We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of renovation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We are currently staying in Le Grand Lodge. We booked for 2 nights only (out of the 7 nights total we plan to spend in Mont Tremblant) because we saw some reviews on Tripadvisor that described the beds as uncomfortable and the rooms in need of renovation.

We are happy we only booked for 2 nights and will leave to another hotel for the rest of our stay, because the hotel is overdue for a renovation.

The things that are nice here:
- quiet and good location
- nice (small) private beach
- large indoor pool
- friendly staff
- plenty of kayaks, peddle boats and other fun stuff available at the beach

Our reasons to leave:
- small rooms (compared to other suite hotels, especially the bedroom is small)
- stained/dirty carpets (our 2,5 year old plays on the floor and it just looks dirty, old and disgusting...)
- tired looking furniture: completely worn out sofa (you can see through the threading), chair with cigarette burns --> just old
- shower is moldy and dirty looking (bathroom is alright, just the actual shower)
- bed is very uncomfortable; the matrass is sagging and has a huge dip in it which makes you roll to the middle
- no AC in the bedroom and despite of the fan the bedroom is hot and we haven't been able to cool it down
- pillows are all extremely lumpy --> we decided to sleep without pillows
- not very clean since my husband is having problems with his allergies (which he hasn't had in any of the previous hotels we stayed in this trip)

Overall: this hotel is in need of a renovation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DafnaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hotel "accepts" dogs and takes your $25 fee per night, buts treats you like a second class citizen. You can't walk your dog through the hallway and lobby to go in or out your room,. You must go out the back door and walk way around the hotel to get in or out. The facilities are very large, so it's a long walk. Nice staff, but won't go back. It's too stressful to have a dog there with all the ridiculous rules.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Gracie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

4th time in a row staying here and will keep going back every summer.
The beach is sandy..Kayaks and Canoes are always available.
Drinks are a little pricey but Yves makes the best Bloody Ceasers!!!! and Shirley Temples for the kids..
Great Buffet Breakfast...book in advance save 3 dollars per person.
Big Balconies ....furnishings a bit rustic..but it fits the setting with all the pine.
Indoor pool is nice..Jacuzzi could use a cleaning.
At the end of the day..Steam room and jump in to bed...very quite...but shuttles going all day to Village for some activities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I went with my wife and baby daughter for 3 days and really enjoyed my stay. We found it was a little out of our budget but it was well worth it. We took a one-bedroom lakefront suite and it was a small home away from home. The location of the lodge is actually quite convenient - halfway between the downtown area (St-Jovite) and the Tremblant pedestrian village - and the fact that it's right on a lake with a private beach is an amazing bonus. The huge pool and hot tub were fun and all the staff was very friendly. We were very happy we chose to stay at the Grand Lodge :)

Room Tip: Splurge to get a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvanRoadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband, daughter (9) and I spent the May long weekend at Le Grand Lodge. The Sunset suite had a very comfortable King size bed with a small ensuite that gave the grown ups privacy (and their own TV)! The Murphy bed was very comfortable and was a bit of a novelty for my daughter. The pool (indoor) is 20 metres and so is far superior to the average hotel pool.

We used the kitchenette a lot. Stock up on groceries in St. Jovite (about 10 minutes by car). The Metro grocery is excellent and has a nice selection of staples and treat foods. For Ontarians, it was nice to be able to get a decent bottle of wine at the grocery store. W

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at le Grand Lodge for a 3 night weekend, and I can't say I was impressed with it. The place needs a good renovation (at least the room we stayed in). Here's a list of things that we weren't pleased with:
-taps in the sink that would turn off on their own, almost immediately after turning them on (it's hard to wash your hands when you have to hold the taps open at the same time)
-dirty or moldy cracks between tiles of the bathtub/shower
-a finicky gas fireplace that seemed to turn on when it felt like it....and a thermostat cover that popped off and ended up behind the small fridge and microwave oven
-a television that is smaller than my computer monitor
-the bed sagged a little bit

In the rest of the hotel:
-the sauna had a smell to it...
-when booking, there was a space for requests or messages, and having booked well in advance, I thought our request of a room with a view of the lake would be granted, but no such luck. After inquiring about it, I was told that those were suites and were fully booked. Would have been nice to let me know when I made the request, we might have switched for a suite. Instead we found out when we got to our room.
-the hot tub could use a makeover too...it's old and looks a little dirty
-the furniture in the bar/lounge is very tired, but the big screen and a couple of flat screen tv's are good, as is the service there


I imagine the view must be nice if your room looks onto the lake.

it's nice to have the big pool, the steam room (although I almost got a heart attack every time the steam thingy would start up), and I'm sure it must be a nice spot in the summer when sitting by or swimming in the lake, but I wouldn't go back unless I knew it has been renovated.

The place does have good people working there, good service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfnhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We were visiting inbetween times of summer and winter for area. Room was spacious, bed fine, facilities good, had to walk up and down stairs from our room to pool. Big pool with hot tub and locker rooms. Lobby bar and lobby was nice with view of lake. Location is remote, but that is an attraction. Our room had a working fireplace. Some rooms have kitchens, but ours only had limited facilities, ie microwave, fridge. Would recommend if you have plans in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#3 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sommet des Neiges
Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
568 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Place St-Bernard
Place St-Bernard
#17 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant

Address: 2396 Labelle Street, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#5 Spa Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#11 Family Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range: $143 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star and four season resort and conference centre, Le Grand Lodge offers 112 fully equipped rooms and suites along with 14 meeting and banquet rooms. Nestled on 13.5 acres, this Scandinavian-style log hotel with its private beach on the shores of Lake Ouimet is surrounded by walking and cross-country trails, many golf courses and two ski hills. Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant offers the peace and quiet of nature, a majestic décor and a hip surrounding. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Le Grand Hotel Mont Tremblant
Le Grand Mont Tremblant
Le Grand Lodge Mont-Tremblant Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing