We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class food and service”
Review of Le Cheval de Jade

Le Cheval de Jade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $68
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine French cuisine. Fresh regional produce. Gastronomic menu, table d'hote. Gluten free menu. Vegetarian dishes, bouillabaisse, fish, seafood, locally raised meat. The chef, Maitre Canardier, prepares Caneton a la Rouennaise upon reservation. Awarded a Four Diamond rating by the CAA/AAA.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World Class food and service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

How to describe a meal that starts with a smile and an amuse bouche that was superb? What followed was one of the best meals I have ever had (best was in Tuscany). The highlight was the pressed duck, with numbered certificate a la La Tour d'Argent, of course. But the appetizer was not to be relegated. An amazingly fresh trout served uncooked, suggestive of sashimi, was sublime. The canard was prepared with flair with my wife and I participating in pressing the duck, good for entertaining the other diners. Dessert and aperitif, both excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    41
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
carignan,qc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have had the priviledge to eat in some of the best restaurants in Europe and North America. Belive it or not this little off the beaten path restaurant ranks amongst the top. Food is excellent service is frendly (not snob) and the chef/owner takes the trouble of visiting each table even when the restaurant is full

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great French experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful evening and food here while in Mont Tremblant. They all spoke English and made us feel very welcome, as we cannot speak French. The food was amazing and it truly was our best meal of our stay. It was as much the experience as was the food. It was pricey, but so is every restaurant in the area, so you might as well have fantastic food for your money. It was one of those restaurants that you say after your finished, I am so glad we came here. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delight”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

How do you describe a gastronomically delightful evening, excellent service, great ambiance and a very knowledgeable and friendly staff? It’s called Le Cheval de Jade and you’ll find it in the Village of Mt.Tremblant.
This highly rated and very popular restaurant requires reservations if you want to be guaranteed a table. We’ve been to Mt.Tremblant many times but have usually stayed up on the mountain enjoying ourselves, but this time we went into the Village for this little treat.
The restaurant is in an old house, easy to find, plenty of parking and it just gives off an aura of friendliness. As soon as you walk in a friendly person who takes care of everything, from taking your coat and hanging it up, showing you your table, explaining the menu, the specialties of the day and of the chef and whatever else you could imagine, greets you.
While looking through the menu we’re brought some bread and a small glass of mango salsa with shrimp with a whipped cream topping, it was delicious.
One ordered the Watercress soup which was served in a bowl shaped like an old bathtub and the other Snow crab and Matane shrimp cake on a bed of fennel, both were of course excellent. For the main course one had Mediterranean bouillabaisse, rouille, croûtons and grated cheese and the other Duck breast, ‘Aux Champs d’Élisé’ farm, foie gras and truffle sauce. The wine a glass of Grand Lartigue (red) that complimented the duck and a few glasses of Les Grezez (white) for the bouillabaisse. Both meals were superb.
Then we had dessert of course, one had a Crème brûlée while the other was Tanzania black chocolate and cardamom ganache, crunchy praline. If you’re a chocolate lover this is absolute heaven, all accompanied with coffees.
We thought we were finished until we were served a lychee tea in a pipette type glass, seated in a glass of ice, this was extremely refreshing but we also were served a small ball of white chocolate.
During the meal Frédérique not only recommended our wine but also served us, explained the meal and generally just made sure everything was just right. She did this during the evening with everyone.
This restaurant is just fantastic, the food probably the best we’ve had anywhere and the service excellent. We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food is excellent, the atmosphere relaxing and inviting, but perhaps the very best thing about this restaurant is that the staff really cares about food and the enjoyment of same by guests. We were told after our visit that our serving person was the chef's wife and co-owner of the restaurant. She was incredibly busy while we were there but gave us careful attention. Her wine recommendation was superb, and we requested information about it, then forgetfully left without it. She took the time to call our hotel and leave a message about the wine! Although we ordered a la carte, there are several prix fixe menus available for 2-6 people, and they all looked delectable. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank any0ne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval de Jade also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cheval de Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing