We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once again: Bravo”
Review of Le Cheval de Jade

Le Cheval de Jade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $72
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine French cuisine. Fresh regional produce. Gastronomic menu, table d'hote. Gluten free menu. Vegetarian dishes, bouillabaisse, fish, seafood, locally raised meat. The chef, Maitre Canardier, prepares Caneton a la Rouennaise upon reservation. Awarded a Four Diamond rating by the CAA/AAA.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“once again: Bravo”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

it was my 50th birthday, i decided to bring all my familly: sun daughter and parents. We use to go but for my parents. What a special moment we spent with all tha attentions, special requests...and the food!!!! cuisse de canard confit, magret, filet mignon, cerf, petoncles.....everything was wonderfull and the service as well......merci to all the team at the cheval!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPHmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    41
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Service - missed as top for food though.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Service of the ladies could not have been better. We did find better food for the price elsewhere, although this was very good. We couldn't find better service however.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlipperyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Five Star”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world and can honestly say the seven course dinner prepared for us this past New Year's eve was extraordinary. Some selection on a fixed menu for the evening but as we traded plates to try it all, we were constantly surprised and jealous for what we both ordered and did not. It was all simply wonderful. If you are in the Mont-Tremblant area and appreciate gourmet food, this place is a must. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Totally worth it”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

One if the few problems with restaurants rated as #1 in tripadvisor is that everybody wants to go there, including big groups and tourists from all around the world. Sometimes the place is just good enough to satisfy the hungry, easy to impress, dollar spending crowd or sometimes it's actually very good. Well, this restaurant is on the extremely good group. Despite two big tourist groups (6-8) people with children included, they were able to accommodate everybody and keep all happy. The setting is simple, still intimate. The owners are extremely helpful. The wife was very kind helping us select the wine and seem to know details of each one. We saw a couple having multicourSe dinner with wine pairing and seem good. The food was very good. No complains at all. Top notch, to the level of restaurants in NYC or Paris. Prices were reasonable. Of note, saw the chef doing the duckling thing twice. Not that many chefs know how to do that and for the price is totally worth it. So, get out of the mountain and come here, you won't regret it. Just one thing: be ready to try new stuff. No NY steak or pork chips here.

Helpful?
2 Thank JLadNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Intimate setting, great service, good food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a nice experience with our party of 8. While the menu was a bit limited, the dishes were elegant and flavorful. 2 people in our party had sea bass which seemed to be a bit undercooked, although this may have been more of a personal preference issue. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. Overall, a very nice evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval de Jade also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cheval de Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing