We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot and gracious host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge du Coq de Montagne
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and gracious host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just recently returned from a visit to Tremblant. The hotel was recommended by a family member and it was exactly what we had expected. The accommodation is basic and clean. There is no hairdryer, complimentary shampoo etc., but there is a comfortable bed, clean sheets and bathroom. The hosts have a warm and inviting sitting area and a very pleasant deck to eat out on. The hotel overlooks a small lake. There is a little beach for swimming and guests have access to canoes. The hosts were gracious and helpful people who made us feel very much at home

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebud32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at this auberge right after Christmas 2011. It's a little gem nested by the lake.
Italian/Quebecois family owns this place and they will look after you every single minute of your stay. Good breakfast, awsome view, quite, excellent bar. Just minutes from the village.
I will definitely come back on summer time.

Room Tip: I loved the top floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotels_and_flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The owners of this Auberge are also the people who will take care of you, and they do a great job. The rooms are small and simple, yet clean and efficient. Some people seem to expect a 5 star luxury hotel when they visit Tremblant, this is not one of those! The hospitality is excellent, and the breakfast is great. You can;t beat the price either. If you are someone who thumbs their nose at warm, cozy and comfortable... look elsewhere.
The small, sandy beach and lake are great for a relaxing swim too.
I came in to attend the race driving school at the nearby race track, and could not have asked for a more convenient and friendly place. I highly recommend it to all racers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cchs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

This was my third year at the Auberge du Coq de Montagne and I feel Tripadvisor Forum members should know about this gem. I had no idea what to expect the first time I stayed there. It’s in the old village and isn’t a run of the mill chain hotel like you get at the mountain base. From Montreal an hour and a half drive and you’re amidst the mountains and the most wonderful scenery.

I can’t praise Auberge du Coq highly enough. The owners, Kay and Nino, look after every wish their guests express. That’s why once you’ve stayed there, it’s like going back to personal friends. Guests return year after year – some for over 20 years. That alone tells one how good it is. Couples, families, teams, everyone.

And what can one say about the food? Gourmet is the only word that springs to mind. If you really love your food and a wide choice for every course, this is where you have to be. The whole dining experience is fabulous and at such inexpensive prices. Dining is open to everyone, hotel guests and others. In summer there is dining on a terrace which sits right over the lake and their service is superb. There's also a large bar area with everything you could want - all types of drinks, atmosphere and exceptional service.

Bedrooms are large, well lit and well-appointed - with coffee makers, fridges & micros. There are great views and there is nothing you need that Kay and Nino won’t provide if you ask. All bedrooms are en suite and there is secure parking for 15-20 cars in the hotel as it has its own long driveway off the road. But if you don’t have your own transport, that’s easy too. The shuttle bus stop is less than 2 minute’s walk from the Auberge. It goes to the mountain in 7 minutes and into the nearest small town of St Jovite in under 15.

Auberge du Coq is situated right beside/on top of Lake Moore so in summer it’s just steps to swimming, boating & all water activities. Guests also have use of a free sauna in the hotel. There are great walks and cycle trails. In winter there’s a skating rink on your doorstep and skiing minutes away.

Kay and Nino Faragalli never advertise so I felt that I absolutely had to let Tripadvisor members know about this gem. I always check Tripadvisor forums before going anywhere and I know there are thousands of you out there who do the same. So if you’re going for 2 weeks, 1 week or just a short trip, you’ll be made so very welcome for a really reasonable price. Go for it. Email: aubergeducoq@cil.qc.ca.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zigzag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed here in Feb 2011, visiting my son who was in Canada for 3 months. the location is perfect for Mont Tremblanc, just a 10 min bus ride, you are situated on a private lake with ice skating available. Nino and Kay are the friendliest pepole you could ever wish to stay with, they make a point of introducing you to other guests most of whom return on a regular basis. The rooms do not have all the mod cons but they are more than adaquate for a basic room, the communal areas are homely, having stayed here i wouldn't stay anywhere else if visiting Canada again. You must try the evening meals, even the locals come to eat here!

If you are looking for a stylish, luxury room with a formal environment (or a suite for your honeymoon) where you are treated as an unknown guest, this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were looking for economical overnight accommodations for exploring the usually-pricy Mont Tremblant area, and to bike at least part of the near-by Le P'tit Train du Nord. The on-line reviews for Auberge du Coq de Montagne left me unsure of what to expect, but what the heck, we took the chance.

Well, this place ought to be booked solid, and crawling with bikers all summer long. No, it is not fancy, or especially modern or conventionally commercial. If you need those things, look elsewhere. Instead we found serviceable (if basic) older rooms. For a steal of a price. The property may be showing some signs of age, but everything was scrupulously clean, comfortable and well-appointed.

The owners, Nino and Kay were delightful, as was their very fine cooking. Our host's conversational style had all the guests that weekend feeling like new friends having a vacation together.

I can't say enough about the setting, right on pristine Moore Lake - very beautiful with sublime swimming (or canoeing, if you prefer). No motor craft to threaten your safety. Bliss.

The nearly-adjacent 200 km bicycle path (called Le P'tit Train du Nord) is a treat for bikers of any stripe: serious spandex types, bike-campers or families with kids. The famed Mont Tremblant resort area is minutes away by car, so you could have both worlds if you wanted. We had more fun just noodling around the old village, the bike trail, and swimming in lake Moore.

It's rare to find real people who take this much pride in being hospitable – without contributing to the despoilment of a beautiful natural area. If those qualities appeal to you, bring your business here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islander003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

My partner and I were going to have a nice week-end in Mt-Tremblant for Valentine's day. We're not picky people and this little place seem it would be just fine.

Upon arrival we received our keys and once we entered our room (basically the room was a bed with little room to walk around) we thought it was a misunderstanding. When we went downstairs to investigate the owner started telling us we were liars, was VERY rude with us. We decided to talk to the lady with whom we spoke over the phone. She was quite nice and apologetic of her husbads BAD behavior. Her husband kept pointing his finger in our face and poking our chest with it. He might have been drunk for all I know, but in all my travels i have NEVER seen such bad hospitality. We decided to leave the place right away as he was so rude and borderline threatning.

NOT RECOMMANDING this place! Even if the lady was a sweetheart....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globetrotter2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
Hotel Mont-Tremblant
#21 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Sauvignon
Auberge Sauvignon
#23 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel-Motel Le Boise Du Lac
Hotel-Motel Le Boise Du Lac
#9 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Auberge Mountain View Inn
Auberge Mountain View Inn
#20 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Vacances Tremblant
Hotel Vacances Tremblant
#15 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Coq de Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Coq de Montagne

Property: Auberge du Coq de Montagne
Address: 2151 Chemin du Village, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge du Coq de Montagne 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Coq de Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Coq De Montagne Hotel Mont Tremblant
Auberge Du Coq De Montagne Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing