We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hovey Manor is the best”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2007

North Hatley has always been a gem - great piece of anglo-quebec.

Lake Massawippi which Hovey manor is on seems to wait for me every summer.

The hotel was brilliant - accomodation well done and absolutely fanstastic food and service.

would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Postindustrialnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
There are newer reviews for Manoir Hovey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2007

We loved the service, grounds, room with balcony and especially, the food! this was a terrific choice...

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank gnick186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Room # 5 is lovely - big balcony; old decor but lovely bed covers. The view is tremendous - lake and front garden.

The food and service were higest quality and we feel this rivals the best meals we have had anywhere in the world. The three course meal is beautiful - the chef obviously loves her/his work. The service throughout the stay from the bellboy Eric to the waiters and reception staff was professional, efficient and friendly.
Did we mention breakfast was also great!

If you have one or two nights and want a special trip we highly recommend this lovely Quebec Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GatronomicDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed one night at Manoir Hovey. We are used to travel in expensive resorts or hotels such as the Four Seasons. We took a luxury room which was well appointed with a balcony and very nice view of the lake; the bathroom was convenient, except for a poor shower that you would find in a cheap motel.

The dinner was ok, but not excellent. We took a half bottle of wine. The breakfast was made to order and was very good, but the expresso and the cappucino were not good.

The real surprise came when we got our bill that included a luxury room, two dinners and breakfasts and one half bottle of wine: $631 Canadian dollars including taxes for one night. We felt we had been had. This amount is ok, if it is Four Seasons quality, but, that was not the case.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Winelover37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

This Inn is a rare find. Have stayed there many times and always received excellent service. The dining room and less formal Tap Room both provide excellent fare. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We recently enjoyed our first a winter weekend there and found the Inn to be a cozy, romantic getaway. Not many places like this left in our fast paced world. Well worth a visit!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank Reid394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

My wife and spent the past weekend at Manoir Hovey. This was our second visit in the last 18 months; once again, we had a wonderful time. We stayed in a superior-class room with a wood-burning fireplace and single-person whirlpool bathtub. The room was beautifully decorated and was a lot more spacious than I expected.

As always, the meals were fabulous. I maintain that the dining experience at Manoir Hovey is one of the best in Eastern Canada.

I do have one gripe about our recent stay, which has led me to give Hovey a rating of only four, this time out. For some reason, there were a large number of houseflies in our room. I managed to kill three, but there always seem to be one flying about. The windows were closed, so I suspect they were coming down the chimney. I suppose that is the drawback of a wood-burning fireplace in one’s room. Nevertheless, I think this was an isolated incident.

If you enjoy fine cuisine in a casual and friendly atmosphere, and are looking for a romantic getaway, Hovey is definitely the place to go. My wife and I truly look forward to visiting Hovey again very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We recently stayed for 3 nights. The water supply for the town was tainted with blue algae, but the hotel had a water filtration/purification system that allowed us to take baths and showers. We were given bottled water in the room to drink and brush out teeth with.

The water problem did not allow us to take out a canoe as we had hoped to, but the hotel grounds and scenery were beautiful. The room was lovely and comfortable, with a great bathroom, fireplace, and amazing views.

The food was stunning. Someone mentioned small portions in prior reviews. We are not small people and we had more than enough to eat. My husband especially loved the cheese plates.

The staff was very friendly and accepting of English speakers.

We went to Spa Eastman a few miles away (can look up on internet) and had fantastic massages. We sat on chairs on the dock pictured in their ads and found it to be amazingly relaxing.

If your goal is to relax and enjoy great food in a gorgeous setting, you can't go wrong with Manoir Hovey!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank p169649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
249 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
481 reviews
10.4 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 16 in Sherbrooke
349 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range: $184 - $1,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing