We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Manoir Hovey is the most beautifull property in a small town of North Hatley. The service was impeccable , the room was awsome, the people who worked there was smiling all the times.
Most of all the meals was delicious and memorable. We went there to spend Christmas Eve and Christmas day with my father who is 82 years old and this will be very memorable for me with my father and I chose the best hotel to be memorable. He really liked it.
It will be definitely a must to go again and this time it will be in the summer.
Thank you to all the people who worked there they certainly do a good job.

Room Tip: If anyone wants to go there there is rooms with a big balcony and you could see the lake, could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    139
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
132
774
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just came back from an amazing stay at MH and would definitely recommend it to anyone. The manor and the rooms are all beautifully decorated, everything was clean and the attention to detail was impeccable. The service was spot-on. The meals were creative, delicious and very memorable. There were a wide range of activities available to keep us entertained. One of the best things is that they didn't try to 'nickel and dime' us at all... when they say something is included, it's included....and many things are. Overall a fantastic stay, would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious country getaway, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'superior' room, you can ask to have both a fireplace AND a double-whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Manoir Hovey will remind travellers of the great lake-side hotels in Switzerland. The buildings, and rooms may look a bit worn, but the service, attention to detail, and excellent food make up for superficial faults.
The hotel is anchored by an elegant mansion with rooms extending from both sides. The gardens on the lake are typically French and beautifully maintained. The dining room is where the action is because the food is very good. It classical French cuisine adapted to local ingredients, and the combination is spectacular. Of special note are the scallops from New Brunswick and the foie gras from a local farm.
The hotel is somewhat isolated. There is a good golf course nearby, and a few villages worth visiting, but beyond that be prepared to race back to the hotel for your next meal! One thing worth visiting in the Benedictine abbey where the monks celebrate Mass a cappella.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Situated on the shores of Lake Massawippi, Manoir Hovey offers an extraordinary beautiful scenery in all seasons of the year. All sport facilities are offered in the surroundings. golf, ski, slay rides, cycling...
The service is outstanding without the formalities of other Relais & Chateaux.
The cuisine exquisite and has an extraordinary wine cellar with well chosen wines from all over the world.
The staff is extremely courteous and professional.
We have been on a number of occasions: during the Canadian Indian summer at the Fall,in the summer and in winter. At every season the scenery is beautiful and charming. A real pleasure and an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had our wedding at Manoir Hovey last weekend and it was perfect. We had booked the Heron Suite, which is apart from the main building. As soon as we entered, we were submerge by luxury and comfort. Our guest, who were staying in the main building also had really nice rooms.

The dinner was perfect as well, 5 star food and wonderful service.

The staff really makes this place special. Even though it's a really fancy place, every guest is treated with care and friendliness. They went beyond what we expected and we are really please with our overall experience.

Again, thank you to the Manoir Hovey team, great job!

Room Tip: Remember that the dinner and morning breakfast are included in the price of your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtlsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Manoir Hovey for 3 nights earlier this month and enjoyed our stay immensely. While November may not be the nicest time to visit we would definitley recommend a stay at the inn to others. The staff were most pleasant and very efficient making us feel welcome in every instance. Both the breakfasts and dinners were wonderful.............creative and varied menu options to please anyone. One couldn't help but be impressed with the coordination, teamwork and overall professionalism of the dining room staff, all the while remaining most personable. The positive friendly attitudes of the staff, combined with the excellent cuisine make this a place worth a 4+ hour drive. We will come again although will aim for a summertime visit when the outdoors gardens, lake and town may show better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Since 2005, we have spent Thanksgiving holiday on Lake Massawippi - 5 times at Hovey Manor and twice at Ripplecove Inn, which is owned by the same family. Comfort, service, cuisine - all excellent. We love the English hunting lodge atmosphere surrounded by lake and woods and will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#2 of 7 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Cachet B&B
Le Cachet B&B
#1 of 11 in North Hatley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Property: Manoir Hovey
Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing