We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting but read the fine print?”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at Hovey, The setting is indeed magical and we made good use of the amenities including kayaks and gorgeous outdoor pool. We had booked a night with dinner and breakfast included. The food was divine , as has been our experience at other Relais and Chateau properties, and the serving staff was very attentive. However be warned if you are travelling with young kids. We asked about our dinner options for our toddler (~2 yrs old) and we informed they could bring a dish of noodles, perfect, BUT failed to inform us that the plate of noodles with butter would cost $18 (of which my son ate about two bites) I was quite surprised given that the supplementary cost of the daily specials was mentioned, why not this somewhat hefty cost? We paid the bill but informed the front staff upon checkout who simply said they would mention it to the staff. We would absolutely not have bothered with the pasta if we had known so in this case I guess it is buyer beware. Unfortunate that such a simple thing marred an otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Splurge for the luxury rooms (27, 28) if you are travelling with a child, the extra space will make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 3fromYOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

The location, grounds, and amenities at Manoir Hovey make it an exceptional get-away. It's beautifully sited on the lake, and the gardens are simply magical. In the summer you can swim in the lake or in the heated pool, kayak to the village, do some paddle-boarding, or simply settle in with a book in one of Adirondack chairs in the garden or on the dock. The hotel was almost fully booked but never felt crowded. The staff was courteous and helpful, although we didn't sense the warmth that other reviewers describe. Breakfast was very good; we didn't dine at the inn. We each had an outstanding massage on site--one of the best I've had.

We chose a room with a "lake or forest view," and were disappointed to be shown to a room that looked out on a rock face 30 feet from one window and the bar and parking lot from another. The effect was claustrophobic; there was very little forest and, of course, no lake! Next time we'd know to converse with the staff when making the reservation. Other than the lack of view, the room was comfortable and well appointed. We appreciated the reading light next to the sofa!

We were surprised that wireless access was so unreliable. It was all but unusable in the room, and it was frustrating to have to leave the room every time we wanted to look up information about regional sights, performance times, etc. A hotel of this calibre should have this problem worked out.

In retrospect, we realized that the staff never really "oriented" us to the inn when we checked in. We had to discover the kayaks, etc., and we didn't realize there was a barbecue available to guests on the Friday night of our stay. (The web site had it scheduled on Saturday nights.) Of course it's not hard to find boats and paddles, and we could read the information binder in the room, but overall, we felt a little disconnected. Still, with knowledge in hand, we'd return!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahL28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

On setting, Manoir Hovey gets an A+ for its English garden overlooking a pristine lake. The chef who has been there 29 years has perfected his art. Unfortunately, we were seated near a family with a very unruly and noisy 6-year-old, who knew nothing of an inside voice and who fought with her siblings throughout the meal. The room was ok, though for the price we expected something more tastefully decorated; instead of shabby chic, it was frankly a little shabby. Toiletries were good quality but sparse. The real disappointment was the general unattractiveness of the common rooms. The main living room was filled with dusty old books, mismatched furniture that looked like it was out of a Salvation Army resale shop. The room was dusty throughout with fireplace kettles, etc. that seem like they hadn't been cleaned since the original Colonial owners. All in all, we probably will not return. The place definitely has some things going for it, but more attention to detail should become routine and children should not be allowed to spoil the ambiance for other diners.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lakeside room; rooms in the back are faced with a rock wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynGNortheastUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our second stay here. As with the first, I had the overwhelming feeling that I had slipped into a lovely rural part of France which just happened to be located about a half hour from Vermont. The language and the customs are exactly what you would expect in a nice country hotel in the Loire.While the hotel was quite full on both of our visits, I was struck by the fact that it never seemed crowded. There was always plenty of space at the pool or down by the lake as well as numerous places in the shade to curl up with a book. Dinner here is very formal and can take 2 1/2 hours on a good night. The service is very correct but sometimes a little leisurely and people need to adjust their expectations accordingly. This is not a dining experience that will be enjoyed by the inpatient or many young children.

Room Tip: You will hate yourself if you don't get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YankeeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

North Hatley in the Eastern Township of Quebec is very picturesque and this hotel is situated on a lake with a beautiful garden and has wonderful views. The food served here is outstanding both at breakfast and dinner. The expense is worth it as the foie gras, duck, cheeses and desserts reflect originality in presentation and style.
One word of warning. Parking is tricky so let the valet do it. The hotel has a narrow lane that is one way and backing up to leave the reception area takes skill. Also make sure you ask for a room with a view or you may get one at the back with no view at all!

Room Tip: Make sure you overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed two nights in July during a bicycle tour. We were floored when we arrived! Beautiful gardens and jaw-dropping views of the lake and mountains. Great decor. Friendly, professional staff. Sumptuous rooms and well appointed baths. We swam across the lake, kayaked, relaxed in the gardens amidst the flowers and comfy chairs, enjoyed coffee in the shade on the veranda, sat on our private deck, and loved every moment of our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. First floor has walk out access to the gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We needed a few days away of pampering so managed to book three nights at Manoir Hovey in the Eastern Townships at the last moment. We had two nights in the Oriole Suite and another night in the Montcalm Suite. We had a pool to ourselves (Heron & Oriole share) and a hot tub was on our balcony. The Montcalm was close to the tennis court. I have to tell you, every single morsel of food from breakfast to dinner was outstanding! The grounds are beautiful and the Manor is full of history. We kayaked into North Hatley enjoying a waterfront view of some pretty impressive summer homes, played a bit of tennis and enjoyed a good massage. Not speaking French was not a problem as all staff are totally bilingual. We have decided to make this our summer retreat from our own summer retreat in Ontario!

Room Tip: There are out buildings, some with more privacy than others. Not 100% sure if the rooms in the mano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Norinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
267 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
10.4 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 16 in Sherbrooke
356 reviews
3.2 mi away
Manoir Le Tricorne
Manoir Le Tricorne
#4 of 12 in North Hatley
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.p. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range: $181 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing