We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great christmas holiday”
Review of Ermitage du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ermitage du Lac
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a laid back place with high standards of presentation and customer service. We stayed for a week over Christmas and enjoyed the atmosphere of quiet efficiency. Room was a good size and well appointed. It was cleaned every day with a copious supply of fresh towels each time. It was warm, almost too warm, and all furnsihings were in good repair.
Breakfasts set us up for the day's sking. Help yourself style with penty of choice including two types of porridge, waffles, a huge selection of breads, fresh fruit and yoghurts. All presented in the relaxed atmosphere of the lounge area.
Other plusses included the hot tub. The place is close to the pedestrian village and ice skating area. I'd be happy to recommend this place and would not object to a return visit.

Room Tip: Our room (120) was very quiet with a good view out across the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 419 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

Excellent service from staff who all seemed naturally relaxed and happy. The hotel is in a very nice location at the Tremblant Village, and within 2 minutes of walking distance from the ski lifts, restaurants and shops. The rooms come with gas fireplaces and good views. Ours had an excellent kitchen too.

Breakfast during season is a very stressful experience with 35 people all going for the one toaster, and we recommend going down at 7am to get somewhere to sit. For this reason we do not recommended the hotel for mature guests during ski season, but as a good place for younger guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lars_nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Only stayed for one night after two week four city tour in Canada.
Hotel was perfect as a refuge to catch our breath. Location perfect within walking distance of the village.
Room spacious. Hotel was quiet given a room with two balconies and huge living area
Plenty of restaurants close by went to Coco Pazzo which was excellent.
Staff very helpful.
A lovely hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear RayUnitedKingdom,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to see that you had a very relaxing stay at L’Ermitage Du Lac.

We will call our friends at Coco Pazzo to share your comment.

See you soon for another rejuvenating stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here the last week of August. The hotel is wonderful, the decor pleasant, and the staff was wonderful as well - a real boutique hotel. The room was very clean, airy and pleasant. The staff was very accomidating to all of our needs. The hotel offers a free breakfast, which was very good. We sat out in the garden to eat, which added a very pleasant atmosphere. Coffee and tea are available the whole day.

The pool is small (not a lap pool), but none of the hotel pools in Tremblant seemed large. It's more for a dip rather than a swim. The hot tub was large and very comfortable.

We found the standard room a bit small for our needs, so we changed to a deluxe room which was a bit larger. The hotel is not in the center of the town action, but it is only a one minute walk from it, so unless you must be in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the resort it should not be a problem. It's location, however, also makes it one of the closest hotels to the free parking area (one minute walk, no hill to climb), so that is an advantage.

Mont Tremblant is a very kid-freindly resort. There is bungy jumping, wall climbing and a kid luge ride. The shops are pleasant, and the night entertainment is very nice. The architecture of the resort is French (Swiss?) Alps, and that makes it very interesting.

One thing about Mont Tremblant - you are at the mercy of the weather. It being fairly north, it is chilly at night, and you can expect rain and cool days even in the summer, just like any other northern place, so be sure to take a warm jacket/sweater and rain gear.

Another thing - unless you are an active family, Tremblant is only a 2 day stay. After 2 days there isn't much to do in the resort town. However, there are many other things to do in the parks around - kayaking, rafting, hiking. So for a resting vacation you will become bored in Tremblant after a while.

But all in all. Mont Tremblant is a very nice vacation spot. And the Ermitage is a wonderful place to stay. First class.

Room Tip: We found the standard room a bit small. The deluxe room was fine. Try to get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoomie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear Shoomie36,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are delighted to see that you had such a good time at l’Ermitage Du Lac and we hope to welcome you back in the near future, Maybe during what we like to call ‘’winter wonderland’’

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this resort. We've been to Tremblant many times and have stayed at most of the hotels in the Pedestrian village. This is one of the nicer hotels. Smaller than many and just at the edge of the village so a bit quieter. Rooms are large and have a kitchen but in our room this was quite small. Had everything you needed but you couldn't be two people there at once and had to take things out of the fridge one at a time as you needed them! This was fine for us.
Breakfast is included and is nice. It's continental but has lots of choice including large selection of breads, cereals, waffles and a nice selection of fruits. Nice touch is that a tray is built into your coffee table so you can use this to bring the breakfast back to your room. There are tables outside. Very nice to eat out there on a warm morning.
The pool is small but nice. THere are only about 6 long chairs so not always easy to get a spot. Many people just drop in for a swim and then head out so chairs do become available. We would pack a lunch into our cooler and eat by the pool.
We were there over the Canada Day weekend and the atmosphere in the village was fun. THere were several concerts and fire works the night of July 1st - we were lucky to be able to see these from our room...great view!
Not all rooms have a balcony, we didn't have one, a bit disappointing but in the end not an issue.
The service was quite good and all staff are helpful and friendly. We called ahead to say we would be arriving early and our room was ready when we got there. Overall, we enjoyed this hotel and would go back. It provides a good balance between price and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orange-hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Orange-Hats,

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We are delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay at Ermitage du Lac. We are proud to serve one of the best complimentary continental breakfast that Mont-Tremblant has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were looking to do some walking at the end of a multi-site visit to Ontario and Quebec, where we had mainly been in the cities. We wanted a small hotel in the Mont Tremblant park, with easy access to good walking country. Unfortunately the market is dominated by the fake resort village set up at Mont Tremblant, but as the resort had the advantage of a lift system into the mountains, so decided to choose a hotel there despite our misgivings about being in that kind of environment.

We chose this particular hotel as it was described as 'boutique' and it seemed to be on the edge of the resort towards the lake. It did not really meet our expectations of 'boutique' as the hotel was quite large and standardised, but despite this, it was a pleasant place to stay. We had a large suite with a living room / kitchenette, bedroom, bathroom and balcony. Equipment levels were good throughout, with a very comfortable bed, a decent shower, and pleasant views. Breakfast was a reasonable continental buffet, which you could also take back to your room.

We used the free pass the hotel provided to gain access to the resort's lift system to get us into the mountains for walking (the purpose of our stay), and also visited the tennis and beach club for which we were also given a free pass. This had a beach area with (at extra charge) Hobie Catamarans, surf boards and other boating options, and was a pleasant place to relax after walking. There was also a small pool onsite at the hotel but it closed at 6pm each day. The resort was hosting an extreme kayaking / running / cycling event during our stay, which added some additional interest to our stay. Parking was a short walk away at the base of the resort.

The resort itself was as fake as expected, with the usual types of restaurants and shops for these places. For fellow UK travellers, think CenterParcs and you won't be far wrong - with added gondola lifts. Bear in mind we visited in the summer. I cannot imagine what this resort must be like in winter as a ski resort - the scale of system is so much less than anything you would find in a traditional Alpine resort, yet the number of hotel rooms in the resort is huge. Perhaps OK for a weekend, but really not many runs, no real length to the runs, and there must be significant overcrowding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Coddfish,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are truly sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations during your stay in our hotel.

I want to assure you that we meet every criteria needed to be a boutique hotel.
Perhaps on your next stay, you can visit the Mont-Tremblant national park that would most likely suit your needs in terms of walking country.

We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 days at this hotel and we were very pleased; the room was very clean and the service was excellent. After this visit we decided that this is the hotel that we would love to go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Mariana_md

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to see that you decided that L’ Ermitage du Lac would be your home away from home.

We Can’t wait welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
0.2 mi away
Sommet des Neiges
Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#3 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Place St-Bernard
Place St-Bernard
#18 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mont-Tremblant
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
#5 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage du Lac

Address: 150 Chemin du Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#9 Family Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range: $130 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ermitage du Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Tremblant between two lakes and surrounded by lush scenery, Ermitage du Lac is an idyllic spot for a couple retreat. Get closer in the upscale atmosphere of chic, contemporary urban design, with lots of room to stretch out and relax. Enjoy your romantic getaway in this clean, serene boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ermitage du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Du Lac Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Ermitage Du Lac Tremblant Mont
Ermitage Du Lac Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing