We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of C'est la Vie

C'est la Vie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In an ancestral, serene and warm frame, we propose you the GRILL-STONE. This concept, unique in the region, consists of a VOLCANIC STONE warmed at high temperature offering an ideal natural surface for a cooking without added fat. The menu proposes a wide choice of meats and fishes such as filet mignon, ostrich, tuna, bison, seafoods, kangaroo, deer, wapiti, camel etc. We shall welcome you and shall assure an attentive and personalized service. The Chef owner also proposes you some specialities. The cellar presents a wide selection of wines, private imports as well as a good choice of wine by the glass. So, a selection of dish to take out is offered to you. A private room is also available according to certain conditions
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst service ever but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Waited over 1 hour just to get a salad but the food was good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZedsdeadToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    48
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“would go back in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We went to C'est La Vie for fondue and were not disappointed. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, the service was excellent. The meal was delicious, as was the wine. We'll be returning.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineROttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not worth a special trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We went here based on TA reviews and found it disappointing. The service and atmosphere were nice, but we found the food just average, especially compared to Le Grill St George. We had a classic a vegetable soup, cheese fondue, pasta with sauteed vegetables, and son had a steak. The fondue was not as good as what I make myself at home and served with mediocre bread. The pasta wasn't bad, but rather bland. The steak was fine (but my son will eat anything that's grilled.) Given the cost/value of the meal, I don't really understand the rave reviews.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CTTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Visited this restaurant recently at the recommendation of a friend. Very glad we did. In the nearby St-Jovite sector, in a lovely century home, the atmosphere is warm and rustic. Varied menu with something for all. Wondrous sauces, each one different and flavourful (ginger/soya sauce on duck, a mouth-watering peppercorn for the filet mignon, a creamy decadent blue cheese for the giant shrimp). And the steak tartare is one of the best I've ever had -- it's Belgian-style, ground a little finer than usual, and it is delicious. Attention to detail in the vegetables and potatoes (scalloped, this time) - from bacon wrapped green beans to pureed broccoli - a lot of thought goes into every element. In addition to a complete menu of duck, lamb, fish, filet, they also have a full raclette (vegetarian or meat), pierrade (cooking on stone) and fondue (broth, oil or cheese) menu, which we have yet to try, but, judging from the happy faces around us seemed very good. The owners take great pride in their food - the chef happily came out and shook hands with customers and remembers names. On the whole, an excellent addition to the restaurant scene; we will return & send friends.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“One of the better establishments in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Our first night's dinner recommendations from the owners of our "gite" in Tremblant was this quaint restaurant on the main drag in the St. Jovite sector of Mont Tremblant. And a good choice it was!!! Service, ambience, food, wine list, all met or exceeded our expectations of resort fare. Great attentive service from the wait staff and the restaurant owner, who served our mains. Menu selection was quite varied, with fondues and "pierrades" (hot stone grilling at your table) seeming to be the specialities of the house. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our dinner on the outdoor terrace and thanked our hosts for the recommendations.

Well-worth a return visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnGMontreal_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'est la Vie also viewed

 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to C'est la Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing