds.Very disappointed fireplace not working .I would of appreciated being warned in advance.But the company was great so we made the best of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for the review. All fireplaces are in working order for the 2014 Winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and I went found a deal on Deal Find for 299$ for three nights so we were quite happy with it. When we booked the receptionist informed us that there was a 50$ charge for that period of the year which we understood and accepted. We got there and the lady at reception charged us 94.80$ for charges and the difference. However, when we finally arrived at our room we were quite shocked. The hotel boasted a four star rating but what we found was not up to the four star standard whatsoever. First off, our room smelled like smoke; we could tell that the previews tenants had smoked indoors. Second off, someone peed on our balcony and it had been missed by the cleaning crew. Third off, the bed and pillows were so hard that we opted to sleep on the pull-out couch to avoid being sore for our days of skiing. Finally, although the website said the hotel would be equipped with a kitchen, it forgot to mention that you should still bring all the cooking utilities such as thongs, flippers etc. Other than pots and pans we didn't have much. There were also holes, dents and such on the walls and our dish washer was literally hot glued together. We are in our 20's so we didn't really care about this since we had gotten a deal but then when checkout time came around- the reception wanted to charge another 149.89$. I was confused as to why I had had to pay a charge of 94$ on arrival PLUS this charge and the lady named Violette could not explain. I requested to see a supervisor but since he was not in she said she would hold the payment and he would call me by the Thursday which he never did. So the next week I checked my credit card statement and the 149.89$ charge was actually charged two days after we checked out. So instead of the supervisor calling me back and explaining why I had been charged twice, they simply charged my card without my knowledge.

Safe to say, we will not be going back to this hotel. Good thing there are many more 'four star' hotels to try in Mont Tremblant.

Room Tip: Definitely don't get room 195-7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. The extra charge to be paid was 50$ per night plus taxes and resort fee on the full amount of the stay. At check-in, the Agent only took a partial payment. At check-out, another Agent told this guest that there was a balance on the account but she said that everything had already been paid. The agent tried to explain the situation but she did not want to get the explanation only to repeat that she owed nothing. The Agent was unable to proceed with the chek-out properly without taking the full payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We rented unit 270-5 a 3 bedroom unit. Spacious enough to sleep 8 with the pullout- but that is all I will say for the place. The kitchen was stocked with pots/pans that I think the Salvation army would reject. Not many other supplies, so bring your own stuff if you plan on cooking. The beds are a whole other matter. I think a hammock would have been better. I tried to fix the frame for the people. All the wheels were bent under, plus no mattress pad on the beds, linens were poor. Now I know the owners of the condos dont clean them- the staff does. We found, a ladies used razor in the tub/shower, a Oxycontin lying by the baseboard, beer caps, cereal ground into the carpet, dust...OMG. The carpets are fraying, the fingerprints and damage on the walls. Also when we got there we were greeted with the previous renters garbage and dirty linens. Not removed until I called the front desk. Cable didnt work, no fireplaces. They best clean up there act or people will start going elsewhere. But I will say this- it is cheap so it is what you get. A lot of teens- the hot tub in crowded on the weekends. We found a number of small homes for the same price we think we will rent next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
I would like to apologize for the bad state and cleaning of this unit. This is not representative of all other units. Since your departure, our Housekeeping Manager made sure that this unit was put back in good condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Sommet des Neiges
Le Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#3 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
#4 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort

Property: Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort
Address: 400, rue du Mont Plaisant, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Tremblant Mountain Hotel Mont Tremblant
Wyndham Hotel Mont Tremblant
Wyndham Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Wyndham
Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing